We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
125
127
43
10
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
125
127
43
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flowerpot island glass bottom boat shared balcony close to downtown free coffee great place to stay good size within walking distance view of the water bring your own jacuzzi tub grocery store parking lot watch the sunset checking in shops and restaurants location is great
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 320 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2019

definitely a 2 star. best part was that the bed was fairly comfortable. badly broken mirror in the bathroom. Wine spilled down the front of the dresser and not cleaned up. needs new carpet. don't bother paying extra for the view. definitely not worth it. owner needs to spend some money to upgrade carpet and furniture. won't be staying here again. Not sure who wrote the other reviews cause it definitely is not worthy of a 4 star.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerfun0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

We booked the Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals for a day as we were driving from the east..

The weather was cold but sunny. We visited the Grotto and came to the motel around 4:30 pm. We had booked two bedroom suite as it had a kitchen. As the season was just starting were not sure about what will be available..The room was ready .. there was a flight of stairs inside the room that led to the office but were told they cannot open it from their end. Rooms were spacious and the beds were clean.. There was only one washroom for the two bedrooms. We did not know this while we booked the accommodation.

They had pots and pans in the room and the guests were expected to clean and put them back in place after use which is fair.. They also have a pavilion across the motel that can be used for lunch/dinner.. They have kept microwave so you can warm up the food and use the picnic tables

We settled down for the evening and the next morning discovered there is no hot water in the bathroom. We could not take shower and complained to the front desk.. They offered 25% discount for inconvenience.

There is no rest room at the check-in place. Please make a stop at visitor center if you need to use the restroom and then proceed to the motel for check-in.

Overall , the location is right at the harbour. place is clean and well ventilated.. Recommend the accomodation for one night stay

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ushacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruceanchor, Project Coordinator at Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Thank you for choosing Bruce Anchor Motel & Cottage Rentals! We value your business and appreciate the time you took to review our accommodations. It is with this feedback that we can continue to make enhancements, ensuring that all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Thank you for bringing to our attention that the hot water was not working. These things happen and we apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused during your stay.
From all of us here at Bruce Anchor Motel & Cottage Rentals, thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

We venture to Tobermory for Scuba Diving with our Adventure Sports Newmarket Dive club several times over every summer. We enjoy Bruce Anchor Motel for its cleanliness, convenience, and it is close to downtown Tobermory. They have a lovely covered patio in back with BBQ's, so we will traditionally serve a big meal to divers after a day of diving the beautiful wrecks in Fathom Five National Park. It is always a good time!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruceanchor, Project Coordinator at Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2019

This sounds like an awesome way to get together with friends and enjoy an exciting hobby! We are so proud that you can call Bruce Anchor Motel & Cottage Rentals your home away from home when visiting the area.
We take great pride in your comments regarding cleanliness and location - thank you!
It's awesome to hear that you are making great use of our outdoor cooking area - that's what it's there for!
Thank you for your loyalty to us. Please stop in and say hello when you are visiting this summer :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Staying here for just one night and it was really good. Nice and helpful staff, room was spacious and king size bed was perfect. Close to downtown, we had a nice walk, high temperature for mid-september, to dinner. Back at the motel we had a free coffee at the reception and at the next morning too, nice service.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ferkel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent R, Project Coordinator at Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

We love our coffee! Great to hear you enjoyed a cup or two with us.
Thank you for choosing Bruce Anchor Motel & Cottage Rentals! We hope you will join us again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

and no smoking or cooking in the rooms - sign here! Great location, close to the water, views of the lighthouse and walking distance to town but otherwise it's basic accommodation. We had problems with the bedside lamps - had to plug/unplug them on and off because the knob was missing (unit 24 management) otherwise unremarkable.
They do have coffee and tea available in the "lobby" which was a nice touch.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank FarFlungStarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent R, Project Coordinator at Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, at Bruce Anchor Motel & Cottage Rentals. We provide clean, comfortable, modern rooms conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Tobermory. We offer a pet free, smoke free accommodation to ensure that all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
We certainly appreciate your feedback and will check out those bedside lamps knobs. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews