We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Tobermory”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best in Tobermory”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Great location! Very helpful and friendly staff! Clean updated rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMMCslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    99
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
91
90
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have been coming to the Bruce Anchor for the last 5yrs. and look very forward to seeing the staff and the people who run the hotel. The rooms are nice size, everything clean and comfortable perfect spot for relaxing and sightseeing of the sunsets there are breathtaking. Can't say enough about the people who run this hotel they will make sure you have a enjoyable time spent at their hotel. Looking forward to seeing them again next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Having stayed in this motel many times over the years, I have to say that you will not be disappointed with the accommodations. The people who run this accommodation are very friendly and the view is great. Just follow Ontario Highway #6 north until you run out of road (literally) and enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Always try to get a room on the water side. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This family run establishment was a great place to stay. The motel bedroom was large and clean as was the bathroom. Excellently located for the ferry to Manitoulin Island as well as the shops, harbour, outdoor pursuit operators and places to eat/drink. Lovely staff too.

The only downside was the lack of coffee and tea making facilites in our room, but free hot drinks were available downstairs in the office.

Highly recommended!!!! Would most certainly stay there again if we visited Tobermory again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank figcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My family and I visited Tobermory during the last week in May. We stayed at the Bruce Anchor Motel in one of their water view rooms with two queen sized beds. This place was very modern and well maintained, the beds were comfortable, the electronics were new and the bathrooms were clean. This motel occupies and awesome location! Close enough to town to walk everywhere but not as busy as the area surrounding the harbour. They have a large backyard with a pavilion containing some cooking facilities, barbeques and picnic tables if you wish to cook or BBQ your own dinner. May is the slow season for Tobermory and the rates were very reasonable, also the Bruce Anchor owns a tour boat company to Flowerpot Island and as a guest you receive 50% off the price of a cruise around the marine park. I feel that the Bruce Anchor is offering very good value and will recommend it to anyone who is visiting the Tobermory area, I can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We just got back from Tobermory and stayed at the Bruce Anchor Motel. It was the perfect location! A 2 min walk to the Little Tub harbor area where all the shops/restaurants are. The rooms were great....clean, updated and a nice size! Great shared patio/balcony areas and a lot of them have water/sunset views. We had the patio all to ourselves as nobody was ever out there. They have free coffee in the lobby and the staff is really friendly and accommodating! I can't say enough great things. For sunset everyone gathers on the dock (2 min walk) on Big Tub harbor with their cocktails. The sunsets are truly amazing :)
I wasn't sure what to expect for a motel, but this was a really pleasant surprise and I would stay here again in a flash!

Room Tip: We had room 37, first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at a Bruce Anchor cottage for many years now. The new cottage is modern, with big windows, a nice kitchen, huge dining table that seats 10, and sleeping arrangements that are flexible. The master room has its own tv, and 2 piece bath.
The only things that were missed were a better equipped kitchen and only one shower/tub. Makes it challenging for a cottage that could potentially hold 10 people!

Would we go back? Absolutely!! The owners and staff are eager to please and we love being in Tobermory!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.4 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals

Property: Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
Address: 7468 Hwy #6 | PO Box 160, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Bruce Anchor Motel And Cottage Rentals Hotel Tobermory
Bruce Anchor Motel And Cottage Rentals Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing