We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for quality of room!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coach House Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coach House Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Too expensive for quality of room!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Coach House Inn is located on the main highway going into Tobermory. Because many of the businesses close down after October in this town, and it is a destination for short term divers and people who are staying one night on their way to Manitoulin Island, the big chain hotels have not located here.
There are slim pickings in this area and the costs are high, considering the quality of the accommodations. We stayed here with another couple so I will comment on both rooms. We booked the less expensive, (and older), rooms on the second floor, ($99.00 each). The rooms were fairly large and clean. We all had the feeling that there is a lack of trades people in the area, because of the poor workmanship in putting this motel together, (example - our shower head was facing the wall and could not be adjusted and the tiling was not done properly).
Our friend's room had a very strong odour of Febreze and it was an issue for them throughout their entire one night stay.
The continental breakfast was a nice bonus. Ruth, the owner, was quite friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. The Inn is a few minutes from the ferry terminal.

Room Tip: Choose the newer renovated rooms, (in one floor section of the inn)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovemanatees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    59
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
57
49
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had a conflict with Bruce anchor and these guys saved me. The room was comfortable for 4 people with two sinks, breakfast wasn't bad and we share a common love for shelties! A short drive to everything. Will come back again! Thanks Ruth!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VVins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were very impressed with how clean everything was and how helpful and friendly the staff were. The continental breakfast was a nice surprise as we didn't know it was included.
They served toast w/peanut butter, 5 different kinds of cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea and juice.
Ruth, the owner of the establishment was great, she gave us a couple suggestions,maps and magazines about the area and even took the time to talk to everyone in the morning to make sure everything went well.
Their website looks a little old and it really doesn't show how nice the rooms and the property are.
The Coach House Inn is located about 10 minutes drive from Tobermory and 5 minutes drive to one of Bruce's Penninsula park entrance.
We are looking forward to staying there again
Jimmy & Christi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cj0rdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

VERY basic accommodations.. did not feel comfortable ... got up at 6:30 a.m. and moved on. Would look for something right in Tobermory next time. All accommodations are motel or inns. Really enjoyed Lion's Head trail - the hike was great.. caution.. wear appropriate clothing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50Phoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My girlfriend and i went to Tobermory on the spur of the moment we looked this place up on trip adviser it was a 4 star rate ! It should be 5 ! This beautiful motel and grounds is excellent ! Ruth & John the owners of this fine establishment are great ! Well keep rooms with many upgrades and beautiful grounds very clean and comfy beds well rested for the 2 days we stayed .They even offer breakfast ! Coffee,toast,tea,fresh fruit yogurt cereal milk and more !!! $ 55 it was a night on there so called off season ! How do you beat that !!! We are so looking for are next trip there to spend a week or two at the Coach House Inn !!! Until we meet again Ruth & John keep up the great work and hospitality your new customers always in Tobermory Ken & Laurie Aka Barbie ! Cheers !

Room Tip: Great Choice !!! Well worth the price !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kullett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, wifi didn't reach our room (room 10) but it was available in the lounge/office and outside.

The room was basic, but huge and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. It was still fairly chilly outside so we had to turn the heat on, it worked very well.

The continental breakfast was toast and cereals, as to be expected. What wasn't expected (and added to my delight!) was the almond butter and large selection of herbal teas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Room_10_June_2_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything was great until they put people in the room above us!! It was peaceful relaxing & quiet!! It sounded like ten people in the room above us, not fun! Otherwise very nice clean place! We were put in a pet friendly room so wondering if we were the best people to impose on!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
2.1 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Inn

Property: Coach House Inn
Address: 7189 6 Hwy, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tobermory
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Tobermory
Coach Hotel Bruce Peninsula
Coach House Inn Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing