We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get in a room with someone above you!!”
Review of Coach House Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coach House Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't get in a room with someone above you!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything was great until they put people in the room above us!! It was peaceful relaxing & quiet!! It sounded like ten people in the room above us, not fun! Otherwise very nice clean place! We were put in a pet friendly room so wondering if we were the best people to impose on!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    62
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
62
50
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CANADA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days.And to say how I missed this wonderful place on my many trips to the "Bruce Peninsular"is beyond me.
Its clean, rooms are cosy and the price is right.The owner Ruth,has put her heart and soul into renovating the rooms. She is now in the throws of getting a good Webb Site so everyone can see not only the rooms but the property that it sits on.
Ruth,you are doing a fine job and have certainly now my patronage every time I return to the great hiking in the "Bruce"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaJohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

When we didn't get any rooms in all those big name Harbour side motels we decided to take a chance on this suburban inn which is only 3 min drive from the "downtown Tobermory", and was very surprised to see the cleanliness of the facility and the personal touch of the Inn Keeper Ruth. Awesome price included breakfast (simple yet enough), free wifi (though our room was far away and could use only in the office and breakfast area). Room size was good enough for two adult and 2 children, bath room was clean and decent. There was a swimming pool that was not open yet. Over all very happy and definitely recommend friends to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are large, clean and daily service for clean towels etc. Rooms are a little on the dark side. Breakfast is basic but adequate. The people who own the motel were friendly and helpful. Situated just 3 mins drive from Tobermory, the small beautiful bays and Little Cove Adventures, which is well worth a visit if you fancy some high wire fun!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LucindaDonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the hotel while we were hiking the local trails. The motel is a little further from Tobermory than other hotels but still only a few minutes by car. The value certainly made up for the extra minute drive. The rooms we rented were clean and newly renovated and had a minifridge. The breakfast offered consisted of fruit, yogurt, toast, cereal and coffee, tea, juice etc. which was more than enough before a hike.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the court yard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The motel style accommodation is located a short car ride from the Tobermory harbour/business area. Because of this the rates were much better than more centrally located places to stay.
While the motel is somewhat dated, the overall value was great. The room was clean, and had all the amenities you'd expect from a chain hotel.
The best aspect, that would make stay at the Coach House Inn again, was definitely the service. The owner/operator, Ruth, was fabulous to deal with, literally right from the moment we arrived. When the trip had to be cut short due to a medical problem, she had not problem refunding us a night's stay that had been pre-payed.
A great bonus is the breakfast spread put out each morning. There was more than enough of the continental style food to fill you up before heading out for the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pbj743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Inn is a 3 minutes car ride to the ferry. Rates are good compared to the ones near the ferry ($109 during peak season). We were quite surprised as the inn looks like a typical motel from outside but the room is clean, newly renovated, and certainly not motel like. The shower is good. The grounds are well kept. Ruth and the crew were very helpful. Free breakfast is simple (cereal, canned fruits, bread, weak coffee, tea, hot chocolate). We brought our own food and just heat it up in the microwave and had a picnic in their picnic area. Swimming pool is clean but didn't swim. The only cons was we were given a wrong room and when we came from our day trip from the ferry, we saw scuba gear and some bags in our room. I was so scared. We went to reception right away and there was a mix up with our rooms and those of scuba divers. I would have given it a 5 rating because of the cleanliness and price but gave only 3 because of room mixed up. By the way if you are a breakfast person, go somewhere else for your breakfast as they provide simple toast and cereal.

Room Tip: If you happen to visit Tobermory, just park in all day free parking 5 minutes walk to ferry. Its qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank countrytraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
2.1 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
55 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Inn

Property: Coach House Inn
Address: 7189 6 Hwy, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
#2 Family Hotel in Tobermory
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Tobermory
Coach Hotel Bruce Peninsula
Coach House Inn Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing