We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great burgers”

Ancient Cedars Cafe
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Canadian, Cafe, International, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on the picturesque Cornerstone Golf Club in beautiful Tobermory, Ontario.Great patio, WiFi, take-out, private functions and great locally sourced meats and produce.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great burgers, lovely view of the golf course from the deck. Best strawberry rubarb pie I've ever had. Fantastic prices!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    38
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ate here a lot. In town the food wasn't concistant and greasy over priced. Not many options for Gluten free. Staff were great but the food was amazing. Great for kids, ask for the sliders they are a hit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Only1Birdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Get the Sequoia burger!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Best burger ever! And it comes with very friendly service with a patio view over the golf course. Can't beat it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“excellent food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was an unexpected stop for lunch during our summer in Tobermory. We stay here for weeks on end in the summer as we have family in the area. Of all of the restaurants that I have eaten at in Tobermory, this is the best (and I have eaten at them all)! We were going to eat in town but it was too busy so we headed out to the golf course where this restaurant is located. The food is fresh, locally grown and sourced. I had a hamburger and it was delicious with a fresh salad. My husband and father in law had steak sandwiches which they enjoyed. There was a little spice in the sandwich. The onion rings were homemade and delicious. We loved the fresh batter and the red onion in the rings. The server was one of the owners and she was lovely. I highly recommend this place. The cost was very reasonable as well- something like $40 for three lunch entrees, 2 beer and a coke.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobermory, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Current, Healthy, and Fresh, Local Food in Tobermory.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Current and fresh at Ancient Cedars. Sean and Judy have great vision, extensive knowledge of the food industry, and the right recipe for Tobermory. A back to the basics menu with a flare for the traveller with unique dietary needs. From local beef, organic produce, and herbed seasonings to tantalize any palette, Sean and Judy are setting a new bench mark for the Tobermory food culture. We feel very fortunate to have this kind of culinary choice in Tobermory. This provides us the opportunity to recommend Ancient Cedars to our Bed and Breakfast guests. We have been so impressed with Sean and Judy, we have chosen Ancient Cedars to cater our "SPA DAY" with special international guests with complicated dietary needs and restrictions. We know they will far exceed what is needed. In summary, choose Ancient Cedars no matter what you, or your party are in the mood for, there will be something freshly prepared for your parties gastronomic delight.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BearCoveBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Cedars Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ancient Cedars Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing