We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous setting, perfect hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I chose Bear Cove B+B primarily because hotel reviews in the area were a mixed bag, and the reviews were good. And I was more than delighted with my choice. I came to stay first weekend of May with visitors from the UK so wanted to impress - and managed to do just that!
The setting is spectacular, we were lucky with 24C cloudless skies everyday, the house looks over the lake and the lovely gardens create a fantastic wind break. there is not one but four outdoor seating area to enjoy the view, relax and unwind.
The hosts, Jim and Doug felt like family friends after an hour, and couldn't have made us feel more at home, inviting us to use their BBQ, enjoy the hot-tub as much as we liked not to mention the cooking and baking.
The breakfasts were huge - with fantastic meat (sausage and bacon - which is not always good in Canada, being form the UK we are quite the specialists!), fresh baked break, eggs and potatoes.
I'll definitely come back again - this is Tobermory's best kept secret - you don't feel the need to go anywhere else!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teenytroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 155 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I recently visited this lovely B&B, it was recommended to us by friends. I have to say, for a new B&B, you would never know the hosts were not in this business for years. They were warm and welcoming, completely all about the guests and our needs, and they made you feel right at home. They do cater to special dietary needs, which was wonderful, and the food was fantastic.

We were treated to piano playing after breakfast by Doug, and Jim knows all the best places to go in Tobermory to make your visit a success. The rooms were spotless and the beds were comfortable. The decor throughout their home is beautiful. While we were only there for a short time, I would go back for a weekend just for the spa services they offer and I really appreciated the well equipped gym.

My wife cannot say enough about how wonderful and relaxing our time was and we will make another trip in the fall, just to go back and see the seasons change in this wonderful little piece of heaven. The hosts were beyond accommodating and while the B&B itself is really terrific, the scenery and the hosts made it over the top perfection. Its also easy to find and close to town and all hiking trails.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Parker Bateman suite, the view of the lake from the upper floor is really something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandJStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

After a 3 day weekend get-away, which was much needed, I cannot tell you how much my fiance and I enjoyed our stay at Bear Cove. The setting is perfection, the hosts are warm, personable and just amazing, and their home is incredible. Spotless, well appointed, comfortable beds, and a wonderful atmosphere all made for an awesome weekend away from "it all". The fantastic breakfasts were to die for and feature homemade bread, handmade sausage fresh from the local butcher, and fresh local produce and fruits. The incredible views of the lake, the sunsets and the peace and quiet were soothing and healing to the soul. Jim is a talent in the kitchen and Doug is a gifted musician, his piano playing was beautiful. Thank you so much Doug and Jim for your hospitality, professionalism and the care you put into making each guest feel truly welcome. We are fully recharged and cannot wait to come back, in fact, leaving was difficult, I wanted to stay for a month!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We chose Bearcove Bed & Breakfast not only because of the remarkable reviews previous guests wrote, but that was crucial AND - what can we say - it's still understating. Jim is a great chefs (have lots of breakfast baskets and Pecan Butter Tarts if you can-I'll take the recipe with me, when I'm going back home to Germany), Doug is a wonderful entertainer (Jim will help to convince Doug to play the piano) and both are the best hosts we've ever met - they opened their home for us! We stayed in the bedroom upstairs, which is equipped with two comfortable queen size beds, an ensuite bathroom and has a private balkony. We sat oustide at the dock with an amazing view of Lake Huron and relaxed in the hot tub outside on the patio during a perfect Easter weekend. We hope to come back one day! Thank you Jim & Doug, once again!

Room Tip: The two rooms on the main floor have a queen size bed and share the bathroom. The bedroom upstairs h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaMily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearCoveBB, Owner at Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

We feel very fortunate to have international guests come to Bear Cove. The reviews have been great. We love to have our guests feel as comfortable as they would be in their own homes. We have met so many great people so far and truly love what we do. Thanks kindly, for all the great reviews and look forward to your return visits. Cheers ... Jim and Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I have been to Bear Cove B&B a few times and will continue to visit again and again. Bear Cove B&B is a beautiful bed and breakfast located just far enough off highway 6 near Tobermory Ontario that the crazy world seems to be a million miles away. The hosts, Jim and Doug are two of the nicest gentlemen you will ever meet. They go over and beyond to ensure you have a wonderful, enjoyable experience while you are there. Located on Lake Huron with a board walk and a dock right to the waters edge and a wonderful view to die for. The 4 person hot tub is always the right temperature to sit, relax and enjoy a glass of wine or a early morning coffee. The rooms are tastefully decorated and pleasant. I have given Bear Cove a rating of 5 out of 5 based on the location, cleanliness, pleasant atmosphere, five star meals, natural beauty and the awesomeness of the hosts, Jim and Doug. Geraldine was very pleased with the spa services. Bear Cove also has a well equipped fitness room. We will be back there again soon. Steve and Geraldine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was our second stay at Bear Cove. We had another wonderful stay. Jim and Doug are amazing hosts. Dinner was fabulous and breakfast was simply amazing. Bear Cove Breakfast Baskets are a culinary delight. Wow. The rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The bedroom was like heaven, sleeping on a cloud. We can't wait for another repeat visit. Thanks again Jim and Doug.

Room Tip: Choose the Symphony room, if it hasn't been spoken for already. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valleyjean45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was our first visit to Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast. Hosts Jim and Doug were awesome gentlemen who go to great lengths to make your stay memorable. The rooms are simply beautiful and comfortable with a Bear theme. The food was delicious and served with elegance. Definitely 5-star rating. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone.

Thanks Jim and Doug. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank painterjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
5.5 mi away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
114 reviews
19 mi away
The Purple Frog Bed and Breakfast
4.7 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
71 reviews
5.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
106 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 197 Eagle Rd, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range: $136 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Cove welcomes you to enjoy a private and secluded adult only getaway on the crystal clear shores of Lake Huron. Luxurious rooms, with free WiFi, Satellite TV in common area, and full hot Breakfast. Stroll through the beautiful perennial gardens, pause at the frog pond and swim, snorkel, kayak or paddle boat right from our docks. Do some great star gazing under the dark skies of Tobermory while sitting in the 8' Arctic Spa Hot Tub on the main deck. Wake up to a full hot breakfast and tour the many attractions Tobermory has to offer. Fifteen minutes to The Grotto, Boat Tours and the Ferry. Open year round. Your hosts: Jim Brewer and Doug Orr B.Ed., B.Mus. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Cove Bed And Breakfast Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing