We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most romantic and stylish B&B in the area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Be warned fellow travelers... this review is uncharacteristically positive! (and I am a negative person, just ask my ex-girlfriend!)

The adventure begins with an impressive bear statue (see photos) at the entrance of wooded winding driveway. Following the drive leads you to clearly a multi-million dollar home. This is a house and location torn from the pages of Town and Country magazine.

We arrived without pre-booking or calling ahead (yes I blame my technologically impaired wife). Our hosts answered their door and without a pause, they welcomed us in.

The interior of their home was as impressive as the scenery outside. I have no sense of what is 'chic' or even what constitutes good art, however, my mate was clearly impressed and tried to explain the value/meaning of the art to me. I fear that my genetics betrayed me but even I will admit that the interior decorating was outstanding.

The rooms -> 5 stars. No question. Fun and with a flair of decadence. They were like a slice of chocolate cake.

The ambiance -> 5 stars. I could feel the stress of a work week drain away as I walked through their home.

The breakfast -> 5 stars. We joined our hosts for a friendly morning conversation as they went about preparing our meal. Extensive quantities of heavenly yummy-ness were prepared and we were directed to have as much as we would like. I had a -lot-... nom nom nom.

The luxurious home aside... as anyone who frequents B&B's will know... it is the hosts that make a B&B experience memorable.

The hosts -> 5 stars. I would rate them higher then 5 out of 5 if I could. Equal parts warm, professional, welcoming and down right entertaining. My wife and I were made to feel truly 'welcome' in their home. Can one put a price on that?

Look fellow netizens... I pre-warned you all. This was a positive review.

I have only highly positive memories of our stay with the Bear Cove B&B. We will ensure that we will spend more than one night with the Bear Cove B&B next summer! One evening was simply not enough.

I have attached a selection of photos (taken in the rain due to the season). Great place. You will not be disappointed.

Michael and Mouse

Room Tip: If you are looking for a huge room...ask for the top floor. Yes... it is the entire top floor. WOW!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onyx_and_Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearCoveBB, Owner at Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Michael and Mouse,

We were so happy to have you stay with us. We welcome all feedback, and strive to make Bear Cove better each season. We are all about making our home and property private and comfortable for our guests. We feel so fortunate to be able to share Bear Cove with the incredible guests that we have had so far. Thanks Michael and Mouse, we look forward to your return visit ... Jim and Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 155 of 155 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Imagine being far from the city and being surrounded by the rugged and scenic shores of Lake Huron and Georgian Bay. What an incredible paradise for naturalists, photographers, divers, hikers and leisure-seekers. Ontarians need to visit this area to appreciate how fortune we are. Now imagine being nestled amongst all this in a beaufiful B&B on the shores of Bear Cove and Lake Huron. Bear Cove B&B offers nothing short of first class service together with comfort, solitude and two very accomodating hosts Jim and Doug. We spent the weekend enjoying the peace and quiet in the beautiful Bear and Cove B&B home. The breakfast is wholesome and nutritious served overlooking the bay. The rooms are comfortable and decorated with a personal touch. We strongly recommend the Bear Cove B&B if you want to compliment your stay in the Tobermory area. Peter and Denis

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoinette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beatriz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
5.6 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#10 of 12 in Tobermory
121 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
113 reviews
4.7 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
105 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Purple Frog Bed and Breakfast
4.8 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 197 Eagle Rd, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range: $139 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Cove welcomes you to enjoy a private and secluded adult only getaway on the crystal clear shores of Lake Huron. Luxurious rooms, with free WiFi, Satellite TV in common area, and full hot Breakfast. Stroll through the beautiful perennial gardens, pause at the frog pond and swim, snorkel, kayak or paddle boat right from our docks. Do some great star gazing under the dark skies of Tobermory while sitting in the 8' Arctic Spa Hot Tub on the main deck. Wake up to a full hot breakfast and tour the many attractions Tobermory has to offer. Fifteen minutes to The Grotto, Boat Tours and the Ferry. Open year round. Your hosts: Jim Brewer and Doug Orr B.Ed., B.Mus. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Cove Bed And Breakfast Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing