We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tobermory Village Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tobermory Village Campground
Barrie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

stayed here this past wknd july 27-29 had an awesome stay. the park staff were polite and great to get along with. a lot of stuff to do for the kids, playground pool splashpad pond to paddle boat or canoe in horse carriage rides at night. and a petting zoo. only thing that kinda sucked was that u had to pay for the showers .25 cents for 2 minutes. Im already planning my next trip back :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eurodutchgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    32
    6
    4
    25
See reviews for
79
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a well run campground. We had a fantastic stay thanks to the hard work and dedication of the staff. The entire campground is spotless, the family is always around making sure everything is okay and the bathrooms are immaculate! I would also like to mention that Grace at the Petting Zoo is great with my children and such a well mannered little girl. The pool and splash pad are captivating my children and they are having a blast! In response to the previous reviews, my curiosity got the best of me and I actually asked the owners and they are neither Dutch nor Mennonite : ), the no music rule has nothing to do with their religion, and there are no teenagers that work there LOL, and they have 200 sites..not 500 LOL!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldensarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Nice sites, well maintained, lots for kids to do....most of the Dutch Mennonites were awesome and super nice....that being said their little kids (around 10ish) are very unruly, rude to a lot of their guests and very I'll behaved towards their family's customers....I would recommend they send their children somewhere else during peak season, they have no manners at all.

Room Tip: Lots of nice sites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bree N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This campground is owned by a Dutch Mennonite family. They are very strict about noice levels and the hours that campers keep. We appreciated this. They have a rule..."no music" which I think is a bit excessive and perhaps has to do with their religion. They are a very hard working group and were always doing maintenance on the sites or building new sites. The campsites are quite spacious and treed and the campground is huge with over 500 sites. The property is gated and the gate closes at 10 pm. During our stay we went to Manitoulin Island and our ferry ride back didn't get in until midnight. We let the front office know ahead of time and they had some of their teenage children stay up to let us in the gate when we arrived.

We didn't use their washrooms much, but they did appear clean when we did. We noticed the showers require coins. We don't have children, but this looked to us to be a pretty nice place for children. There's a petting zoo and horse & cart rides for kids.

We found the bible verses above the doorways of buildings a bit disconcerting....but to each their own....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn32152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
2.3 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
15.0 mi away
Summer House Park
Summer House Park
#1 of 2 in Miller Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
15.2 mi away
Miller's Family Camp
Miller's Family Camp
#2 of 2 in Miller Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tobermory Village Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobermory Village Campground

Property: Tobermory Village Campground
Address: 7159 6 Hwy, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Tobermory
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Tobermory Village Campground Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing