We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely breathtaking”
Review of The Grotto

The Grotto
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Grotto, in Bruce Peninsula National Park, is one of the top tourism attractions in Ontario. A shoreline sea cave with the beautiful blue waters, the Grotto is a unique natural wonder and memorable place to experience. It is also a very popular and busy location, especially during the peak season of July and August and on long weekends. At those times, the parking lot will fill up and you may not be able to access the Grotto.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We got to the campground late afternoon and decided to head to The Grotto. It was beautiful watching the sunset but it was hard to see into The grotto at that time. It was also really scary walking back in pitch darkness. So, we went during the day and it was amazing. The water is beautiful but really cold. One of the most beautiful places I've ever been to.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    175
    40
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Caribbean in Ontario”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I had an awesome time. The grotto is beautiful and I will never get over how clear the water is. Was busy until the evening when the temperature dropped.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“No where else in Ontario”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Wow is all we have to say. Even though our children are young, they still scaled down the cliffs to the Grotto with the help of daddy. I was to afraid to attempt it. With lifejackets on the jumped off the cliff in the cave into the clear water. My husband snorkled under the cave to the outside into Georgian Bay. Although it was a long hike for a 4 year old the walk alone kept him interested in nature and he did it without complaining. The surprise "Grotton" at the end was well worth the walk. The hardest part was the hike back which is where good shoulders come into play for those much needed piggy backs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Absolutely stunning views, and easy to get to the top of the Grotto with a 5 year old. We did not venture down with the 5 year old, but there were plenty of people below. The only reason I gave this attraction four stars was because it was so crowded with people on an August weekend. I would recommend seeing the Grotto in the off-season, or at least on a weekday.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ESmith583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You can't travel all the way here and miss this”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Spectacular sight - a Canadian must! Also fantastic for hikers and nature lovers. Bring running shoes - NO flip flops!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grotto also viewed

 
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to The Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing