We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of The Grotto

The Grotto
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: During the summer months, visiting Cyprus Lake, in particular the Grotto and Indian Head Cove can leave some visitors feeling frustrated and confused if they are denied access to these sites. As a result of the increasing popularity of these attractions, the entrance way and parking to access these areas are at times complex. Additionally, the rocky terrain along the coastline and access to the Grotto can be challenging for some. Please visit the park website for more detailed information on the Grotto, what to expect, and other attractions in the park and surrounding area if you're unable to access the Grotto. Additionally, visitors should make the Parks Canada Visitor Center in Tobermory their first stop so they can plan their stay and get up to date information on parking and other visitor activities.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I went there with my husband and three kids (6,4 and 10 months old). We walked to the Grotto but only my hubby and my eldest who went down. They got a great time walking down to the Grotto. The view at the Grotto is amazing. We didn't swim cause it was terribly cold but had a great time resting on the rocks on the shore. The colour of the water is so beautiful, like the colour of the south. It is a place to see.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChantaleF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    172
    39
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoriaville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Turquoise water, beautiful view. It beats the Carabean! Nice hike. Wear proper shoes. Swimming around the grotto can be chalenging. Make sure you have fins or that you are a very good swimmer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“It's worth the climb!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

One of the best fresh water I've been to. The place is wonderful though the water is cold. There's a little bit of a climb to see what's inside waiting for you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mizabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Beautiful!

The hike was nice and the views were excellent. It was quite crowded (summertime = swimtime) and I regretted not wearing a swim suit since it was HOT out.

We wandered around the park quite a bit and found a lonelier spot away from the Grotto to sit and enjoy a bit of quiet.

I did see a lot of folks in sandals, but I would recommend wearing hiking or running shoes for the trip. That way you won't be limited to the wide parts of the path that are more crowded and less interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty cool place but too many people”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The grotto and the area around it is a really neat place to check out, but it's swarming with people during the peak summer periods when it's nice out. Water is cold all year around, but better in late summer.
It used to be nicer when was a little more difficult to get to when the paths were natural paths instead of the Disneyland style paths they made for it recently.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank boothash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grotto also viewed

 
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to The Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing