We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Certainly interesting

You can look round the Keeper’s house and see how the family lived without electricity or much in... read more

Reviewed September 25, 2018
JPG815
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Worth a visit

When in Tobermory it is certainly worth a trip out on one of the tour boats to see Flower Pot... read more

Reviewed September 17, 2018
Usia2014
,
Calgary, Canada
Read all 230 reviews
  
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
125
59
21
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
59
21
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flowerpot island flower pots observation deck bruce anchor the blue heron bucket list hiking trail glass bottom volunteers lighthouse loo boat water snakes picnic cruise rocks
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 213 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

You can look round the Keeper’s house and see how the family lived without electricity or much in the way of creature comforts. It’s picturesque and tranquil because I got the impression it doesn’t get crowded. A really friendly guy was acting as Curator during our visit, and he went out of his way to be helpful. You can buy chocolate bars and souvenirs but that’s not what it’s about (ok, our teenagers probably thought differently).

Thank JPG815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

When in Tobermory it is certainly worth a trip out on one of the tour boats to see Flower Pot Island, do some hiking, swimming and take in the sights including the lighthouse. The views are lovely and the water very clear. It's a nice peaceful setting.

Thank Usia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018

The island offers a lot of great walks and views, and a stroll to the north side to see the lighthouse and station is both interesting and enjoyable. It's just far enough from the ferry dock to stretch your legs but not enough to really tucker you out; about 45 minutes each way. You can see some of the history of the island and also there's a tuck shop with the usual assortment of schwag for sale, but to a good cause.

Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Weather permitting would be a pleasure to go here. Our tour boat dropped people off for 2 hours in their tour package.. Wow it was a hot day. I should of jumped in. This is a special place in our beautiful province.. Is a must to see and on our bucket list for swimming. Book with your tour operator to get off and swim. Dont forget water shoes.

Thank rossbilly42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Make the hike from the cruise drop off. Great history. Visit the museum. Imagine what life was like for the lighthouse keepers. Walk up to the lighthouse and enjoy the view.

Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

I visited the lighthouse during my trip to the island with my husband and young daughter. It’s a well kept building with interesting history. We bought a cold drink and then sat on one of the picnic tables and enjoyed the view, imagining what life would have been like for the Lighthouse families in the past.

Thank ReginaScoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

We visited in June of 2018; temperature was perfect for the hiking on the island to get to the lighthouse. Interesting museum and information about the history of the lighthouse. Take a picnic when you visit and sit at one of the few tables there to enjoy your meal; you can purchase drinks and ice cream inside the museum/store.

Thank Sniffies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018

Got amazed seeing the color of the water, texture of the rocks, and the amazing view.

We saw this flowerpot while we were on the Blue heron cruise.

Thank cynthu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

When you are at Tobermory, you must go to see the Flowerpot even the cruise is more expensive. sit down on the chair in the porch deck of the lighthouse, watch the moving lake water and boats, it is in the paradise.

2  Thank Colin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

Great place to visit to hike have a picnic or just relax and enjoy the beauty of this island. Only access is by boat.

1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews