We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Georgian bay loop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of MS Chi-Cheemaun

MS Chi-Cheemaun
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The M.S Chi-Cheemaun provides an excellent alternative to hours of highway driving and spectacular views of Georgian Bay. Gourmet Sunset Dinner Cruises are also available.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Georgian bay loop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Nice break on our motorcycle trip around Georgian Bay. Park early and walk up to the Leeside restaurant for breakfast. Rope tie downs supplied. I will bring my own ratcheting tie down next time for convenience. Licensed. We didn't eat on board.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregpj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    119
    26
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Relaxing trip to and from Manitoulin Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Muskoka chairs at back of ferry - great to sit on and enjoy the scenery. Has a snack bar; tourist information, (pamphlets and personal available to answer all your questions); on the return, a presentation about the area, (wildlife; diving, etc.), by Parks Canada employee; very stable ferry - didn't get 'seasick'. Trip is 1 3/4 hours and is cheaper per person if you go out and come back in the same day. Cost for vehicle is additional and based on size.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovemanatees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
296 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“quick trip to Manitoulin Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The check in procedure is quick and efficient. We boarded the ferry on time and then went to the upper deck to watch the departure from the dock. Very interesting too. The lake was very calm so the ride was wonderful. Departure from the Ferry at Southbaymouth was also fast and efficient. I loved the trip on this boat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KitchenerJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Skip the Chi-Cheemaun Sunset Dinner Cruise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had read of a few positive reviews of the cruise, so we decided to take it. For $50 a head, we expected something more than what we got. The prix fixe menu choices sound pretty good, but the quality of food leaves something to be desired. The four pieces slices of baguette were hardly enough to accompany our starting soups, and asking for more seemed to be a faux pas, because the server froze when we asked for a second, not knowing how to proceed. For the main, I had the roast beef au jus: the portion was generous, but the two pieces were cooked differently (one medium the other well-done) and the veggies were overdone and under-seasoned. My girlfriend's special (veal on a bed of penne) was simply a disappointment: the penne was overcooked, underseasoned and thus tasted like cardboard. The veal was also overcooked and had a grainy consistency that didn't go well with anything else on the plate. Finally, the dessert was a raspberry mousse: one bite is all it took. I wont go into the gory details, but let's just say it took a lot of coffee to wash out the dessert.

The dinner took 1 hour and indeed was capped off with a beautiful sunset. Once you're done eating though, the round trip journey still takes another 3 hours to complete. There isn't much to do either, as the views disappear with the sun. A few entertainment options would be nice (boardgames?). There is a retro arcade, but the $1 per play of Pacman was a bit much to swallow.

Anyway, if you're taking the ferry as a through-fare to Manitoulin Island, by all means it's a great vessel with a lot of nooks and crannies to see and experience. Just don't dish out the time and money on the Sunset Dinner Cruise.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank palanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Came here in the Ferry from Manitoulin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Ferry terminal and the MS Chi-Cheemaun is the Ferry name. Drive your car into it, dock and then spend the next couple of hours upstairs eating and enjoying the view. You can walk outside or stay indoors in the shade. Great experience, would do it again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MS Chi-Cheemaun also viewed

Tobermory, Bruce County
 
Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to MS Chi-Cheemaun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing