We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but ZERO soundproofing between rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Forest House B&B
Ranked #4 of 12 Tobermory B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place, but ZERO soundproofing between rooms!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for a weekend getaway. We stayed in the West Burgundy room. The room is nice, has a Keurig coffee maker, fridge, microwave and tiny TV. The washroom is good also and there is a separate entrance. The problem was that the room shares a wall and there is a door that connects to the East room. Although the door is locked, there was zero privacy. We literally heard every word (and more!) of the couple next door. They kept us up all night and got no rest.

The breakfast is fantastic, great portions and lots of options! I tried everything and they were all amazing in both taste and presentation.

The location is very good, relatively close to the main harbour and within walking distance to the trails for hiking.

We stayed for 2 nights, but the room was not cleaned in between nights. We wished the rooms had housekeeping. It would have been nice to have more coffee pods replaced daily, clean coffee mugs, and clean towels would have been nice every day too.

Overall, the food and location is good, but the lack of privacy and soundproofing between rooms made our experience less than ideal. I would go somewhere else if privacy is important!

Room Tip: Do not choose the east/west rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vlad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    11
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As soon as we arrived at the Molinari Bed and Breakfast place we felt at Home. Maria provided good suggestions then marked on the Map all the best places for us to see in Tobermory. There we met Bob, Vanessa, Manuel and Debbie all very nice people. They provide an excellent service. Thanks to them our Family weekend trip was very special. Thank You.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great Place for weekend vacations in Tobermory,Ontario.
Calm and delightful environment with great breakfast.
Very close to everything you want in Tobermory except beaches that you should go with car.
I'm sure you won't regret of your decision making.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. Really add to the experience
Rooms. A bit dark,
Bring ear plugs a bit noisy between rooms. Bed very comfy

Expensive

I would stay here again and recommend it for Bruce Trail hikers

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melongsob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in the West Burgundy Room. The room itself was tidy, tastefully decorated, and clean. There was a microwave, fridge, as well as TV and coffee maker. The room was located with its own door to a shared porch/balcony overlooking the backyard.

Breakfasts were well-cooked with large portions. A selection of fresh fruit was a big plus!

The location is just outside central Tobermory. It is walkable but we ended up driving around to get to shops and restaurants.

As mentioned by other reviewers, there is no housekeeping or towel service during the stay.

There were some issues:
1. Noise - the West and East Burgundy rooms are beside each other and share a door as well. Noise was a major issue at night time. My partner slept through most of it but on one of our nights, we could hear audible speech and laughter through the walls. On another night, we heard snoring through the night. The remaining days were quieter (due to different guests in the adjacent room). If you need a quiet stay, do NOT stay in this room.

2. Water pressure - fluctuated depending on water use in the B&B, with corresponding changes in water temperature in the shower.

Overall a pleasant stay, but be aware of the noise issue. Definitely not for light sleepers.

Room Tip: West Burgundy Room was noisy (shares a door and a thin wall with East Burgundy Room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoCanadaEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan in hensall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to Tobermory once or twice a year for over 20 years, and I can say that, hands down, Molinari's is the best place we've ever spent a night in. If for no other reason, a stay here is worth it just to meet Maria. She really is one of those rare people you feel privileged to have met.

Aside from that, our room was very comfortable and very clean, and most importantly, very quiet at night. As others have mentioned, breakfast is outstanding. I've put away a great many scones in my day, but none as delicious as Maria's. And the coffee comes from an Italian macchina, so of course it's superb. Their two dogs are well-behaved and friendly.

Maria is very happy to give advice on what to see - as I mentioned we've been going to Tobermory for 20 years, yet Maria directed us to a pretty little cove we'd never seen, nor would have ever found on our own.

We had a meal in their Italian resto on the harbour - very friendly chef, excellent service, delicious food, great views. Very highly recommended.

Thank you Maria (and Bob) for an excellent stay - the two D's.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirius29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I just spent 2 nights at Molinari's for her birthday and our stay was fantastic.
We were greeted like old friends and immediately felt welcome.

We were given a quick tour of our room and separate, private bathroom and shown the nice modern kitchen where we would have a delicious breakfast the next day.

The first morning we were served what I can easily say is the best coffee I've had in Ontario, followed by 3 amazing crepes with blueberry sauce and maple syrup. I can't say enough about the coffee and crepes, they were absolutely fantastic!!!

After breakfast, Maria sat with us and showed us some of the must-see/do activities in Tobermory and let us in on some not so well known, but just as beautiful, spots to check out. She was exceptionally helpful and more than happy to do so.

I would come back here in a heartbeat.. and plan to!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rigante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.9 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forest House B&B

Property: The Forest House B&B
Address: 68 Harpur Drive, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada (Formerly Molinari's Bed and Breakfast)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Forest House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tobermory's premium bed & breakfast. Located a very short walk going along the waters edge to beautiful downtown Tobermory and Little Tub Harbour. The house is nestled into the beautiful conifer forests, backing onto 100s of acres of natural park land. Featuring two 1 bedroom queen suites, and one 2 bedroom king suite. All suites feature private entrances & private bathrooms. While we love children, this is an adult focused B&B to ensure the guests enjoyment of this peaceful & tranquil forest setting (12 yrs and older please). We feature a buffet breakfast with hot plates 7 days a week in our beautiful commercial kitchen. We also can arrange rental of bikes or kayaks if you want to get out and explore all Tobermory has to offer. Come stay with us and make the forest your home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Forest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forest House B&B Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing