We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, cozy, clean, but noisy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Forest House B&B
Ranked #4 of 12 Tobermory B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable, cozy, clean, but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in the West Burgundy Room. The room itself was tidy, tastefully decorated, and clean. There was a microwave, fridge, as well as TV and coffee maker. The room was located with its own door to a shared porch/balcony overlooking the backyard.

Breakfasts were well-cooked with large portions. A selection of fresh fruit was a big plus!

The location is just outside central Tobermory. It is walkable but we ended up driving around to get to shops and restaurants.

As mentioned by other reviewers, there is no housekeeping or towel service during the stay.

There were some issues:
1. Noise - the West and East Burgundy rooms are beside each other and share a door as well. Noise was a major issue at night time. My partner slept through most of it but on one of our nights, we could hear audible speech and laughter through the walls. On another night, we heard snoring through the night. The remaining days were quieter (due to different guests in the adjacent room). If you need a quiet stay, do NOT stay in this room.

2. Water pressure - fluctuated depending on water use in the B&B, with corresponding changes in water temperature in the shower.

Overall a pleasant stay, but be aware of the noise issue. Definitely not for light sleepers.

Room Tip: West Burgundy Room was noisy (shares a door and a thin wall with East Burgundy Room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoCanadaEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    11
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dan in hensall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to Tobermory once or twice a year for over 20 years, and I can say that, hands down, Molinari's is the best place we've ever spent a night in. If for no other reason, a stay here is worth it just to meet Maria. She really is one of those rare people you feel privileged to have met.

Aside from that, our room was very comfortable and very clean, and most importantly, very quiet at night. As others have mentioned, breakfast is outstanding. I've put away a great many scones in my day, but none as delicious as Maria's. And the coffee comes from an Italian macchina, so of course it's superb. Their two dogs are well-behaved and friendly.

Maria is very happy to give advice on what to see - as I mentioned we've been going to Tobermory for 20 years, yet Maria directed us to a pretty little cove we'd never seen, nor would have ever found on our own.

We had a meal in their Italian resto on the harbour - very friendly chef, excellent service, delicious food, great views. Very highly recommended.

Thank you Maria (and Bob) for an excellent stay - the two D's.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirius29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I just spent 2 nights at Molinari's for her birthday and our stay was fantastic.
We were greeted like old friends and immediately felt welcome.

We were given a quick tour of our room and separate, private bathroom and shown the nice modern kitchen where we would have a delicious breakfast the next day.

The first morning we were served what I can easily say is the best coffee I've had in Ontario, followed by 3 amazing crepes with blueberry sauce and maple syrup. I can't say enough about the coffee and crepes, they were absolutely fantastic!!!

After breakfast, Maria sat with us and showed us some of the must-see/do activities in Tobermory and let us in on some not so well known, but just as beautiful, spots to check out. She was exceptionally helpful and more than happy to do so.

I would come back here in a heartbeat.. and plan to!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rigante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Its not difficult to see why Molinari's Bed and Breakfast has such good reviews and a certificate of excellence form Trip Advisor because its simply superb.We stayed for three nights in the East Burgundy Suite. Best breakfast at a B&B? well I don't think we have enjoyed better. Maria knows a thing or two on producing the perfect breakfast with plenty of choice and the finest coffee. Breakfast is served at a large single table in the kitchen where the company of fellow guests can be enjoyed along with the food. Our suite was beautifully and tastefully decorated, everything was spotless too. Maria gave us excellent travel advice of where to go and what to see in the Tobermory area. We both loved it and if we return to Tobermory we will be staying at Molinari's Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneAlan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great breakfast with the best scones ever with fresh fruit and followed by choice of main breakfast, wonderful hospitality and very nice room, what else could you ask for. Vey convenient to restaurants and the great hikes on the Bruce Trail

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clif2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The perfect place to ensure a memorable holiday. Sincerely gracious hosts ensures you get the best out of Tobermory. Breakfast was prepared to our liking. They are really keen to get a feedback on our experience to further improve their business. Without hesitation, I would recommend Molinari's when in Tobermory.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc_rcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I recently went on vacation for our one year anniversary and we spent our last two days in Tobermory at Molinari's B&B. We stayed in the Captain's Room and absolutely loved it. Both the bedroom and bathroom were not only beautifully decorated but absolutely spotless! Bob makes great coffee and Maria's breakfasts are amazing. Everything we had was great, but the crepes were fantastic!

Maria gave great tips on where we should kayak, hike and told us the fastest route to get home. It was great getting to know Bob and Maria. If we go back to Tobermory, we will definitely be staying there again!

Amy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.9 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forest House B&B

Property: The Forest House B&B
Address: 68 Harpur Drive, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada (Formerly Molinari's Bed and Breakfast)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tobermory's premium bed & breakfast. Located a very short walk going along the waters edge to beautiful downtown Tobermory and Little Tub Harbour. The house is nestled into the beautiful conifer forests, backing onto 100s of acres of natural park land. Featuring two 1 bedroom queen suites, and one 2 bedroom king suite. All suites feature private entrances & private bathrooms. While we love children, this is an adult focused B&B to ensure the guests enjoyment of this peaceful & tranquil forest setting (12 yrs and older please). We feature a buffet breakfast with hot plates 7 days a week in our beautiful commercial kitchen. We also can arrange rental of bikes or kayaks if you want to get out and explore all Tobermory has to offer. Come stay with us and make the forest your home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Forest House B&B Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing