We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron Cruises

Blue Heron Cruises
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Tobermory's longest running businesses - Blue Heron Cruises has been operating boat tours through Fathom Five National Marine Park for over 45 years. Cruise through the crystal clear waters of Georgian Bay surrounding Tobermory taking in the vistas that include Big Tub Lighthouse and the Shipwrecks in Big Tub Harbour. Hiking trails, a historic light station, caves and the namesake Sea Stacks are waiting for you to explore on Flowerpot Island. Continuous departures from the bustling Little Tub Harbour daily (Seasonally and weather permitting).
Toronto
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Took the Flowerpot Island Express to its namesake. Boat ride was like being on an amusement park ride: I.e. fun. Island has some beautiful views. Clear, clear water reminiscent of the Mediterranean, but many degrees cooler. Express stops over the wrecks, but if you want a better view, consider one of the other Blue Heron boats that have a glass bottom. The island paths are very walkable. Lots of up and down, but not requiring exceptional athletic ability. Flowerpot Island is a must-see if you are travelling to the Bruce Peninsula.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Retired-Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    69
    18
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shipwrecks and islands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We did the 2 hour island and shipwreck cruise. I was surprised that you only see two shipwrecks, and quite briefly, about 10-15 min of the two hour cruise. The other wrecks are too deep to view by boat. The glass bottom did give us a very clear view of these two small wreck and our pictures turned out great. The cruise is mainly about the islands and coves which are all so beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Family_Traveller_382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice boats and people. But expensive.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We took a trip over to Flowerpot Island with these guys recently. The boats were nice and the people very friendly. But we felt like we'd been overcharged. We paid even more than the high price shown on their website, but were in a rush to get on the boat, so didn't fuss. We felt like we ought to have, in hindsight.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JasonManikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Blue Heron Cruise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We took the tour long weekend of August. We were a party of 14 and tried to book over the phone three days advance. The booking exeprience was not exciting. We experienced a great communication gap between the booking agents. At the scheduled time of boarding 330pm (at Tobermory) the boat was late due to weather, but we were told that island time would not be reduced. Despite such assurance we quicky toured the island and returned to the dock (Flowerpot island) at 520 pm and sat on the benches awaiting announcment. None of us heard any announcement for 530 boat and when we apporoached the staff a bit later, they told us the boad had gone and we missed. The staff continued to argue and commented that person who told us that island time would not be affected lied to us. The staff assured that they would put us on next boat, but they did not accomodate us on any other boats. It was a great hassel to get back to main island. We feel that announcement system was poor, the staff was unfriendly and uncaring type. Overall experience was not good at all and did not provide value to us.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Sanjay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to flowerpot island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Overall, we really enjoyed our time on flowerpot island, it's a beautiful area. However, we thought the shipwreck viewing portion of the trip to be a waste of money, given that everybody rushed to one side and therefore we couldn't see much. The guide gave us zero information on the wrecks, and instead directed everybody to a small information poster. It is completely stupid to ask 100+ people to crowd around one poster. Lastly, the boats were late, and we were left waiting on the island for half an hour. Despite this, I would still recommend a trip , but pass on the shipwrecks. Bring sunscreen and a picnic lunch for maximum fun :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DonNYC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Cruises also viewed

Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 
Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to Blue Heron Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing