We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely something you should do when you visit Tobermory.”
Review of Blue Heron Cruises

Blue Heron Cruises
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Tobermory's longest running businesses - Blue Heron Cruises has been operating boat tours through Fathom Five National Marine Park for over 45 years. Cruise through the crystal clear waters of Georgian Bay surrounding Tobermory taking in the vistas that include Big Tub Lighthouse and the Shipwrecks in Big Tub Harbour. Hiking trails, a historic light station, caves and the namesake Sea Stacks are waiting for you to explore on Flowerpot Island. Continuous departures from the bustling Little Tub Harbour daily (Seasonally and weather permitting).
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Definitely something you should do when you visit Tobermory.”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We got on an early ferry (the first one 9:30 AM) to go to Flowerpot Island, on a gorgeous day. We were not disappointed. One thing to keep in mind is that they used a small boat to transfer travellers from the Blue Heron/Great Blue Heron to the island. If you like to leisurely hike and take pictures, give yourself plenty of time to explore the island. We spent about 3 hours on the island, just enjoying the scenery and hiking. Bring a picnic! The staff is super friendly. As one of the travellers already mentioned - the ticket is good for two days (the park staff and the captain told us). Do go to the visitor centre and do the Burnt Loop Trail (if you like hiking).

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank mhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    70
    20
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cruise!”
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Loved this - seeing the shipwrecks from the glass bottom was amazing. You have to go over early enough so you have enough time to fully explore Flower Pot Island....it's stunning....if you dare the chilly waters....take the plunge off the ledge near one of the Flower Pots!

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank LlyanaFielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cruises”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The blue heron staff are very friendly people along with everybody else in Tobermory. They are very calm and nice people, they will wait for you if your late for a cruise or trip, along with many other accommodating things that not many people in our society will do anymore. The boats are very nice, and are very tidy. Especially the great blue heron and its long nose that you can stand on! Overall I love Tobermory and its great people like the Blue Heron Company's employees and for this reason I return every year, keep it up !

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
4 Thank worktooomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Lake, Ontario, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunsets are like no other”
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Blue Heron sunset cruise is a must in Tobermory, it was the best way to experience the fantastic sunsets and one of the only way we could of seen the overhanging cliffs of the Niagra Escarpment.

Helpful?
2 Thank jeff_corner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was great. We went to flower pot...”
Reviewed July 23, 2010

It was great. We went to flower pot island. The glass bottom was a bit overrated but we had a blast. Very beautiful cruise, the shipwrecks were too cool

Helpful?
3 Thank Lodger333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Cruises also viewed

Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 
Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to Blue Heron Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing