We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not good at all”
Review of Cedar Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We actually booked for 2 nights in Cedar Vista Motel,when we got there,it's kind of disappointed , the price is not worth it at all. And as soon as you go inside of the room, there's a horrible smells and the bed is so old, like its been used for over 20 years... So we changed our mind right away,decide to stay only one night instead... I wanted to leave right away,but it's late ,so no more choice for looking for another place to stay..especially in the area which you don't really know about..
Night time it's hard to for asleep, you can hear the people next your room talking and watching TV..anyway,it's not a good place to stay...I won't go back any more...we could not have a good rest all night, next day around 7 am we checked out...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Cedar Vista Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a well maintained budget motel and perfectly located for visiting the charming harbor village of Tobermory. The owner is friendly and generous with information about where to eat and what to see. He even gave us an alarm clock set for the time we'd need to wake up to be sure to make the 7:00 am ferry departure. There are no frills, but if you need a clean, comfortable place to spend the night, this is the best value in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillo131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was there off season.I really didn't think much about the very basic room I was in, although it was clean and everything I needed. As I was talking with the owner, I grew to admire him. He spends his summers in Tobermory and his winters in St Vincent. I went to St Vincent for a month next winter. I loved it. I've been back four times for a month each winter. Next year I'm hoping to spend four months there. It doesn't get many tourists and it has a perfect climate. I love it there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We ran out of options as all the other places were booked. We booked Cedar Vista for one night and didnt expect much. We found the owner, Kevin, very friendly and recommended what to do when to do and where to eat. All these things are important for travelers like us who just want to spend a good weekend.
About the place: It is an old and a bit dated place. The room we stayed in had a TV with remote, AC/Heater and a clean and comfortable bed. This motel is located not too far from the restaurants and harbor. You also get brewed coffee in the morning in the motel office. The things we didnt like were:
1: The standing shower unit is made of tin which makes lot of noise while in use and is little too small. The shower head is at around 6ft height and is 3x3 ft in dimensions. So if you are big size, this is going to be a problem.
2: If other guests are also using water (bathing, washing face etc), you will get cold water and if you are bathing at that time, you will have to jump out of the shower as the water would get cold all of a sudden.

Rest all was good considering the price of room. You will definitely like the owner, Kevin, as he is very friendly and honest man.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Cedar Vista had rooms available as everything else in town was booked...lucky for us. The owner was very gracious and showed us the last two available (Diver's who cancelled at the last minute) and suggested we choose what we wanted. Large room (for 4) with Kitchenette and a bathroom with tub. Somewhat dated but clean, comfortable and well maintained. I can see how it may be noisy during the high season (they are only open then) but that would be no fault of Cedar Vista. Easy walk to town (under 10 minutes) and conveniently located in Hwy. 6. Very good rates.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a Kitchenette, two double beds and tub in the bathroom, table for 4 to sit and play cards...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is an old property, and it has not been updated much, if at all. It must be difficult to own a motel that was built in the 1950's or early 1960's. Kevin is a great guy and is very accommodating. Wifi is in the office, so if you are in a room at the far end, you will not have Wifi service. The beds were okay to fair. The sheets and bedspreads were in good condition, but look very dated. The room was quite clean. The TV was an old 19" tube type, but it did have cable. Kevin's great attitude does not make up for these deficiencies. Minor complaints include: no shampoo, no coffee maker (coffee is available in the office) and strong mildew odor in the room. All of this does not add up to a room that cost $103.00 including tax.

I hate to leave a negative review for such a nice guy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickys-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our base for a three day stay in Tobermory. Housekeeping room was a great value for a family stay, especially if you want/need to be able to prepare some of your own meals while travelling. Room included a refrigerator, toaster, microwave and coffee maker (brewed coffee and tea were also available in the office in the morning), some dishes and use of gas BBQ. Very clean and comfortable. Not fancy, but who wants to stay in the room when the whole Bruce Peninsula is waiting to be explored! :D

As others have said, the owner's are super friendly, knowledgeable about the area and helpful with anything and everything. Forgot the mustard? Just ask.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiker_Dad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tobermory hotels
1.0 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#10 of 12 in Tobermory
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Vista Motel

Address: 7370 6 Hwy, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range: $101 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Vista Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cedar Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Vista Hotel Tobermory
Cedar Vista Motel Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing