We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Tobermory”
Review of Harbourside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbourside Motel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
North York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Tobermory”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at Harbourside Motel over the Victoria long weekend. The location is its best feature, it cannot be beaten- close to shops, restaurants/diners, the boat cruise offices or hiking (near a Park). Our room is clean and has the basics we were looking for- nothing fancy.

Room Tip: Make sure to check the room descriptions - some rooms have A/C or microwaves. Our room (room 27) doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mavandgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronCo, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourside Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Harbourside Motel in beautiful Tobermory. Thank you for leaving a room tip. You are absolutely right - we do have a wide variety of room types that offer many different facilities. You can find room descriptions through our booking engine, or one of the ladies at the front desk would be more than happy to answer any questions, or recommend a room to best suite your needs.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    66
    22
    9
    0
See reviews for
44
77
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

It's a quiet and nice place to stay with great harbour view.
Staffs are really friendly and helpful.
We rented 3 rooms. The room with kitchen was very good and well equipped.
Only problem with some rooms are the wash room. Too small!
Hot and cold water comes in separate tap!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank A A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronCo, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourside Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Harbourside Motel in beautiful Tobermory. When planning for future stays in Tobermory we would be happy to make recommendations as to which of our rooms would best suite your needs. Please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions you may have. Thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Washroom is super super small. Even can not have a regular shower.
Location is ok, but this is a small town, other hotels are just several meter s away. With this price, it's better to pick another motel. Never come back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank atcc198 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronCo, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourside Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the facilities in the room you booked with us. We do have a variety of room types with different facilities available. We would be happy to find you a more suitable room should you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is in a great location with easy access to the ferry system, restaurants had has a great view of the harbour.
On the down side, the toilet had trouble flushing, the shower was small and the room did not come with a coffee maker or a hair dryer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

From the moment we checked in we were very impressed. Very friendly staff, clean rooms, great views and awesome location. We stayed in room 40 which has two double beds, pull out sofa and kitchen. We were impressed that everything we needed to cook with was provided and there was even a BBQ right beside our room provided free of charge. You also receive a ticket when you check in for a discount on the Blue Heron Boat tours which we enjoyed on our second day in the town. A great place to stay close to all attractions and very clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torontolifeforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Perfect for seniors. Clean, humble nice size room. Great to make your own beverage or soup and light style meal, we were tired of pub style eating. Right across the road is a great restaurant for breakfast, lunch or supper. Walk to the Ferry. Walk to the shops right behind the hotel. Sit outside and enjoy watching the boats in the marina coming and going. A highlight of our holiday. Friendly, helpful stay, the best. They will do anything they can to be of service. We were there off season, October so it was quiet, I understand it gets very busy in the summer, making parking challenging therefore this location is even better. Enjoy.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem ok we had room #40 would love to do this again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst travelling around Ontario and although we loved our visit to Tobermory we did have a few issues with this motel.

Yes, the price ($157) was a bit steep but then it was August and we did have a prime location overlooking the water.

Our room (UNIT 38) was easily accessed from a corridor (whose walls were covered with carpet !!) and it did have air con but we didn't in fact need to use it so no idea how efficient it was - it looked as if it came out of some museum ! The furnishings were OK but there was a distinct lack of attention to detail - creased curtains and bed valences, sticky marks on the door, dust on the headboard. There were no coffee making facilities provided which I found very unusual in this day and age although we did get included 4 plastic "throw away" glasses. Mind you, we used these on day one and they were NOT replaced for the next - how cheap can you get !

We were able to walk to all the "must see" attractions in Tobermory with ease including Foodland for grocery shopping and a choice of restaurants. A plus for the motel's location.

We made use of the "buy one get one free" offer for the boat tours offered by the motel - a good perk.

We did have 2 main issues with the motel which we did bring up with the management.

One - the motel was 100% no smoking (another plus) but then they allowed smoking on the balcony running past our room. We had opened our window to let in fresh air rather than having to put on the air con but when the people staying next to us sat virtually outside our room smoking we had to close the window to stop the smell of smoke from getting in. Also this meant that if we wanted to also sit on the balcony to admire the harbourfront view we were subjected to their cigarette smoke if they were also around.

Two - and this again was about the balcony use. The key to our room only worked on the door from the passageway not from the balcony - not an issue - we thought this a good idea as it would mean that the area in from of our room could only be accessed by ourselves - BUT NO !! We found that a large group from another room nearby would come out from their room onto the balcony and with no "excuse me" proceed to clamber around us as we sat eating breakfast so that they could walk down to the waterfront. Not impressed.

To sum up - difficult to beat for location but ...........

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.6 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourside Motel

Property: Harbourside Motel
Address: 24 Carlton Street | Ontario, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tobermory
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located on picturesque Little Tub Harbour. We are the closest motel to the Chi-Cheemaun ferry dock and just steps away from the downtown section of Tobermory. We have thirty-six units with a variety of water views and facilities, including some with kitchenettes. All units have cable TV, electric heat and several have air conditioning. (Please note that only the rooms specified have Air Conditioning.) The Harbourside Motel has several patio areas where you can enjoy watching the hustle and bustle of Little Tub Harbour. Enjoy a picnic under our shade trees or soak up the sun as you lounge in one of the motel's many wooden chairs. Blue Heron Cruises tour boats leave from the same property. Blue Heron Cruises offers glass-bottom and jet boat cruises of the Shipwrecks in Big Tub Harbour and tours though Fathom Five National Marine Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourside Hotel Tobermory
Harbourside Motel Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing