We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovering Scuba - wow!”
Review of Divers Den

Divers Den
Ranked #1 of 8 Shopping in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Markham, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Discovering Scuba - wow!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We wanted to expose our family to scuba with the thoughts of going on exotica underwater vacation to hot climate one day.

Since Tobermory is only 3 hours from home, the draw of the shipwrecks, and the opportunity to try scuba without all of the training we jumped at it. We called them up (in between dives) and they took tons of time walking us through all of the options including great place to stay and eat while visiting. We booked and we were not disappointed. Our instructor was a master diver and gave us clear instruction and orientation, suited up and off we went. They took the time in the water (on top) to walk us through critical things, we went down 6 feet and practiced emergency procedures from clearing masks to changing regulators. My wife (a strong swimmer) had some mental blocks with the regulator and freaked out a few time and surfaced but our instructor was very patient and motivated her to keep trying. She succeeded. We saw 3 shipwrecks (some as deep at 30 feet) in the harbour and the instructor and trainee took photos with our underwater camera. Divers Den was incredible throughout the process. HIGHLY recommend this shop of knowledge and caring folks.

BTW we combined this adventure with a 2-day hiking adventure in the Bruce Peninsula National Park - freakin' awesome but that's another review ;) }

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 27bradj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    27
    8
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Freshwater shipwrecks - fun for all”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our family did a combination of snorkeling and diving while on vacation in the Bruce. Everyone at Divers Den was superb. Linda was super helpful arranging our trip. The staff were patient and helpful getting everyone sized up for wetsuits, and Larry was terrific when we were out on the boat. It is obvious that the folks at Divers Den care about their customers and want everyone to have the best possible experience. Lots of gold stars for Larry. He was patient with everyone on the boat. He and his crew were quick with a helpful word when needed, and never showed impatience or talked down to anyone.

Next time we are in the area we will definitely go out again when Divers Den.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank n2history
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Snorkelling was a good experience.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The ride out was nice. The snorkelling area was in the "big tub," where two shipwrecks are located. It wasn't the most private area. I thought that overall experience was good, but would have been better if we went to more than one location to look at another shipwreck. The water was amazing and the client service was great! Overall great experience! Oh, the equipment was very clean. I think it was a busy day, so they were short on sizes in some of the gear.

It was a bit inconvenient that there was not a washroom facility in the shop and had to walk down the street to the public washroom.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank savvy_traveller175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unforgettable experience.....”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Everyone in the"" Den"", is amazing..
Tracey, is an excelllent Captain,she took excellent care of me and the others.
the guide was excellent as well...however, to me Tracey was the ""BESTEST"".!
I admired the way that Tracey handled my situation by being comforting,assuring and heartfelt.
ill certainly come in again next time up that way.
ill recommend the "" DEN"" to anyone looking for a great,fun adventure.!!!
paul

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank c0pas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly & professional”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

First, young staff at booking and next day helping at the rentals were very friendly and very helpfull. Not their first time...

Nice 4 hour afternoon of diving in 3 different locations to see wrecks. Everything went perfect!

On sites you are instructed on how to easily get to the wreck. Another young but professional staff gets in the water to see that everything goes well without being noticed... or almost.

I felt like I was diving with pros.

Good prices.

See you soon! ;)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank skylight2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Divers Den also viewed

Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to Divers Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing