We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to amaze me ”
Review of Coconut Joe's

Coconut Joe's
Ranked #15 of 23 Restaurants in Tobermory
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

I returned this summer and was floored at the progress Coconut Joe’s has made. This place was bumping with carribean style music from a live band and the staff couldn’t be happier serving landshark a and margaritas. There was quite a line but everyone was sat and could enjoy drinks and music while they waited.

The menu is a little different than last year but definitely improved. It was the year for tacos for my family as we couldn’t get enough of the carne carnival tacos, bubba shrimp tacos and whitefish tacos. There are also mains that are new such as the Rasta pasta (delicious), pad thai (yummy, spicy and served with chopsticks) and the Havana day dreamy sandwich (let me tell you was it ever dreamy).

The owner has thought of everything when it comes to bringing the Caribbean feel to Tobermory. I can not explain the sunset view at this restaurant. It is the icing on the cake.

Kudos to you and your staff. Delicious fresh food which is exactly what Tobermory needed.

Ps I LOVE my Coconut joe hat

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank nissaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 80 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2018

Had dinner last night. The food was average and expensive. Carrots and potatoes with one piece of whitefish no toppings or sauce for $24. Burger was hard and served on a cheap bun from the grocery store. Only a couple options for beers and the crocodile cocktail was horrible. Will not go back.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MiaMacphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

Coconut Joes has a fantastic location on the water. Nice patio but small. For some reason they were not allowing anyone to sit inside even though there was a line of people waiting around dinner time.
The food was alright, but nothing special. Out of 4 of us none where thrilled with our meals. The price was also a little high for the quality/potions.
The burgers come with plain potato chips as a side, and not many of them.
Service was fine but considering there was 3 girls working and only about 10 tables it was a little lacking.
May consider trying it again next summer.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

I can't understand why more people don't know about this place. Our family returned here this past July and the food and service were just as good as remembered. They have fantastic food and great drink choices. Even had excellent options for my vegetarian daughter. Friendly, helpful owner too....great spot overall. Don't overlook this place in favour of plain old fish and chips...the prices are comparable and it's not plain jane.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NLA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

So glad we stumbled upon this place, it's the best place we've eaten in Tobermory so far. It isn't as pricey as some of the other local restaurants and the food was fantastic. Really recommend the tacos here; we ordered a selection and were impressed with every one we tried - whitefish was the favorite though! The curried mussels were great too.

The place has a super relaxed atmosphere and the staff were lovely.
Only criticism is that, like everywhere in Tobermory, drinks are still on the expensive side. We still intend to go back again before our vacation is over to try more of the menu!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank BritcanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Joe's also viewed

 
Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to Coconut Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing