We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish not the freshest”

The Fish & Chip Place
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Tobermory
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: We are located at 24 Bay Street with a great view from both our covered and outdoor patios overlooking the Little Tub Harbour and marina.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The fish and chips here are average. Slightly overcooked on the fish, and not a lot of fish taste too them. Service was slow, even though we came on a weekday and the restaurant only had a few tables for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VinceTrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 376 of 483 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been loyal customer for over 10 years. Earlier this summer we had a bad experience (service related) but decided to try it again in hopes that it was just an off day. We visited the restaurant again on September 2 and had the worst dining experience.

The wait was long (over 10 minutes just to get menus), the waitress was rude, the food was slow (25 minutes for two orders of fish and chips) and came out stone cold with the smallest portions of fish I have ever seen. It was made very clear that we were less important than other customers as they received quick service and food.

Will not give any business to this establishment ever again - which is too bad because we have really liked it in the past.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I went there during the Labour Day weekend this year and it was the worst restaurant experience I have ever had anywhere. The service was slow, the waiter brought someone else's order to our table and did not apologize. Finally complaining to the OWNER of the restaurant about how long we have waited for our food. Not only does the owner not care he had smirk on face and told us we have not waited long and walked away as if customer service was not in his best interest. All around worst service ever and My family and I would not recommend this place to anyone. Many better restaurants in Tobermory!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Passion1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ray b, Owner at The Fish & Chip Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Our policy is to look after every customer as quickly and efficiently as possible. On long weekends, especially Labour Day when most of our staff are returning to university we can sometimes be a little slower. However I as the owner did make a great effort to create a table of 12 for this group and had them out of the line up in less than 10 minutes. Our kitchen puts out food order to table service generally within 20 minutes. On a long weekend depending on your arrival time it could expand to 30-35 minutes. We are a very busy tourist location that works hard to provide prompt and courteous service to our patrons. This year we close our take- out window on long weekends when are table sitting is full so those who are sitting are not further delayed. I do not support complaints from patrons that are not reasonable. If we are responsible we make every effort to correct it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

First of all, if you want to eat here you have to realize that the only type of fish they serve is whitefish and it's cooked with the skin on. If both these things are okay with you, you will love this restaurant. The fish was beautifully done. The fries were great and the view of the harbour is lovely. My husband doesn't like whitefish but didn't mind it at all. Our waiter was very sweet and attentive. I would definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoVoisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a lot of F&C while exploring the Georgian Bay area and this is the best one we liked. The fish is lightly battered, it's not soaked in frying oil like many other places. The portions are generous. The location is great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ibtissem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish & Chip Place also viewed

 
Tobermory, Bruce County
 
Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to The Fish & Chip Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing