We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish and chips”

The Fish & Chip Place
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Tobermory
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: We are located at 24 Bay Street with a great view from both our covered and outdoor patios overlooking the Little Tub Harbour and marina.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I tried fish and chips at both Shipwreck Lee's and The Fish & Chip place and have to say that i thought both the fish and the chips were better at TF&CP, the seating was much better as well although the toonie kids meal at Lee's was a pretty good deal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aloha_Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    142
    117
    47
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kentwood, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“not in love with the food or service”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Service was horrendous, there appeared to be only two on the wait staff, and there were a lot of customers. Then I didn't care for the taste of the fish; chips were ok. View of Tobermory was nice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“beware lake-style fish and chips”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This place may have the best fish and chips in Tobermory (it is the only one we tried) but we hated it, frankly. The problem could well be the fish that is used, which all other places in town also advertise, and that is locally caught so-called "whitefish". As far as I can tell it was some kind of perch, with the skin still on, and more grey than white, that being the dark part of some kinds of fish like salmon that I usually cut out before cooking. Maybe that's some people's favorite part, but between that and the skin, it tasted awful, even though it was not greasy or overly breaded. Give me cod any day!

If you do eat there, stick with the fries, which looked really great. We were trying to be healthy and opted for their "bean salad" which was pretty damn sorry. And the next day, we found it in the deli at the nearby grocery store (not the same exact servings we had left uneaten I hope, but maybe....)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellinguy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pretty tasty. Nice patio. But I wouldn't bother lining up.”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Despite the crowds, we decided we needed to try this place at least once on our five-day trip to Tobermory. It's probably the most popular restaurant in town. They certainly have a great patio, overlooking the harbour. And the fish tacos and calamari we had were pretty tasty. But since it was so busy, service was very slow. Overall, we wouldn't have bothered waiting. But if it's a quiet day - go for it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JasonManikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not worth stopping by”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The fish and chips was decent; overall the food lacked flavour and the fries could have been crispier. Given the price, I would not eat here again. On a positive note they have sufficient ketchup ;)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonNYC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish & Chip Place also viewed

 

Been to The Fish & Chip Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing