We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly people, so-so accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked just one evening here on a recent trip through the area. I had reserved a water-view room for extra cost (totaling about 150.00 including tax). We arrived shortly after a check-in and were given a room on the bottom floor of their two-floor building. We quickly decided the "premium" room was not worth the cost.

Positives: Very welcoming, friendly desk staff (family owned); the room seemed very clean; the general atmosphere of the location was serene and away from the hustle (about 1.25 miles from the village); the adjoining harbor is quite scenic; firm but comfortable bed, hot shower with good PSI.

Not so positive: hard, uncomfortable side chairs and no small table to place drinks /snack while enjoying the view, no holder for an open suitcase, squeaky floors above with every footstep heard below; terrible, thin bed pillows; no hairdryer; no AC (though it appeared that all the non-premium rooms did have AC), a sliding door toward the harbor but with no step-out balcony (one needs to walk down to the lawn below to enjoy the scene), harbor view obscured by trees, outdated CRT TV, no coffee maker (though coffee available in AM at reception), a simplistic push/twist-to-lock door knob that a ten-year old could compromise, no safety lock, and no parking area reserved for guests (in the evening the small lot fills with restaurant patrons). Certainly, these shortcomings are of themselves not deal killers, but taken together, we found the experience to be quite a disappointment for the price.

The adjoining restaurant/pub is owned by the same people and it seemed to do a good business, but I cannot offer much comment here since our schedule did not allow time to eat/drink there. I did notice that a draft beer was expensive ($6.75, I believe). That is quite up there for a Yank, but perhaps in the normal ball park for a Canadian tourist.

Room Tip: I do not recommend the extra expense of a water view room, at least in the two-floor building.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Big Tub Harbour Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent our anniversary in Tobermory. Big Tub Harbour Resort was in a perfect setting on the water with beautiful cottages to look at. The rooms were basic with hard wood floors, but they were clean. There was the Bootlegger Pub attached to it with great and friendly staff. Good entertainment and great food. The patio looked over the water . It was a short walk to the Big Tub Lighthouse with swimming going on. I would recommend this place to everyone planing a trip to Tobermory. Thank you for a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Water side view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12tyeadisappointment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Big Tub is listed here only as a hotel/place to stay. But it should be listed separately as a restaurant/pub. A great outdoor patio overlooking the water and cottages. A super menu and a nice selection of beers on tap. Bravo!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just returned from 4 blissful days at the Big Tub Harbour Resort. We found our room to be newly renovated, meticulously clean, and very quiet and peaceful. The owners were extremely hospitable and friendly, and very knowledgeable about area attractions. The food in the Bootleggers Pub was delicious, and the "Three Men in a Tub" live music on Saturday night was a perfect way to relax after a day of hiking. The location of the resort was perfect, just a short 2 minute drive to town or a 2 minute walk to the Big Tub lighthouse to enjoy the sunset or watch the Chi-Cheemaun come in. The grounds and gardens were beautiful, and perfect for relaxing in a lounge chair to read a book and enjoy the view. We rented AquaBikes, kayaks and Paddle boards for a short ride to view the Big Tub shipwreck. Our new favorite place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

As some of the other reviews have said. Request a room on the top floor. The floors are paper thin. You can hear people walking and can be quite loud and disturbing when you are trying to sleep. The rooms are clean and relatively large given there is no real seating 1 small chair not even a love seat or something. There was no dresser. Our clothes stayed in our suitcases the whole time. There was a cabinet where the TV was but it had no shelving. The staff were definitely nice. It's a family run establishment. Pricing was not the best, far from "downtown". Had to drive in to town or walk for 15-20 min.

Room Tip: Request the top floor!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoGuy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stopped here on our journey further north. The resort is geared to the summer season with marina and outdoors activities. The room was comfortable, clean and with a plesant view of the harbour. It is the first hotel that we've stayed in that had bare hardwood/laminate flooring with no carpets. It did make the room rather noisy. The moment sounds in the room above were somewhat annoying. The bed was also on a platform that made it rather high off the floor. Wouldn't want to fall out of it. The staff are very freindly and helpful and there is the very fine Bootlegger Pub on the premises. Good food, drink and entertainment.
You are only a 5 minute drive from the Tobermory Business Distrct where you can shop, dine and pick up variuos cruises and the ferry.

Room Tip: Request an upper room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Locksley9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in the Tub on the August Long Weekend.
Overall the area is very beautiful, new bathrooms, very nice.
Only problem is with the small fridge and NO MICROWAVE.....
I do understand that the resort is only seasonal however how much is a microwave cost
30$? at Walmart....
We had a baby with us.. so we had to ask the staff to warm up the milk at night which is ok,
but at 4 am... :(( it was a problem for us.
The backyard is very nice, clean, it is very beautiful.

Room Tip: The water view rooms has no A/C. Only the other side.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monca15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tobermory hotels
1.0 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Tub Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Tub Harbour Resort

Address: 236 Big Tub Rd, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range: $152 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Tub Harbour Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Big Tub Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Tub Harbour Hotel Tobermory
Big Tub Harbour Resort Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing