We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break, in the Kent area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Goss Hall Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Ash B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Relaxing break, in the Kent area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is our 2nd visit at Goss Hall. Once again: excellent stay. Lovely sunny weekend in July, and we could really relax after a shopping day in Canterbury. Look at the pictures on TripAdvisor: the owners have now arranged a nice relxing area, a wooden terrace overlooking the pound .... so nice and relaxing. Room .... just brilliant. Breakfast too. And once again: thank you Maggie for your warm welcome. We immediately felt "at home". In the evening: good pub food in Sandwich once, and then in Canterbury. We recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leticia2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
153
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I have just returned home from a superb three day stay at Goss Hall and I whole-heartedly recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in the area around Ash, Kent. Goss Hall was easy to find and is situated in a good location for sightseeing in Sandwich/Deal area.

First impressions on arrival were that we had made a good choice here. The Georgian Manor House set in a rural location looked well kept and just as impressive as the photographs posted on the website had suggested.

On entering the house we found it to be spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, and we were warmly welcomed by Maggie who instantly made us feel at home.

We stayed in the Harlequin Room and were absolutely delighted with the set-up – a lovely bedroom/lounge with comfy sofa and Sky TV (this delighted my husband as he was able to watch some of the Ashes Test match). The large light and airy en-suite (bath not shower) had access to a small patio area which overlooked the grounds and the pretty duck pond.

The decking area set at one end of the pond provided a peaceful place in which to sit and read or observe the wildlife. I was particularly enamoured with the antics of a family of ducklings which had only just been hatched.

The breakfasts were a delight. Choices of fruit, cereals and yogurts and Danish pastries as well as delicious full English served with fresh newly laid eggs from their own hens. Absolutely scrummy!

Maggie recommended the Kings Arms in Sandwich only 5 minutes drive from Goss Hall for our evening meals, and again we were not disappointed. Good food and atmosphere as well as easy parking.

I can honestly say this was the best UK B&B my husband and I have stayed in and was a pleasant place in which to spend our 51st wedding anniversary.

I can definitely recommend Goss Hall and hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have just spent two nights at Goss Hall and I would of loved to stayed longer in this beautiful house. The room was so tastefully decorated as is the rest of the house. Everything was spotlessly clean, the welcome was warm and friendly and nothing was a problem. There was plenty of choice at breakfast which was fresh and delicious . I would highly recommend a stay hare. I can't wait to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed two nights and enjoyed every relaxing minute. We were warmly greeted on arrival and then shown to our room which was exquisite. It was a beautiful georgian style rooom in a georgian farmhouse. The room was tastefully decorated and furnished and so comfortable. Our bathroom was spacious and the whole house was spotlessly clean. The extensive lawns and small lake added to the tranquillity of the place. There was a choice of "breakfasts". I can thoroughly recommend the full English cooked breakfast , it was delicious. Maggie was a charming host and she invited us to look at the other empty rooms on the morning we left and we could see that each was beautifully appointed in a similar georgian style. A superb B&B in every respect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenerBill64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is quite simply one of the best B&Bs which we have found. We had a lovely weekend here and would heartily recommend it. As well as the large comfortable room overlooking the countryside, we enjoyed sitting on their decking by the lake and having a quiet read of the newspapers in the sun, watching the ducks and listening to the birds - glorious.
The breakfast is freshly cooked and there is lots of choice. The hosts are very friendly, helpful and provide a superb service.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Goss Hall is a lovely, peaceful, hospitable place to stay. We used it as a launching place both for a rural wedding south of Deal, and for accessing the celebrated golf courses in Sandwich and Deal. We had a very large bedroom, overlooking expansive gardens and grass, and the breakfast was the finest we experienced during 3 weeks in the UK - not only very extensive offerings, but beautifully cooked and presented. Maggie was the perfect hostess. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDFJun11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret a, Owner at Goss Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of which I very much appreciate. Tripadvisor is very important to small businesses like Goss Hall and your review will believe me make a difference. Thank you once again for taking the time to post the review. I hope you will come back and stay with us in the future if you are in this area.

Kind regards

Margaret Ackrill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay at Goss Hall. The farmhouse was lovely and our room with it's own terrace overlooking the river was charming. Maggie and Steve were very welcoming and the breakfast was superb, fresh fruit, cereals all followed by choice of cooked breakfast and plenty of it. Highly recommended if you are visiting this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdavis2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ash
2.0 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
6.5 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
1.8 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
8.2 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goss Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goss Hall Bed & Breakfast

Property: Goss Hall Bed & Breakfast
Address: Goss Hall Lane, Ash, Sandwich CT3 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich > Ash
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Goss Hall Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goss Hall Bed & Breakfast Ash, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing