We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and expensive for what it is”
Review of Club Med Napitia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Napitia
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Pizzo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing and expensive for what it is”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The food is very average and certainly disappointing for a Club Med. The staff are unpleasant and lasy. The hotel is old and poorly maintained. There are not enough table outside the bar and the inside is not cozy. Animation last June was very limited. Of course, the village was full of families with small kids, which can explain. There was a private company taking on most of the tennis courts disallowing GM to play. The guest for this private party (old rich italiens) were given special table, arrangements and service while being very rude. The drink selection was very limited. After several great experiences in the Village of otranto, closed now, this was VERY Disappointing and did not make the CM standrards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Leconcombre2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    685
    290
    141
    61
See reviews for
1,098
180
49
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was our 1st Club Med holiday with 2.5yr old twins and we had a great time. We found it easy to stay and get around the village without the need to venture outside of it. There were enough activities to keep the kids busy (we didn't opt for the Petite Club, which wasn't a problem as we spent most days at the pool/beach). Although the buffet restaurants provided enough variety for lunch/dinner, we really enjoyed the bar/restaurant on the beachfront which was less busy and a far nicer experience to eat. The evening activities were good for the kids especially the dancing in the square before the shows. Our room was clean and the location quiet - we were in a Club Bungalow on the 2nd floor (would really recommend it as ours had a mezzanine room which made the accommodation feel larger) furthest away from the main square. Overall, yes would recommend and would be happy to go back again, especially as the kids were happy and enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N19London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Last summer holliday i stayed one week in this hotel. We had a nice and comfortable room. there is a range of activities: you can play tennis, ping-pong, beach volley, you can also sailing. the beach is very large and it's relatively calm if you want to sleep. every evening there are shows who were funny and entertaining. the hotel is surrounded by a large forest and mountains, the scenery is very nice. one of the tree restaurants is very good situated and it's very pleasant to eat outside. the food is not so varied but i'm not difficult and i enjoyed it. the negative point is that the hotel is far from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a nice quiet room yet near the pool and restaurant. The club is surrounded by beautiful gardens with amazing plants and trees. Our little girl of 3 really enjoyed the Petit Club as well as the typical Med shows and activities and overall safety for kids was pretty good... The club has a typical nostalgic Italian feeling, beach and food and staff are as always very nice! Go a bit at the end of the season or there will too big a crowd. Also rent a car and discover the area instead of taking expensive tours that are either too short or too long! Enjoyed that old fashioned vacation feeling!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argentina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were 4, my husband, 2,5 years old daughter and 4 months baby. They gave us 2 separate rooms!!!!. One for the babies and other for my husband and me. This option was impossible so we got 2 cots. We slept very bad all week because we were uncomfortable.
They didn't apologise, they did nothing to give us another room and they didn't show any interest of it.
When we did the hotel booking they asked us a lot of question about the family and ages, but they didn't use this information to give the correct room.
The hotel needs some refresh and painting, it has an 80's style.
The outdoor is really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fran34Argentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd Club Med visit. The main disadvantage in this club is the size. The two dinning rooms were too crowded, so it was impossible to enjoy the meal although the food is definitely pretty good. The GO team was too big, so they have not tried to integrate with the visitors. I do not recommend this club.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Yaron I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent 1 week here with 2 toddlers, mid september. It is our 4th CM experience with our kids and the 1st time in Napitia. We had a great time, but we do have some negative feedback also.
Let's start negative and end positive:

- a part if our holiday took place in the last week of the season this CM was opened. They started shutting down already, for example closing the beach restaurant and the second restaurant in the village. This gives an already goodbye feeling, while we paid for all the facilties and had no idea before the closing already starts while there are still guests. Why not wait 1 more week until all guests left??! If I knew, I would have booked a bit earlier.
- maybe it had to do with the upcoming closing, but in general the GO's were less smiley, present, interested, personal and enthusiastic than we are used to in Club Med. Of course some exceptions were there like Luigi from the Petit Club.
- the room was clean and spacious and ideal with children, (2 connecting separate rooms), but really needed a renovation. Broken electricity points, a small and poor working partly broken shower with hot and cold changing all the time, actually the whole bathroom needed a renovation.
- the public places expecially the public restrooms were really outdated, broken and not very clean. many locks were broken and it was really not nice going there.
- bar staff not very kind, some were ok but in general they were not very polite

positive:
- we love the fact that there were many families like ours with little children so we felt at home
- the CM spirit was there, the athmosphere was good also between the guests
- problems we brought up were solved immediately
- petit and baby club were oke!
- beach and village in general very pleasant
- food was good!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, stay far away from the central bar and restaurant as party and music last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pizzo
5.2 mi away
Piccolo Grand Hotel
Piccolo Grand Hotel
#1 of 11 in Pizzo
201 reviews
14.9 mi away
BV Borgo del Principe
BV Borgo del Principe
#1 of 11 in Zambrone
488 reviews
23.0 mi away
Villaggio Club Baia del Sole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 21 in Tropea
451 reviews
23.5 mi away
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
#2 of 9 in San Nicolo
243 reviews
3.3 mi away
Popilia Country Resort
Popilia Country Resort
#1 of 1 in Maierato
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Napitia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Napitia

Property: Club Med Napitia
Address: Contrada Difesa, 89812 Pizzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Pizzo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pizzo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pizzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Napitia 3*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calabria, has its own authentic charm and delightful beaches. Embedded in an enclave of bougainvilleas and exotic plants, the hotel and bungalows in the Club Med Village of Napitia are distributed over 20 hectares of luxurious flower gardens bordered by a forest of pine and eucalyptus trees. Follow the path down through the sweet-smelling pine forest to the beach. Inspired by la dolce vita, you can choose to dedicate yourself to sports or to discover the joys of taking it easy the Italian way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Napitia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Napitia Hotel Pizzo
Club Med Pizzo
Napitia Club Med
Club Med Calabria
Calabria Club Med
Club Med Napitia Italy/Pizzo, Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing