We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nifty Napitia”
Review of Club Med Napitia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Napitia
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pizzo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 14, 2013

holidayed at Club Med Napitia between 1st and 8th June, with my mother and had a lovely stay. This was my first Club Med holiday in around six years, after holidaying with alternative tour operators like Thomas Cook.

I always remembered Club Med to be a high class AI with fantastic staff, good quality food, drink and equipment, however I feel during my absence of holidaying with them, their standards have slipped and is now on par or perhaps dipping slightly lower than some of the 4/5* options Thomas Cook and rivals offer around the world at a more attractive price.
We arrived in Napitia late at night, during a particularly heavy storm, the staff were quick and efficient, and despite having to lug our paraphernalia through torrential rain bags arrived smoothly.

Upon check in we discovered that Club Med have now brought in a 5euro deposit for towels hire, (apparently people were stealing towels?!) which is a slight annoyance, so be prepared to have to keep a constant eye on your towel now, now there is a price on them, it makes them even more valuable!...bear in mind these towels don’t even say ‘Club Med’ on them, they’re thread bare and bogey coloured.

Overall the stay was fantastic, however will discuss the negatives to begin with;

BAR: - They had only one member of staff serving a busy bar most of the time we were there, but let me explain, there were perhaps 3 people working on the bar, but the other two would avoid eye contact with anyone, but instead stack shelves with glasses etc, - this is not the usual exceptional Club Med service!...and this didn’t happen just once, this was daily and the most bothersome. Emmanuel at the bar usually remained calm (and may I add his English was incredible!) however there was one girl, who’s name I’ve forgotten was incredibly rude, and sarcastic, she wasn’t trying to be funny, she was purposely trying to be insulting and impolite. She also worked there last year, apparently. She behaved as if she was doing the guests a favour, if it was my bar, she wouldn’t be working there.

Staff were great when it was quiet, however soon as there was bit of pressure, all high rep Club Med service went out of the window.

Coffee machine at side of bar is horrific, do not use it. Coffee in general isn’t great anyway, and for Italy this is surprising.

Food- was okay, not brilliant, few nice things popped up, Pasta and Pizza were both terrible to say you were in Italy.

Pillows in the room were hard and lumpy which was irritating.

Pools were heart-stoppingly cold, but warmed up towards the end of the week.

As the week came to a close a large tennis event arrived, which brought hundreds of local Italian children to the resort. The service became worse, there weren’t enough staff to handle the event. The restaurant became rammed, both pools were heaving and the resort turned from a tranquil and peaceful site to busy and bustling.

The good bits were, the weather, - brilliant, too hot by the pool, but perfect temperature at the beach where there was a refreshing breeze.

Lovely gardens, there was a Jasmine plant which smelt unimaginably delightful. The gardeners must work very hard, however there is a lot of rain to keep things green!

We ate with a few of the staff during the week stay, Angela (from Manchester) was lovely, she worked in the Mini Club, and Sara from the Spa. We also ate with a sweet girl called Sylvia, something told us she wasn’t 100% happy working there though, we witnessed some slight bullying, however this was from another holiday maker.

I would travel back to this resort, but I feel that you can get a lot more for your money, whether it be service, food, drink or room comfort, travelling with alternative Tour Operators during this economic climate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 2,073 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Second visit to this village at exactly the same time of year. It's still good, very good, but Club Med used to be excellent at the all inclusive holiday (they were the pioneers) and now I can see signs of cost saving.
Firstly the bar staff were under so much pressure and complained to us that they just didn't have enough staff to manage. On more than one occasion non bar staff had to come and help out.
The food although plentiful and highly enjoyable was not quite up to the same standard as Club Med used to be. This did not affect our holiday at all- it was just something I noticed.

Our hotel room was clean and a good size but there weren't enough useable hangers in the wardrobe- just a minor irritation but nevertheless noticed. It was also noisy- high heels from upstairs clattering around and babies crying.

In the old days Club Med would have a few current films broadcast through a special channel on the TV- they've gone too. Again, it didn't affect our holiday, but noticed just the same.

All in all we had a lovely time but it just doesn't feel like an upmarket holiday anymore. And this shows in some of the clientele too.

Sorry Club Med but you used to be so much better.

Room Tip: Very noisy rooms located on the border with next hotel- we could never sleep before midnight due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ethy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

.After a great week in Sep we all returned at the end of May.The weather was warm but a bit windy but much better than UK. Had a fantastic week once again. All of the staff were so friendly and very helpful and had lots of fun. We flew from Lon City Airport and it was Stress free.Lots more English people this time which made a change at any Club Med that we have visited. The kids enjoyed the nightly shows but the Adults chose the BAR!!!The food was good but we missed the Italian not being open as the Club was not full! The upside was no waiting at the bar for drinks,the sunbeds were still available after 10am around the pool and if you got to the beach after 9.30am you could still get a sunbed. Hammocks in the forest were nice and relaxing and were always available. Would definetely return again for the May Half-term

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieN2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A return visit for us and another fantastic week. English family of 5 with 3 children 2 in mini club and one in petit club. We all had a wonderful holiday. Club itself is clean and well kept, the GO's were all lovely and friendly. Food very good. We stayed in a family bungalow this year - We were further away from the hub last year and I was worried it would be too noisy but it wasn't at all. The whole place is very carefully designed so no problems with loud music etc. Evening shows were entertaining and enjoyed by all of us, particularly the toddler - the kids slept brilliantly and total bliss of a proper holiday we had to wake them each morning for breakfast so we felt properly rested. (Unlike the other 51 weeks of the year!) Petit Club was great with a special mention for the fantastic Luigi who our 2 yr old loved, he was so friendly and engaging and made him feel very secure and also a mention for Giovanni in Mini Club who our 2 older kids loved - very friendly and good fun. The GO's all seemed to speak better English this year. Pools lovely - we stuck with the one further from the bar as it is better for toddlers, beach lovely, hammocks great, rooms very clean and tidy/ cleaned daily to good standard. Shower was amazing! Chef de village very friendly and amusing in the shows, kids still chatting about his performances. Thoroughly recommended, already looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whizzylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time in club med napitia ( last time was 3 years ago) and if we could we would have extended our holiday for a few more days!
Staff is AMAZING, fantastic food, rooms and the club are so clean.
The kids club GO just amazing, always smiling, daniel the chef de vilage so caring and answering every question, you can always see him arround taking care of things in the vilage. For those who LOVE pools, sea, great food and atmosphire, with lots of activities offered, this is the place for you! We had the best time ever! RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Familylondonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Evening show goes on till 11pm with shouting on microphones that emanates throughout your bedroom. Then to top it off there's a nightclub afterwards.

I love to party, am only late 30s and going dancing all the time, but only when I know my kids 7 & 5 are asleep and not going to be grumpy and tired the next day. Unfortunately this is not a place to go with young kids who need their sleep.

Otherwise it's a nice resort. But personally I love my kids and don't want to inflict this kind of tiredness on them again.

I met a girl who is a consultant who works with Club Med in England, where they were trying to work out why they're UK uptake of Club Med had dropped off so much. Personally I think it's cause English people who have families want a rest on holiday and want the same for their children. Club Med thinks of the parents fun not the children's well being, whereas Mark Warner (a better holiday) thinks the other way around and a happy, easy, child keeps the parent happy and relaxed. Mark Warner has all the fun without the screaming show till 11pm and then the nightclub till 1am, booming into your kids room!

Another tip. Book your own flights via Ryanair. The Club Med cost for a family of 4 would have been £4500 all in. Without their transport the cost of the resort was only £1600. With Ryanair flights we saved £2000.

Room Tip: Ask for as far away from the Theatre as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cove2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just back from an early summer break at Napitia.
Standard Club Med formula, with very good food, adequate wine, excellent Peroni on tap, prosecco at the bar. First class barista's. excellent swimming pools. Beautiful forest, wild deserted sandy beach & excellent beach bar / restaurant.
Very little english spoken, so brush up on your "bonjours" & "boungiorno's" before you go, you will get much better service.
All in all excellent value for money

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laurencemitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pizzo
5.2 mi away
Piccolo Grand Hotel
Piccolo Grand Hotel
#1 of 10 in Pizzo
223 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Marinella
Hotel Marinella
#6 of 10 in Pizzo
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto Ada Village - TH Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Esperia
Grand Hotel Esperia
#7 of 10 in Pizzo
65 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valtur Garden Calabria
Valtur Garden Calabria
#2 of 2 in Acconia
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pizzo Calabro resort
Pizzo Calabro resort
#4 of 10 in Pizzo
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Napitia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Napitia

Address: Contrada Difesa, 89812 Pizzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Pizzo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pizzo
Price Range: $284 - $677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Napitia 3*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calabria, has its own authentic charm and delightful beaches. Embedded in an enclave of bougainvilleas and exotic plants, the hotel and bungalows in the Club Med Village of Napitia are distributed over 20 hectares of luxurious flower gardens bordered by a forest of pine and eucalyptus trees. Follow the path down through the sweet-smelling pine forest to the beach. Inspired by la dolce vita, you can choose to dedicate yourself to sports or to discover the joys of taking it easy the Italian way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Napitia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Napitia Hotel Pizzo
Club Med Pizzo
Napitia Club Med
Club Med Calabria
Calabria Club Med
Club Med Napitia Italy/Pizzo, Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing