We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Piccolo Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pizzo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I can't really add anything to the other reviews here. Of all the hotels we stayed in during our 2-week trip to Italy, this one really stood out. The owners have obviously put a lot of thought into every aspect of the place and it shows in the attention to detail when it comes to the quality and comfort of the room, the decor, the little design features, the service and the breakfast.
Go and order a drink from the bar and ask the charming staff to bring it up to the terrace so you can sit and watch the sunset while you enjoy it...it doesn't get much better than that.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank academictourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, Il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Grazie. the quality of services we offer our guests have made our Piccolo Grand Hotel one of the best know in town. we will always do everything possible to improve us. thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
114
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is a great hotel in the small seaside town of Pizzo. The rooms, staff, breakfast were all excellent and the hotel represented excellent value for money for the quality received. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the beach. Pizzo can be a little difficult to get to (4 hours south of Naples) but the journey is well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Grazie. Calabria has a good position between Sicily and Campania and of course PizzoTypically small town is located in a perfect position. thank you for the trust you have placed in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed just 1 night at Piccolo Grand hotel on our way to Matera from Sicily. We were expecting it to be nice from all the reviews we had read but in reality it was much better! It felt bright, fresh and funky and very relaxed. The guest terrace is a lovely spot and we enjoyed an evening drink up there while enjoying the gorgeous sea view. Breakfast is also served there.
The location was within a very easy walking distance from the main piazza and we found parking a bit further beyond there. The hotel has a very handy buggy service so they ferried our luggage to and from the car which was very handy.
Unfortunately on the morning of our departure there was no power due to work in the area so we didn't get much in the way of breakfast which was a pity. We ducked around to the piazza for a much-needed coffee before setting off for the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Grazie for choosing Pizzo for your holidays. We apologize for the inconvenience about breakfast but it's not depend of us. Next time you receive twice :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

with no booking and after a 4-5 hour drive we ended up in Pizzo at 8pm and somehow found this amazing hotel. Our mood went from exhaustion to excitement. Hotel is clean with a great design and probably the best shower

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamRahmanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
and the winner is:........holiday in Pizzo. Thank you very much for coming and for your nice words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Although we were prepared for a really positive experience by other reviews, it took us a while to come to terms with how wonderful this little hotel really is. Architecture, interior design and amazing staff make for a truly exceptional holiday experience, at the end of which you will be faced with two problems: 1) you really truly do not want to leave; 2) it is VERY likely that, no matter how well and frequently travelled you are, you will struggle to find anything that compares to Il Piccolo Grande. We can't wait to come back. Graze a Cala, Sandra, Vincenza, Gustavo e gli altri. Siete meravigliose!!

Room Tip: We stayed in both 9 and 10 - totally amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Buongiorno e buona domenica. Thank you very much for your kind words and experience with us. It wasn't hard to understand that your departure with us was hard as you had extended your stay. It was great to have you with us and hope to see soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My wife and I travelled to Calabria to visit the birth towns of my parents and we wanted to stay at a seaside town. We chose Pizzo. After looking at reviews on trip advisor we settled on Piccolo Grande hotel as it was getting rave reviews and the photos looked great. All we can say is the photos don't do the place justice. It is an amazing little hotel with great staff to attend to all your needs. Meticulously clean and modern rooms.We stayed on the top floor with doors opening to a small balcony with beautiful sea views. Breakfast on the terrace is a highlight with the lovely Carla making us bacon and eggs on top of the traditional breakie buffet. Nicolette answered all our local travel queries with great enthusiasm. They even hired us a small car so we could get to my parents towns. If you are travelling to Calabria we highly recommend Piccolo Grande.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieFrank2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
we are pleased that you have chosen our hotel for your Calabria holidays. We hope also we have left a good memory of the land of your parents :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Piccolo Grand Hotel, Pizzo, Italy, is one of the jewels of southern Italy. Located a block from the town square, the facility is new and is kept exceptionally clean and the staff goes above and beyond to tend to your every need. Enjoy a private dinner on the roof top or walk 3-4 minutes to shop or eat in town. Nice views of the Mediterranean! If you stay for a week, they have several wonderful suites with kitchens that overlook the ocean and have great sun terraces. To get to Pizzo, it is a quick 20 minute train ride on a local train from Lamezia or jump in a taxi and within 25 minutes you are enjoying a "welcome to Pizzo" drink in the bar.

Room Tip: Don't let the train station sell you a ticket to Vibo-Pizzo. Buy a ticket from Lamezia to Pizzo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayhawkfromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you. As eco friendly hotel it is a pleasure for us to help the guest if they choose to travel with train. with our electric car we take the luggage and help to buy tickets once in Pizzo.
tanti saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pizzo
15.3 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#2 of 21 in Tropea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
10.7 mi away
BV Borgo del Principe
BV Borgo del Principe
#1 of 11 in Zambrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 13 in Parghelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Hotel  La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#1 of 19 in Capo Vaticano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
2.8 mi away
Popilia Country Resort
Popilia Country Resort
#1 of 1 in Maierato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
5.0 mi away
VOI Pizzo Calabro resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Grand Hotel

Property: Piccolo Grand Hotel
Address: Via Chiaravalloti 32, 89812 Pizzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Pizzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pizzo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pizzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Piccolo Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Piccolo Grand Hotel, located in the heart of Pizzo Calabro, is a four star hotel, small but elegant, consisting of 9 spacious rooms with balcony or terrace, including eight doubles and one suite. Comfortable and quiet , are all equipped with bath or shower, Flat TV, safe, direct dial telephone, free internet access. To enjoy the view and the fresh morning air, if time permits, we serve each morning a rich buffet breakfast on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Piccolo Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Grand Hotel Italy/Pizzo, Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing