We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOLIDAY EVER!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Esperia
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Pizzo
lakes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC HOLIDAY EVER!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This Hotel was very friendly great food all home grown produce all grown on the land around with a back drop of mountains and sea, private beach no tourists high rise buildings to spoil any views. I could run along the deserted beaches every morning all very clean!
The Hotel owner and family run this amazing Hotel and tender care to all your personal needs, I rate the food top class and the swimming pool very clean with surrounding garden Bananas peach's apples. This Hotel caters for Weddings and the wedding I attended was just Fantastic! So much beautiful Food and Sweet delights, The Wine all produced Locally, I will visit very soon again and have no fear to travel either solo or with friends, Thank you So much for your warm welcome!

Room Tip: all rooms have Balcony, some rooms face pool some are sea facing but all are quiet, and have a lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    5
    7
    16
See reviews for
23
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Loved this place, we stayed for 5 days and found ourselves the only guests due to being out of season. The owners could not do enough for us despite the language barrier we speak no Italian andy they no English .
we had a perfect break.
the breakfast was prepared fresh for us each morning ready whatever time we specified the evening before and the fresh produce was incredible.
We will be back hopefully when it's a bit warmer
Thanks again x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephanieNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This hotel was reported a 4 star....it was 1 star only because it provided you with a bedroom. Constant fish smell in the hallway. Sewage problems. No water pressure and no hot water for showers. Tiles and drywall falling apart in the hallway.

Bird poo on balconies were never ever cleaned up. Free sauna due to no air conditioning in some rooms. Not allowed to make long distance calls without being activated on a minute by minute basis.

Breakfast were for the birds. Minimal breakfast variety. Just horrible. More variety when they offered left overs from the night before.

Rudeness from owners accusing local friends of taking business away from the hotel. NO WONDER!!!

SERVICE WAS BELOW BELOW PAR!!!!

The hotel was convenient to the beach, but the walk to the beach meant "walk at your risk".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pizzo hotels

Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel looks nice on the outside. During our vacation, we reviewed other hotels, would go to Hotel 501 in Vibo instead. For the price it is not worth it.

All I can say is my whole entire family was very disappointed. The services in this hotel are horrible. No air conditioning in the hallways, no extra pillows were allowed, no irons were available, no towels for the beach for available. Breakfasts were poor. Not worth going to breakfast. Maids came knocking on your room at 9 in the morning. Choose something else!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pizzo
1.7 mi away
Hotel Marinella
Hotel Marinella
#7 of 11 in Pizzo
102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Piccolo Grand Hotel
Piccolo Grand Hotel
#1 of 11 in Pizzo
212 reviews
3.8 mi away
Porto Ada Village - TH Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Muraglie
Hotel Muraglie
#1 of 9 in Vibo Valentia
94 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pizzo Calabro resort
Pizzo Calabro resort
#3 of 11 in Pizzo
624 reviews
1.8 mi away
Popilia Country Resort
Popilia Country Resort
#1 of 1 in Maierato
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Esperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Esperia

Property: Grand Hotel Esperia
Address: Via Prangi | c/da Piedigrotta, 89812 Pizzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Pizzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pizzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Esperia 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel surrounded by greenery is located at the heart of the magnificent Gulf of St. Euphemia in Calabria in the beautiful town of Pizzo Calabro. The privileged location allows, From the balcony of the rooms, solarium by the pool and the patio of the restaurant, to enjoy a panoramic view of the sea and Stromboli which, especially in the evening, offer spectacular and unforgettable sunsets. The hotel has 61 rooms and 4 two rooms, two reception rooms, lobby, bar, pool bar, salons banquets for up to 500 air-conditioned restaurant with excellent food, continental breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner with table service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Esperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Esperia Italy/Pizzo, Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing