We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Alp, St Martin de Bellville ........MF”
Review of Alp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alp Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Alp, St Martin de Bellville ........MF”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We visited the Hotel Alp as a family of four, sharing two double/twin, but small, attic rooms, having travelled via Thomsons Airlines on a Crystal ski holiday package. The transfer from Chambery airport took just under 2 hours by coach, a largely motorway journey, with the last 40 minutes or so on the mountain roads - very uneventful.
The first thing you notice about the hotel is its excellent location, just 50 metres from the only gondola lift out of St Martin, and very close to the big name ski hire shops, a small supermarket, other bars and restaurants and a few little shops which caught my eye, if not my attention. The building is pleasant to look at and very welcoming. Reception is small but the bar and restaurant area open out with great uninterrupted views of the surrounding mountains which is spectacular to say the least.
All the staff at the hotel made us feel welcome and were obliging and lovely in every way throughout our stay. You simply could not find better. Apparently the hotel attracts a lot of Belgian tourists and is owned and managed by people of Belgian origin - but as Brits abroad that was of no consequence to us. To us the hotel looked and felt French, polite, warming, inviting, engaging, and in every way a happy holiday experience.
Food was typically French (I think) and excellent. The dinner menu is published for the week and displayed clearly in the lift and around the hotel, albeit in French. However, staff would happily translate if you needed that, but we could usually make an attempt at translation with only one or two minor shocks. If you wanted something other than the 'plate de jour', you could request that, but we were happy and not disappointed to stay with the daily offerings. Without exception, they were all excellent. Breakfast was a typical English or Continental affair - perfectly adequate.
Ski storage was good, and safe. Easily and safely accessible from the ground floor. Very short walk to the gondola and ski all the way back without challenge. Just take your skis off and walk into the building. It don't get better than that!
Overall the hotel is very clean and tidy, has a great hotel atmosphere, and does the job you want it to do when on a ski holiday. The only down side to us was the size of the rooms. The attic rooms are small, particularly the bathrooms which are something like the prefab type affairs you get in Hotel Premier Class establishments. But they are adequate, deliver ample hot water, and providing you are not too proud, they do the job. I am glad however I was sharing with my wife and not a friend - two blokes sharing a room and facilities of this size would have been far too intimate for comfort in my view.
Would we go to the hotel again on the same basis? Definitely! We had a fantastic time.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms are very small with even smaller bathrooms, so try to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MF640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    26
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night but had quite a bit of interaction with the staff before and after our stay and they were fantastic-Chloe in particular! We booked their smallest rooms but they very kindly upgraded us to standard as they were available when we stayed. We ate lunch one day which was excellent, and breakfast equally good-varied, good quality food, great selection. After our stay we realised our son had forgotten his beloved cuddly toy,and Chloe was excellent in trying to track it down. She eventually did so (it had taken a trip to the laundrette with the linen!), and offered to post it back to us immediately. Overall it was so child friendly, and with excellent service. A really friendly hotel, great for families, and fantastic location right beside the telecabine. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscerningUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A very friendly hotel right next to the beginners area & lift system that soon has you in the midst of the Three Valleys ski area. The hotel is very French but manages to deal very well with the English. Food is of a reasonable standard & is very varied. The rooms are a little on the small size but adequate & clean. The position of the hotel is very convenient for ski in/out although a bit of a walk to the local village which you have to go down/up 107 steps. Would I go back – yes?

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are smaller. However, there is easy access to the boot room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at the Alp Hotel in 3 Valley's this year for our Yearly Ski Trip. Was not disappointed the location was fantastic, only a few yards to the Gondola which takes you into the heart of the Fantastic 3 Valley's ski area. The Hotel was just great. The Common area's and restaurant where very welcomining as where the staff. There was three of us and we had great clean and very practical rooms, Manager put us together as a courtesy and was ver attentive to our needs. The Hotel has a suana which was a good addition to the servics provided. Rooms have plenty of Storage space and ours both looked out to the slopes and had a great balcony to do a bit of people and slope watching !The Manager and her Staff could not have been more helpful. Being Scottish, the wonderful French food , as we have known for a while, is not always to our taste. HOWEVER, this was picked up on very quickly and the courtesy of choice was extended to us throughout the week. Breakfast was just as we like it offering both hot and cold buffet with Scrambled Egg and Bacon. Just the ticket before a long day on the slopes. Apres Ski was also very good. Bar atmosphere and the Staff's interest and advice on how our Ski week was going, very welcome. Would most definetly RETURN. 5 Star service and facilities and Freindly Staff. If I had to add one thing out of selfishness and maybe for us Brits, a choice of more than just the Plate de Jour on the Half Board would be the icing on the cake. The French love their food and I love them for that , and this Hotel has a winning formula ! :)

Room Tip: Standard rooms are just right. Slope Facing suited us, opposite side still had great views. Its the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeDeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the 3 Valleys having previously stayed in Val Thorens with our family. My wife and I decided to stay in St Martin this time rather than one of the larger, purpose built villages and we weren't disappointed.

The hotel is in a great location at the top of the village opposite the St martin1 gondola and near two good ski hire shops and the lift pass office. We were able to ski back to the hotel every day in the first week in March. Although the village is lower than Les Menuires or Val Thorens the snow seemed to hold up well and the heaviest snow conditions we found were actually above Les Menuires on a sunny afternoon.

The ski runs above St Martin were better than we expected with great end of day runs back to the village from Tougnette, Roc des 3 Marches or the top of Becca.

The hotel room was fairly basic (as most ski hotels/apartments are) but quite spacious and with great views over the valley. We were staying on a half-board basis and had a superb 4 course meal every evening with lots of variety throughout the week. Buffet breakfast was excellent and made for a good start to the day.

As always, the difference between a very good hotel and an OK one is the quality of the staff and service and the Alp'hotel excelled in this respect. All the staff (reception, bar/restaurant and cleaning) were extremely friendly and helpful and were very understanding of our extremely limited French!

I would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We chose a 'Confort' room which is bit bigger than standard. Located on the 3rd floor with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 325JohnC325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Perfectly placed for easy access to the slopes of the Trois Vallees. We found the Alp Hotel to be very comfortable with outstanding food. We had a "Comfort" room which was a good size with plenty of storage, essential on a ski holiday, together with a nice view over the mountains. The room was quiet although the hotel was not full at the time of our stay. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for a week over NY 2012/13 as a couple. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the gondola and ski school which means there is no faffing about to get going each day.

Room: we paid extra for a standard room with balcony. What we got was a downstairs room with doors out to the garden with table and chairs which was fine. All I wanted was to be able to get outside as I am claustrophobic. The room was v warm so we had to switchable the radiators off in order not to overheat, however if we needed to dry mittens etc after being on the slopes then they soon dried everything off. The bathroom is small but the shower is good and hot and there are sufficient small and large towels for 2.

Food: as with most ski holidays we were on half board. We found the food very good, hearty ski fare. They publish the menu each day on the blackboard and the manager, Valerie, will translate it for you if you can't understand the French. They will happily swap anything you don't want to eat but you need to tell them before 1pm. On the final night we were going to go into the village to have a fondue but actually, fondue Watson the final night menu so we did not need to! They also serve local cheese each night as well as dessert. Breakfast is a very good buffet which will set you up for a day's skiing.

The bar and restaurant can get busy at lunch and early evening as it is a mtg place for locals and ski instructors. This is not a problem and adds to the ambience but if you want a outside table at lunch I would reserve it at breakfast time.

All of the staff were v friendly, informal and welcoming. They all speak English but equally I think they appreciated talking to me in French (I am fluent but rusty).

St Martin is a lovely little village which gives you access to the whole Trois Vallee ski area. Just bear in mind that if you need lessons as a complete beginner then your only real option is ESF in St Martin at the moment.

We will be returning to the hotel next year for another week of skiing but this time not in the school holidays!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woganmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Martin-de-Belleville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#22 of 64 in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
77 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Bouitte
La Bouitte
#10 of 64 in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edelweiss Hotel
Edelweiss Hotel
#33 of 64 in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel les Bruyeres
Hotel les Bruyeres
#3 of 27 in Les Menuires
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Les Chalets du Gypse
Residence Les Chalets du Gypse
#27 of 108 in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
52 reviews
6.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alp Hotel

Property: Alp Hotel
Address: rue Notre Dame | Les Grangeraies, 73440, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the heights of the authentic village of Saint-Martin de Belleville in Savoie, Alp’Hotel offers its exceptional location in the heart of the largest ski area in the world: The 3 Valleys. Our team invites you to this charming Savoyard hotel to fully enjoy “les joies de la montagne” with family or friends. Located on the slopes, it offers the unique advantage of having all the facilities close to the entrance. Only 40 meters away you will find : -The departure of the 8 passenger gondolas -The ski passes -Ski rentals -The departure of the ski school -The "Piou-Piou" nursery -Free public parking -A grocerie store -The valley’s free shuttle bus, connecting the village to the with the resorts above (Les Ménuires and Val Thorens) For your comfort, Alp Hotel offers 30 rooms plus one suite, most of them with a balcony, all are equipped with quality beds, shower and / or bath, toilet and a flat screen TV. In a warm and friendly atmosphere, combining old wood and contemporary trends, you will also discover our three areas dedicated to your pleasure : The restaurant where you will be able to discover our chef’s creativity, whose passion insists on using, as much as possible, fresh and local produces. Our wine list proposes a variety of French references which are either organic, biodynamic, natural, or made from more traditional winemaking methods. For a relaxing break during the day, the terrace allows you to have lunch or enjoy a drink comfortably seated in front of a privileged view of the mountains and our beautiful local valley. Finally, the bar welcomes you during the day and evening to enjoy a friendly moment after returning from the slopes or after the meal. At the Alp’Hotel, a friendly staff will make you feel like at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing