We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely chalet, Lucy, Becca and Sarah !”
Chalet Alice Velut
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut St Martin de Belleville
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
St Martin de Belleville
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Chalet Alice Velut
Off piste skiing, St Martin de Belleville
Off piste skiing 3 Valleys
Off piste skiing 3 Valleys
Off piste skiing St Martin de Belleville
Summer St Martin de Belleville
Summer St Martin de Belleville
Summer St Martin de Belleville
Summer St Martin de Belleville
Summer Chalet Alice Velut
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
9 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ackers888
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely chalet, Lucy, Becca and Sarah !”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

I can't fault Chalet Alice Velut and the friendly welcome that Lucy, Sarah and Becka provided. The chalet is ideally located in a lovely village right next door to the quaint church which atmospherically calls you to ski by gently ringing its bell in the morning. The button lift is a short stroll away across the road and is perfect for the avid skier. " The pourquoi Paul" or piano bar as it is commonly known, in the basement is a great relaxing après ski bar with a warm log fire and a most cozy feeling after a hard days ski. Lucy, Sarah and Becka looked after us really we'll before and during our stay, helping us by booking restaurants on arrival and organising cheap taxis for us when we decided to visit La Folie Douce at val thorens and didn't want to ski back late whilst one or two beers over the limit ! The only downside is that you can't park you car immediately outside the chalet but having said that there was plenty of Free parking within walking distance so no real problem. You can however load and offload your gear right outside the front door without any problems. All in all a fabulous stay and we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison L
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, Fantastic Apartment!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed here over Xmas and New Year 2013/14 and what an absolute gem. The apartments are just across the road from the bubble lift up to the gondola so are almost ski in/out. The apartment itself was really comfortable and very well equipped with an added bonus that it was above the very lovely, welcoming piano bar, great for a bit if Après ski! Lucy and her team are exceptional hosts. She couldn't do enough for us and suggested and arranged any requests immediately and with great efficiency eg. booking restaurants and cabs. The apartments sit in fabulous surroundings and the church opposite adds a great charm to the place. The bells don't ring all night and we found the soft toll in the mornings was a lovely way to wake us and summon us to ski! We had the most fantastic trip, enjoying our friend's 40th birthday whilst we were there and we must say a huge thank you to Lucy for the champagne gift she gave and the wonderful service her, Sarah and Becca supplied. New Years Eve was a blast!.... Thanks guys. We would highly recommend staying here to anyone and I would just add that although the Piano bar is under the apartments you can't hear a thing if you fancy a quiet night in the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe C
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab apartment, awesome friendly owners and beautiful village - perfect for a family”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Travelled with husband, 7 year old and 5 year old - apartment was amazing, great location and we all loved the Piano bar downstairs - no noise issues at night and a really fun stop after skiing. Definitely going back next year!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We can’t recommend the village, or the Chalet Alice Velout, too strongly.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

We have known St Martin from many years’ skiing holidays and, like many people, we recognise it as the prettiest and most traditional village in the Three Valleys. In 2012, we decided to visit St Martin in the summer for the first time, to see what it was like without the snow.

We stayed in the penthouse apartment in the Chalet Alice Velout, which could not have been closer to the centre of the village. The large apartment is very well equipped and has two balconies offering different views of the mountains; breakfast on the balcony was a delight. We were excellently looked after by Lucy and her staff, who were happy to offer any advice or help we needed. The Piano bar in the vaulted cellars below the chalet was a good venue for a relaxed evening drink, with the added attraction of the Wimbledon finals when we were there!

Chalet Alice Velout sits next to the baroque parish church. The Place de l’Eglise is the centre of the historic village, with a Tourist Information Centre, small supermarket and assorted shops, bars and restaurants within a couple of minutes’ walk. Because St Martin is the hub of the local farming community, it has a year-round population, so the majority of shops, restaurants etc stay open in the summer. Higher up the valley, Les Menuires and Val Thorens are much quieter, but a number of facilities, including banks, shops, sports centres and swimming pools remain open.

There are excellent walks in the area, and the tourist centre has maps which show the walks and mountain-bike trails in the whole of the Belleville valley. The walks near the valley floor are often along the old donkey tracks linking the various farming hamlets, and pass through hay fields and woods. More challenging walks can be found higher up the valley sides and, several days a week, the ski lifts in St Martin and the other ski resorts in the valley are open, and can take you quickly onto the ridges for a day’s high-altitude walking before dropping down to the village in the evening.

All in all, we had an excellent holiday, and will certainly have future holidays, both winter and summer, in St Martin. We can’t recommend the village, or the Chalet Alice Velout, too strongly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic location, exceptionally nice chalet and lovely people.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Stayed at this lovely chalet for a week of skiing/snowboarding and was initially delighted by its location with regards to the slopes but this was just the start of its charms. The Violette appartment in which we stayed in was spacious and well equiped with everything you could need for a comfortable stay. The position near the slope and button lift made getting into the three Vallées extremely quick and easy but also being in the centre of the town made the reastaurants and bars just as accessible. The Piano bar in the basement of the chalet was lots of fun with live music every other night and Lucy and her staff made us feel more than welcome.
We will definitely be staying there again next season and look forward to another week of great fun both on and off the slopes.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2013
Dear Tony & Family..

A big thankyou for your review. So glad you all had such a lovely time and so delighted that you enjoyed the Chalet so much. You were a pleasure to have stay with us and we would love it if you could come again some time. You were all so lovely and was so nice of you to leave the DVD's for our growing collection for guests. They have already been borrowed by guests and are very gratefully received. Just wanted to confirm to any potential readers of this review that when Tony refers to 'live music' every other night, the 'live music' is in fact in the late afteroon (5.30pm ish to 7.30pm ish), rather than late at night, in case anyone is concerned that the music goes on in the 'late' evening, it in fact doesn't, and it is always finished by about 8pm.

Thanks so much Tony. As said, we would love it if you decided to come back next year.
Best to all.
Lucy, Sara, Team P Bar and Chalet Alice Velut....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona j
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect New Year break”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed in St Martin for New Year - a large group of 16 adults and teenagers in three apartments at Chalet Alice Velut and one family staying near the bakery. We had the most perfect time. Lucy was so welcoming and helpful. She seemed to "appear" whenever we needed to know something and the New Year's Eve meal she arranged for us was everything we hoped it would be - thank you. She is so organised we are convinced she arranged the excellent snow and the blue skies for us!
The apartments are spacious, really well equipped and perfectly situated for the short stroll to the button lift (and the bakery for fresh baguettes and pain au chocolate for breakfast!).
The Piano bar was ideal for our group to meet up and the oldies could retire leaving the youngsters to chat and relax for a little longer. Yes there is some noise as people leave the bar but we really enjoyed having a cosy bar so close by and the fact that our teenagers could get together so easily - all want to return with us because we had the perfect mix of family time and friend time.
We actually loved the church bells and quite missed them when we got home! In fact we loved it all so much we are already booked to return and can't wait. A bientot Lucy!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaGT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic apartment in an amazing resort”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed for one week during the ski season. There were 14 of us in all, and the owners accommodated us in 2 smaller apartments and the penthouse. This was an excellent arrangement, and there was plenty of room in the penthouse for us all at dinner. All 3 apartments were spacious, clean and well equipped (never seen Denby in a ski chalet before!). Beautiful views from the large balcony, and an ensuite with a giant whirlpool bath- very welcome after a long day's skiing! Centrally located and a lovely bar in the basement (but not noisy). The owners were very helpful and arranged a first-night meal for us at a local restaurant.

The ski lift was only a very short walk away (less than 100m I would think) and the skiing was fantastic. Only problem was in heavy snow the top lift gets closed for avalance blasting which leaves you stuck in St Martin til it opens again- although the slopes remain quiet so its not really a great problem. Snow sure all the way back to the apartment.

My only comment on the apartment would be maybe provide another bench outsite for putting boots on? The one inside was too small with such a big group

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing