We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Mountain Chalets
Reviewed May 11, 2013

After visiting for the second year running we were very much looking forward to our trip, hoping that it lived up to the superb time we had on our first visit. We were certainly not disappointed.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome in the most hospitable and comfortable surroundings you could wish for.
The food is superb and my considerable appetite was more than satisfied. After a days boarding on the slopes we were driven back to the chalet by our hosts where we found freshly made cake and a well stocked beer fridge.
The lounge area was the perfect place to chill out after an exhausting day on the slopes before we were invited down to eat in the fantastic dining area with its vaulted ceiling and huge table. We helped ourselves to the considerable supply of red wine that is a complimentary addition to the evening meal and had many an enjoyable chat with our hosts and fellow guests as we tucked into the lovingly prepared home cooked food.
We can't wait for our next visit and intend to return very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 75 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

Had a great family ski holiday with James and Gemma, No standing on ceremony, the formal hello not the right context here as everyone just welcomed as friends. Easy access to the slopes via James's land rover and our boys thoroughly enjoyed skiing in fancy dress with James the duck at New Year. Warm, tasty three course meals, lots of wine and fun. What are you waiting for?!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having never stayed in a catered chalet before, I was unsure what to expect. GMC is a lovely chalet, a couple of miles from Saint Martin. There was no formal hello, or guided tour of the chalet which was disappointing. The chalet had a warm friendly feel, bedrooms were comfortable but relatively small.

Our room was on the 1st floor next to the TV/Movie lounge area and above the log-burner lounge downstairs, which meant it was rather loud at night when other guests were chatting late into the night.

The evening meal was held downstairs on one large table for all guests. On the first couple of evenings this was great, lots of brilliant conversations, free wine etc. However, when the chalet became full, seating 30 people around the one table was tricky and it was very cramp.

The food was good, however, it would have been nice for a menu to be displayed each day. Breakfast could have been better (DIY, warm milk, no eggs)

Every morning Gemma and James would take you up to Saint Martin Ski Slope in one of their vehicles. Typically 7 or 8 minutes away.They were happy to pick you up anytime late afternoon, or main pick up was at 5pm.

I think the chalet is ideal if you are a keen skier/snowboarder and happy to be out all day. I would be happy to return to GMC, however, I would prefer to hire my own car so I could leave and return to the chalet at a more flexible time.

Room Tip: A Room in the Loft, or top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkitmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our first time skiing in France, and Green Mountain Chalets made it an amazingly wonderful and relaxing experience.

Even before we arrived, Gemma and James had our skis ordered, Wednesday night dinner reservations made, and a sitter arranged to give us adults some extra time to explore the three valleys beyond the abilities of our young children. James picked us up at the train station and we were catered to the rest of the week.

The furnishings are not quite luxurious (think a lot of Ikea) and our bedrooms were on the small side, but the chalet more than made up for it with a separate bunk-bed room for the kids, two spacious lounge rooms (with your choice of fireplace or big-screen), and a gorgeous cave dining room perfect for long, chatty dinners over bottomless carafes of wine.

And then Gemma and Jame's hosting really kicked the experience up a notch. Such a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Wonderful food. Door to door rides to/from the slopes. Accompanied skiing to show us the best runs, as well as the best places to pull over for a leisurely cappuccino break, a hearty lunch, or a little base-thumping, table-top-dancing apres ski. And anything else we might need.

My only regret is discovering Green Mountain Chalets too late in the season to make it back a second time this year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Amazing chalet, fantastic ski area, great food, super hosts- Green Mountain Chalets is every good as you're hoping it will be.

My boyfriend and I were slightly sceptical about staying in a chalet vs our usual private studio or hotel but we are so glad we took the plunge and listened to the reviews on trip advisor. Gemma and James were great hosts both friendly and laid back, while offering good advice, help and providing a fantastic service all round (namely but not exclusive to: lifts to and from slopes, group outings, off piste fun, trips to the medical centre, drinks at le folie duce, packed lunches, advice on ski routes, good chat and 5pm cakes!).

Dinner in the amazing cave dining room 'a la James' followed by Gemma's deserts and limitless wine was the perfect way to finish the day after exploring the amazing 3 valleys (if only i could have kept myself awake longer to empty the carafes after some long days on the slopes!).

The chalet itself is just fabulous- there is always a quiet corner to sneak away to or a conversation to crash. Plenty of showers/toilets, nice rooms and lovely extras like ghd's and bathrobes which make you feel at home and make life a bit easier.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and definitely plan to go back,

Emma & Rich x

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

James and Gemma have made this a cosy and comfortable chalet. Sitting by the fire before supper with a glass of wine with the smell filtering through from the kitchen is my abiding memory of a thoroughly enjoyable few days in St Martin. The hospitality and food were first class and the rooms kept very clean and comfortable. We had such a lovely time.

Would definitely recommend a group of families staying there as well as individuals.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The best thing about this holiday is the chalet hosting, Gemma and James are extremely hospitable, good fun and dynamite skier/snowboarders.
They were brilliant with the children and other guests -the ski guiding made the holiday. The service to and from the lifts is excellent as in peak season it is impossible to park in St Martin and this is a hassle free way of starting the day. Already recommended GMC to friends.
We will be back.
Fran

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank francarl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Martin-de-Belleville hotels
6.7 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
414 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel les Bruyeres
Hotel les Bruyeres
#2 of 27 in Les Menuires
221 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kaya Chalet Hotel
Kaya Chalet Hotel
#4 of 27 in Les Menuires
244 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#14 of 29 in Val Thorens
259 reviews
4.8 mi away
Le Chalet du Mont Vallon Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Chalets

Address: La Combe, 73440, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Price Range: $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide family friendly catered ski chalet accommodation in the heart of the Three Valleys, the largest ski area in the world! We offer a tailor-made service to ensure that our guests make the most of their time in the French Alps. We carry out all the 'pre-holiday' preparation to allow you to enjoy as many hours out on the slopes as possible! We will personally welcome you and take care of you throughout your stay. We provide fully catered accommodation but we also know that paying attention to the extra details will make your holiday thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing