We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to experience ancient Greek tradition and hospitality”
Review of O Psaras

O Psaras
Reserve a Table
Ranked #5 of 117 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $17
Description: Our restaurant 'The Fisherman' operates in the region of Marathon since 1949. We serve flavors of the sea and many other culinary surprises. We are waiting for you to enjoy our warm hospitality.
Restaurant details
Description: Our restaurant 'The Fisherman' operates in the region of Marathon since 1949. We serve flavors of the sea and many other culinary surprises. We are waiting for you to enjoy our warm hospitality.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Marathon is the place of glory and a symbol of resistance to aggression. If you want to resist the modern world unhealthy food, you will choose Psaras for your ultimate Greek seafood experience.

Ask for the amazing owner who actually always interacts with foreign guests! This wonderful man is a walking encyclopedia and represents the old-school of Greek hospitality!

The quality of seafood here is 10 classes up from anywhere near Athens! I am telling you this as a food blogger and healthy lifestyle promoter! If you happen to be on a very low carb diet, such as Keto or LCHF, just talk to the owner and tell them that you are not eating carbohydrates! He will do his best to prepare everything without flour, potatoes or starch. When he offers a free dessert, just ask for some Goat yoghurt with lemon juice and cinnamon. Then add your stevia and stay amazed by the taste and texture. In Greece, goat and sheep yoghurts contain less than 3g net carbs, you'll be safe here!!!

You will be surprised by the creativity! This tavern is a perfect experience! You'll get some interesting info about surrounding attractions, such as the Egyptian temple or the Marathon thumb! Do not miss, there are not many places in Attica region that offer so much quality in service and food!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 121 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

We arrived a group of 16 for dinner. The owner prepared a menu suggestion for us that would fit a predefined cost limit that we set. The staff was attentive and patient for all the special food request (vegan, children etc.). The food arrived promptly, it was fresh and delicious - fish and salads were wonderful! At the end we were treated to sweets on the house. Overall a most satisfying experience.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 747Amosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant had amazing authentic Greek food, fantastic and friendly staff and was right on the water front so had gorgeous views!
Highly recommended:)

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Holmiej7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Taste the real tradițional food, with plenty of home-made olive oil ! And the Great taste comes from another secret ingredient: passion for cooking!
Fresh, healty, tasty, all the flavours are amazing!
It was the place to eat for us, all the time we stayed here and we tryed them all!
Not to forget about the strong cofee and the superb seaside wiew!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank axpdok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get a table actually on the beach (there are maybe 5 or 6). It’s a lovey location after dark and perfect if you have children - they can just run around on the beach or at the water’s edge. There’s also a little playground maybe 50yds away.

The food was good and the staff friendly. The service isn’t the quickest, but that actually added to the relaxed feel of the place. The only downside was the rather loud music coming from the restaurant next door, but it wasn’t bad enough to detract from the experience.

The seafood was excellent, as was the pasta and the after-dinner Mastika was very good.

They’re dog friendly, which we loved, but if that’s not for you, be aware that there are a few local dogs (collared, friendly and well-behaved) who tend to be around and will probably come over to say hello. Our little girl was very pleased with that and they were very gentle around her.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 446BenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Psaras also viewed

Nea Makri, Marathon
Marathon, East Attica Region
 
Rafina, East Attica Region
Agios Panteleimon, East Attica Region
 
Nea Makri, Marathon
Nea Makri, Marathon
 

Been to O Psaras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing