We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Island”
Review of Sun Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great Island”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

its very nice island. Good facilities. the beach has white sands and clear water. A relaxing Holidays. The room amenities need some amendment and I think they should start renovate some rooms. The Food at restaurant was standard quality . but for the price we paid , it was Great Holidays.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xxanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    777
    257
    92
    84
See reviews for
440
1,566
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I visited sun island in the last week of may to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. I must say it was the most perfect celebration. The resort was very beautiful and very well maintained. We stayed in a water bungalow for 3 nights and it was worth the cost we paid. The spread of breakfast and dinner was also vast including both veg and non veg. The only pain was the travelling to reach the island. The compulsion to arrive at the mamagili airport an hour before the 15
Min flight is the worst part. But in all, it was an amazing get away and sun island is a good place to stay for a good experience.

Room Tip: Take a water bungalow close to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RadhG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

No words can describe how beautiful is this place. White sand, crystal clear water - paradise. This island is very calm and relaxing. No people, no malls, only one local small shop, few restaurant, no nightlife..This place was made to relax. The snorckling was amazing - we saw sharks and I even feed a ray that was great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

What can I say about this beautiful island . I want to keep its secret so no one knows on the other hand I want everyone to know how beautiful this island is . There are no touch ups in the colours on the photos what you see is what you get . I have been here 3times ( lucky me !! ) that in its self tells you how we love sun island . We experienced beach bungalows and water bungalows , whilst the latter would be my first choice if you want the maldives on a smaller budget opt for a deluxe beach bungalow but if you wanna splash out a water bungalow is a must . Whilst the accom we think is 4* the Spa is 5* . The treatments are superb oh I want to go back soon ! We can't rate this island highly enough . You can hire a bike ( - a must really if you have a beach bungalow ) it's so much fun ,they have a new brilliant dive school , there are water sports . Lay on a sunbed and relax and chill out then decide to take a dip in the bath warm waters of the Indian Ocean or dip into the pool . In between eat the fantastic food on offer we recommend ALL inc drinks can be expensive . The staff are so friendly they even remembered us on our second trip let alone our third where we felt like celebs arriving . Our recommendation is to take the sea plane transfer it will cost around £350. But much better than a 2hr boat transfer that can be a bit rough some parts of the year . This island is not 5* but almost certainly 5* in its cleanliness and friendliness prob it needs a bit of updating which would warrant its 4* rating but rooms are comfy and clean and nothing is too much trouble . Don't miss out on seeing the "Rays " being fed in the eve . We just love this place love it love it love it . Hope to be back soon Sun island :)

Room Tip: Water bungalow if you can afford it . Those on a budget go for deluxe beach . You'll have a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 13 nights in superior beach bungalow with HB.

I red a lot of rewiews before travel but I absolutelly disagree with the bad referencies. Some of the people maybe want high class, than u have to pick from the way more expansive resorts than this. I wisited places all around the world but this belongs to number 1!
Only minus is that everything cost a lot of money, but if u decide to go to Maldives u must expect that if u think that u paid enough and want to just be here with couple hundred dolars than rather pick other destination.

This hotel is one of the less expansive so of course the service is not gonna be as the hotel what will cost 1000 dolars per night, but for us was on top!!!

One tip for everybody:
Dont read any rewiews before travel. Just go, enjoy and make your own opinion and than share it with everybody becouse if u do, u'll be just scared as we were but the truth was somewhere else.
Everybody has diferent level of needs.

We want to thank so much to all on Sun Island to prepare for us unforgettable holiday thoose 15 days.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank eddie1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I went for my honeymon. They got a beautiful bed and wine and much more. The place was the most coolest and not too expensive as compared to other resorts
i would recommend it to all for the new bie. The place extermly clean and greeny

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sudeep T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

It was wonderful to spend 5 days at Sun Island. The calm and quite nature of the resort just blew us away. Loved the time spent. Food was great being a vegie.

The speed boat experience and the various sea activities were well managed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aditya g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nalaguraidhoo Island
15.0 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
628 reviews
24.8 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
895 reviews
6.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
2,999 reviews
10.6 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Resort

Property: Sun Island Resort
Address: 2100
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Nalaguraidhoo Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nalaguraidhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island measuring about 1.6 km in length and around 380 meters in width has 350 elegantly furnished guestrooms, including 72 water bungalows, out of which, 4 are Presidential Suites, 218 Super Deluxe Beach Bungalows and 60 Deluxe Beach Bungalows. All Deluxe and Super Deluxe Beach Bungalows are built on the beach ensuring a direct view of the shore and sea. All Water Bungalows are built on stilts in the lagoon overlooking the vast horizon of either the sunrise or sunset view, from your private deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel South Ari Atoll
Sun Island Resort Maldives
Sun Island Maldives
Hotel Sun Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing