We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Filitheyo Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2010

What an absolutely fabulous holiday! I can't believe that people have actually moaned about things in other reviews. We could not fault anything. It was our first time in the Maldives so obviously have nothing to compare it to but we found the staff, food, rooms and the island overall all excellent. We would love to go back again so we'd better get saving! We went all inclusive and to be honest have no idea whether we saved money or not. It was just lovely not having to think about anything for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gluestick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

This place is really worth its money. Beautiful and clean island, friendly staff maked our stay so pleasant as it could be, tasty buffes offers variety of couizines, very nice exotic room's decor (we stayed at superior beach rooms)... lol, probably I forget many things, but I have only good words for this place. Try all extra services if you can, we liked very much spa massage, snorkeling safari , beach dinner, nigh fishing and excursion to the Hoping Island with local people. And diving!!!(great instructors).
Two things I wish I had knew (for all Maldives) - take some t-shirts for snorkeling and earplugs for air taxi :-) Also if you will wait at Doha's airport take more warm cloths.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunadrzewna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We visited Filitheyo for our honeymoon and what a disappointment it was. We had been to another island in the Maldives for our first week which was also 4* so we expected similar. How wrong we were.
We were met by the island 'welcomer', who did not make you feel welcome at all and taken to our water villa. As beautiful as it looked from the outside, once inside for a few hours we noticed the problems. Air conditioning did not work, toilet would not flush, bath took an hour to fill and even then the jacuzzi part was broken. In general it was run down and in need of a full refurbishment. We were moved room to another one where the airconditioning was rather tempremental.
The dining area was huge. However what we didn't like was that we had to sit at the same table for every meal and put up with the same very grumpy waiter. He made us wait for drinks and didn't ever crack a smile. We tried to be friendly but when you get nothing back, its hard. The food was disappointing. Always a curry dish if you like it, sushi and salad. They cooked the pasta as you asked for it which meant long queues, (I'd hate to see the queues when the island is full).
The island itself was great for snorkling, although our first couple of day were so rough that we actually found is a bit dangerous. We did however see turtles and dolpins and the most amazing fish.
The island has an all inclusive option, which we went for. However, this did not include cocktails and the mini-bar. The minibar especially was a nusience. We sat most days on our water villa decking but if we wanted a drink of water we either had to pay for it, or as we did, we would take a walk to the sunset bar. We could take drinks back to the room though. The staff in general were not friendly. Very few would acknowledge you and the staff at reception would look away rather that speak to you. The guys at the sunset bar and the guy that cleaned our room were the only friendly ones. Thats about it really but any potential honeymoners, just be warned, they do allow children on this island!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travellingsusie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We arrived by seaplane from Male, very friendly receptionist and staff to meet us. We were on honeymoon and booked a superior villa but were not upgraded. Fruit and wine were given to us after we arrived, the wine could have been a better quality. The room was small and the outside shower was ok but the mosquitos loved our lovely pale Irish skin and we suffered with bites. The nets worked at night but they still managed to get us with spray and creams on! This should be mentioned to all potential visitors. The humidity on the island was very high as well, the eating area for breakfast and dinner had no air con so it made it uncomfortable to enjoy your meal. Saying that the food was excellent on the island and they varied the menus each evening. Water bottles were very expensive at $3.50 each and alcohal was expensive also. Overall it was ok, dont think we'll be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

My wife and I had our honeymoon here in March, from the sea plane to the crab racing this place is stunning.
There are however a few down sides, we had a water villa but noticed some of them didn’t get any sun on their rear sun decks until after 11am.
Also some of the villas on the island have very poor beachfront areas, and some are even affected by tides.

The food is first class as long as you like fish and spicy food, we do and its was fantastic.

The best thing by far is the diving, we had a go at the deeper stuff but the fish you can see from just snorkelling are out of this world, we got some great underwater pictures that will keep our memories alive for many years.

Fab place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith01444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We've been to the Maldives 4 times and Filitheyo is the best island yet.
Why - because it's the perfect no shoe getaway with second to none service, good food, well appointed rooms, a superb house reef and beautiful setting.

Our BA flight was very empty, leaving plenty of triple seats in economy to sleep across although bad turbulence for the last hour was a challenge... and yes they had just served coffee!
The seaplane went via Centara Resort & Spa and took around an hour in total.
Good arrival in resort with the basics explained to each couple to spare a tedious welcome meeting and then straight to our superior room, despite in only being 1pm.

Our room (41) was well located steps from the beach, 3 rooms from the pool and 10 min stroll to the main resort area with reception, main bar, restaurant & watersports.
In the bedroom was a large four poster bed, day bed, table & chair, TV cabinet with shelves & safe, dressing table with stereo and bedside tables.
In the indoor/outdoor bathroom: separate WC, 2 sinks, outdoor shower, wardrobe with hangers, mini bar & shelves and cute stepping stones in sand to the back door.

We spent most of the days based at the stunning infinity pool as it received a welcome sea breeze and was great to dip in & out of to cool off. We were half board so had lunch outside everyday, often watching the baby black tip reef sharks practising their technique on a "slick" of tiny minnows in the knee deep ocean. The menu was extensive, reasonable and all very tasty ranging from garlic bread US $6 to soups $9 to sandwiches $12 and mains from $12 including tikka masala, seafood noodles & french bread pizza. Happy hour from 3-5pm was also fab with 1/2 price on alcohol: small beer was $2.30, wine $3 & cocktails $5.50. We spent $900 over 11 nights including 2 dives, 2 hour spa treatment and 2 1/2 day snorkel safaris as well as daily lunch & all our drinks - this was 1/2 the cost of the AI.

The house reef was easily accessible along the west side of the island from points 8 to 4 and we saw the usual Maldivian fish including a grey tip reef shark, moray eels, lobsters, lion fish, triggerfish, Napoleon wrasse, fusiliers, oriental sweetlips and shoals of bat, butterfly & banner fish. The coral is recovering well post El Nino. The other side was a lot further out and tended to be choppier but was worth it for more experienced snorkellers. Take your own equipment as it was $20 a week to hire.
The snorkel safari was absolutely fab - 9.30 to 12.30 and we visited Barracuda, Bodu Beru & the Cathedral (Friday am) for $30 each including guide, water, coffee/tea and an individual lunchbox of pastries & fruit.

Diving by Werner Lau was well run but expensive at $60 for a basic dive plus $0.50 for tank fill (whether air or Nitrox), $5 for instructor, $12 for boat ride plus equipment hire if needed. There are 2 boats each morning & afternoon depending on experience.

The spa was simply stunning - 6 individual walled gardens each containing an air-conditioned spa room with 3 glass sides, mainly thai staff well trained in the usual techniques. Prices averaged US $60 per hour and treatments included massages, facials, scrubs, wraps, mani/pedi plus options to build your own package.

The buffet restaurant had lots of choice at breakfast, lunch & dinner.
Breakfast included cereals, fruits, yogurt, pastries, breads, hot items and traditional curry plus miso soup and continental meat/cheese/salad.
Dinner had various stations for freshly cooked pasta, naan bread, carved meat, whole baked fish, soup/breads, curries & rice, sushi, grilled meat & fish and 3 cold, 1 hot dessert plus a homemade icecream & sorbet which were delicious!

Guest nationalities included german, italian, french, japanese & chinese.
Every world cup game was shown from a large projector onto a white wall with comfy chairs in rows in front. Plus a board in reception displaying that day's schedule and the previous days scores. The in room TVs had ESPN and an American film channel.

The weather we experienced for mid June was outstanding with 3 mini monsoon showers on arrival day as it was the new moon, then uninterrupted sunshine and temperatures exceeding 35C for the following 10 days before some cloud and 5 min monsoon showers leading up to the full moon.

As other reviewers have said, there are a lot of repeat guests and people there from recommendations and I hope to join them in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Parrotfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

....Just come back from Filitheyo and had an amazing, relaxing break....i felt compelled to leave a review as i used trip advisor to decide which island to go to this time, it was my fourth time back to the Maldives and the choice of islands is huge so wanted to make sure i'd made the right decision...the reviews on Filitheyo were so positive that it swung my decision and I'm so pleased i went for this resort. The island is beautiful, the reef - although the coral did take a battering from the tsunami is making a valiant attempt to regrow and the variety of fish and snorkelling opportunities are good. I can't add anything that hasn't already been said, the island is immaculate, the spa is very reasonably priced and the perfect santuary for pampering, the food was excellent (we opted for half board) and the staff incredibly efficient and very friendly, the lovely thing about Filitheyo as that its has retained a traditional maldavian feel, it might not be as chic as some of the five star resorts but that was a big plus for me....we booked the deluxe villa - which was definitely worth the extra money - these are located on a beautiful beach, offer a little more privacy and slightly more space, the outdoor bathroom is just perfect.....one tip tho' - the evening entertainment was limited so we took a load of dvd's, also i took the tip from a previous review and we took a couple of litre plastic water bottles with us which we filled up using the tap water and chilled it in the fridge, bring your own smaller water bottles for the beach and you're sorted! ...this island truly has everything you need for a chilled out break...if you're looking for relaxation in a beautiful location, don't hesitate - book it!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filitheyo Island
14.6 mi away
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
#3 of 7 in Dhaalu Atoll
811 reviews
23.3 mi away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
645 reviews
23.5 mi away
Oliva Palm Cottages
Oliva Palm Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dhigurah Island
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Sun Island Resort and Spa
Sun Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Nalaguraidhoo Island
2,515 reviews
22.0 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,149 reviews
16.1 mi away
Angsana Velavaru
Angsana Velavaru
#1 of 1 in Haa Dhaalu Atoll
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filitheyo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filitheyo Island Resort

Address: Faafu Atoll, 20188
Location: Maldives > Faafu Atoll > Filitheyo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Filitheyo Island
Price Range: $267 - $1,278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Filitheyo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a breath-taking island paradise of leafy jungle foliage and sparkling white sand. Filitheyo resort is situated in Faafu Atoll, one of the most pristine atolls in the Maldives, abundant in colorful marine life and vibrant coral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Filitheyo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filitheyo Island Hotel Faafu Atoll
Hotel Filitheyo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing