We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filitheyo - Above water, average. Below water, very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Filitheyo Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I’m in two minds about Filitheyo. Parts of my experience here were lovely, but there are plenty of little things which add up to turn the holiday into an average, rather than very good or amazing one. It has potential though!

It all began at Ibrahim Nasir International Airport (Male Airport). I had to remind myself not to be put off too much – it’s currently undergoing some MAJOR building work, so it all looks terrible. We were met by two blokes – one a representative of the travel company (who did nothing more than hand us an envelope with a letter saying ‘welcome to the Maldives’) and the man from Filitheyo. He gave us the hotel registration cards (red for boys, green for girls), took us through to where we could check in for the seaplane flight, had our bags weighed and registered and promised us we would be on the first (and earlier) flight. ‘Brilliant’, we thought as we bundled on to the minibus for the 5 minute transfer to the Maldivian Air Taxi terminal. Alas, it was not to be - we had to wait a few hours for the next plane – plenty of time to use their free wi-fi and fill out those hotel registration cards. After a cramped, noisy, hot and breath-taking seaplane ride (I loved it), we’d arrived at Filitheyo International Airport!

Getting on the Dhoni for the ride to the island, we realised that we were the only two guests to check-in (everyone else must have gotten the earlier flight). It did mean that check-in was quick and efficient (those cards ready to go) and the welcome drink and cold towel dispatched quickly. We were shown to our room by a miserable hotel porter who worked incredibly hard for a tip by staring at my husband and following him round the room in a concentrated effort of both silence and intimidation. Eventually ushered away by a tip which clearly wasn’t enough, we had the room to ourselves to work out were everything was.

We had paid a little extra for a Deluxe room, partly for the extra space and partly after reading other reviews which bemoaned the paper thin walls. The rooms looked clean, with the usual furniture and an outside bathroom/shower. The bedroom had a TV with a limited selection of stations with poor reception and a CD player, as well as a safe. I completely agree with a previous reviewer with regards to the TV – either have something that works, or not at all. Also, it would have been helpful to have a CD library, to borrow for music in the room – hardly anyone has portable CD players these days and tend not to carry CD’s with them. The outdoor bathroom, housed all the usual. The bath could only produce a trickle of water (a bath probably would have taken a week to fill), but the outdoor shower had decent pressure – hurrah). The wardrobe was unusually outside, (my husband thought it was to remove the creases in the clothes as there was no iron) with limited room due to the tea/coffee, minibar and fridge being in one of the cupboards. As a whole, it all seemed a little ‘faded’ – a little like a favourite t-shirt – the colours aren’t as bright as they used to be, but you still like it and it’s comfortable and soft. The bed definitely not soft though and there was a crack in the basin for one of the sinks, visible rawlplugs in one of the walls, very basic toiletries and an endless army of ants.

I’m glad we paid that little more for a Deluxe, rather than a Superior though. After walking round the island later, I thought that the beach, although narrower on the Deluxe hut side, seemed to have more space between sun lounger spots (you are allocated one for the week, just outside your room) and was not as crowded. Although access to the reef is slightly better on Superior side (it’s a shorter swim to the reef) for the seclusion and sense of space, the Deluxe wins for me. Everywhere is a short walk away, wherever you are on the island! I would have been heart-broken if I had been allocated a Superior around room number 100 and more. That part of the island seemed to be basically maintained, there was hardly any beach (in some places none that was pure sand) and the rooms seemed (from the outside) in worse condition.

We went half-board, which seemed better value for us (and this decision will depend on how much you eat/drink), so meals were in the main restaurant. Breakfast was nothing special – the usual mix (without the cheeses and meats you find in continental buffet breakfasts) and I feel like I have eaten enough apples to last a lifetime as they were the predominant fruit in the morning fruit salad! Evening meals, also buffet style, were a lot better. Every night there was always a sushi station, pasta bar, salad station (with some lovely freshly dressed salads), grilled reef fish, breads (including freshly cooked naan) and home-made sorbet and ice cream. The rest of the choices include curry (always at least one meat and one veg), cooked meat and/or fish and vegetables and a vegetarian selection. The main courses were a bit hit and miss (badly cooked beef curry.. which I still could be chewing on) but the salads and puddings never disappointed. You are allocated a table (and therefore a waiter) at the beginning of the week, which has some positives and negatives – for me, I never really felt that our waiter was attentive enough – he never got to grips with our regular (by this I mean the same every time) drink order (tea and coffee for breakfast, glass of wine and a beer in the evening) and wasn’t around much to clear our plates or ask if everything was okay or if we wanted another drink. On the occasions we did see him, we tried to strike up a conversation but it was difficult, because of his indifference. Another point with the food and drink is that although it was nice to receive popcorn with your cocktails prior to dinner, I would have preferred some free drinking water, either in the room or with dinner!

All your disappointments with the room, the hardness of the bed, the cost of a cocktail, the curry for dinner (again) all magically disappear the minute you stick your head under water. The reason why you pay so much money for a holiday here is not because of the room, or the staff or the quality of the sunlounger – it’s all for what goes on underwater. The snorkelling (and diving) is amazing. We were lucky with great visibility and a decent variety of fish and even a turtle or two, without some of the nastier underwater surprises (lots of sea urchins, jellyfish, biting sharks). The only negatives would be that on both sides of the island there can be a fair amount of dead, rough coral to get past to get to the reef and that the currents can be deceptive, especially (we found) around the latter part of the holiday around the Water Villa side. A suggestion here would be to put up a notice in reception of the water condition.

We also went on a couple of excursions, a house reef dive (husband) and a spa treatment (me). Night fishing – lots of fun (and a great chance to see a sunset from somewhere other than the sunset bar!) but we both felt that the Dhoni crew were over eager to help – it would have been better if they had showed you what to do properly and then let you get on with it, rather than not showing you what to do and then holding the line themselves for most of the time. I appreciate where they were coming from – they wanted you to have a catch, so it’s easy to forgive them (especially as they were all so lovely)! Snorkel safari – again, no complaints. It’s nice to get off the island but felt that of the three reefs we went to, only one of them was on a par with the house reef, which is a testament to how good it is. Spa treatment – I had a pedicure, which has lasted me all the way home. They used OPI polish, which I feel is one of the better brands and the spa space is nice and relaxing. It was also lovely to relax with some ginger tea and fruit after the treatment.

Some final points.

- Have some small change for tips – although our porter wasn’t deserving of his, plenty of people on the island are. Yes, I know there is 10% service tax included so don’t feel like you HAVE to give something, but it’s nice to recognise those that really do well (and they appreciate it).

- As others have mentioned, take industrial strength bug repellent with you and remember lots of high factor suncream. Remember your anti-histamines (if you are like me and swell up) as there was no doctor when we were there.

- If you have a 10am Emirates flight from Male – it’s an early start for you (we were having breakfast at 5.30am).

- When deciding whether to go half board or all inclusive.. drinks are approx. $4 for a small bottle of coke (300mls, equivalent to a can), spirits are mainly around $4.60 and cocktails are $13 (all of these prices include service and sales taxes). We also took an empty bottle with us to drink boiled and cooled tap water. Food wise, we tended to have a reasonable breakfast, then dinner and skipped lunch. All trips include a snack and/or drink.

- As well as taking your own snorkelling kit, consider buying a rash vest and swim shorts – the sun can be brutal, which you tend not to notice when you are out snorkelling!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank PrincessBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinTheseira, General Manager at Filitheyo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for staying at Filitheyo island Resort and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to comment on TripAdvisor on your stay.

Thank you for your comments on the porter and also your waiter as it is only through comments that we are able to identify the areas that need improvement. As for the television reception we are continuously checking on this. As stated in an earlier comment not all channels are clear as we are using satellite TV that is very susceptible to weather conditions and sometimes no signal is available. Thank you for your comments on the room bathroom, we are checking on this and will make the necessary changes.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food. With regards to the curry, I am quite suprised at your comment on beef curry as we have always received very good comments concerning our curries. We do appologize if you had found the meat too tough.

Thank you also for your comments on the current near the water villa area. We will check on this first before looking at what suitable information would be necessary for the guests. We will also brief the Dhoni crews on being too overly helpfull as I too feel that they should assist and not take over.

Again we would like to thank you for your comments. We hope to be of service to you in the near future. We would also like you to know that we take great care in preserving our house reef and hope that you will again be equally impressed on your next visit to Filitheyo.

Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Half the rooms are missing some of their thatch, the rooms are sparse and rustic and the beds are like rocks.

The location is great but the place is in dire need of renovation and is extremely over priced for what it delivers.

They block You Tube, and at $5 an hour the internet is exorbitant.

If you are a decent diver, do a live aboard, this is okay diving but it is not great and frankly it is also exorbitant and way to controlled. Check dives for all, no exceptions!!

The food is okay... dinner is quite good, but breakfast is the usual buffet and nothing special.

The beach is actually fabulous, which is some recompense for the rest of the sad facilities. The gym is also quite good. However the rest of the facilities need a real good overall.

Room Tip: Dont go, choose something newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheRhodiediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinTheseira, General Manager at Filitheyo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We are indeed sorry to hear that you had found the resort overpriced for what it delivers and in need of renovations.

We do agree as stated in several of our past comments that we do have kajan roofing that needs to be changed as it reflects a dilapidated state, please however note that the kajan is more of a cosmetic feature but yes this needs to be changed and there are no two ways about it.

As mentioned in several replies earlier we have completed the kajan changing for the Deluxe Villas, water villas and beach villas and are still continuing the works. Please note that we have scheduled all rooms for this but have had to stop due to guest complaining that they are disturbed by the work. We therefore do this as and when possible but work is still continuing and interiors and floors are still being varnished and painted.

Yes, check dives are done for all new divers and divers that have not dived in a while. This is a Dive Center procedure that is practiced in all our resorts where Werner Lau dive centers are located and done only on the initial dive. Most divers do not have a problem with this.

We are glad that you liked our beach, dinner and Gym. We do apologize that you found the facilities sad. We thank you for your comments as it shows us the areas where more effort is required in order to satisfy guests. Thank you again.

Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you love water, then the reef here is great. A bit of a small island for land-lovers.
The "Superior Villa" we stayed in was clean and had everything we needed.
The outdoor bathroom was part of the game, the sea was about 15 meters from he front door, and all the low number Villas have great beech access.
The reception area is good.
We were all inclusive, which I would recommend. You get plenty of drinks and no problems 10am till 12pm. The Sunset bar does food if required that looked great but we only used are inclusive main restaurant. You need to sign for all expenses; which makes you appreciate how much you benefit from not paying $6 every time you are thirsty.
The main restaurant offers good food and a wide variety, after 10 days we were able to resist some offerings.
All the staff are generally good, to need to tip everyone. The average pay is about $100 a month so any tip is appreciated. They don't demand it, but appreciated.
We really liked the water-sport center staff, and the kayak and sailing trips were excellent.
Don't worry about the animals in the sea (except we were not there when the monster trigger fish nest, April - May) .
Would we go again? Yes, if we had the money and time. Pleased we went, but probably the world is too large to keep going back.

Room Tip: The lower number superior villas are good, no need to book a water villa (unless you are a honeymoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulMoore246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinTheseira, General Manager at Filitheyo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Filitheyo Island Resort for your vacation and taking your precious time to comment on TripAdvisor. Your comments on the accommodation, services, reception, quality of food and water sports are greatly appreciated.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment. We hope that you decide to again stay with us in the future but as stated," the world is to large to keep going back". Thank you.

Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The island is pretty close to a perfect tropical island - not cheap but excellent service and ambience. The staff were efficient and kept the whole island in great shape. They quietly raked the beach every morning, and throughout the day swept up leaves and cleared rubbish. Bungalows were cleaned twice a day. The bungalows are very attractive. We stayed in one on the beach, which was shaded by trees - a welcome relief from the heat of the day but leaving a clear view of the sea. The outdoor shower is an attractive feature, although being open it was vulnerable to mosquitoes. The mosquitoes are a problem which the resort tries hard to control, but effective repellent is a must, as is sun screen.

Food is pretty good - plenty of curries, and very fresh sashimi, but also a range of other cuisines prepared to a high standard. Main problem is the temptation to eat far too much.

Our main reason for going was to dive. The Werner Lau operation is excellent - very efficient but with a very relaxed atmosphere. We have dived with the same operator in Marsa Alam in Egypt and experienced the same level of subtle efficiency.

Apart from the mosquitoes the only problem is the relatively high price and the slight niggle that you have to pay for drinking water - not a lot in comparison with the overall cost of staying, but providing a free bottle to each room or person each day would have looked a bit more generous.

Room Tip: If you are a diver, cabins in the range 45 to 110 are close to the entry points for the house reef w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinTheseira, General Manager at Filitheyo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Filitheyo Island Resort and taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you found the surroundings, accommodation and food to your satisfaction.

We are also pleased that you have commented on the Dive Center as being excellent and with a relaxed atmosphere. We will forward this to their management.

We will look into your comment regarding water as we will be revising the AI and other arrangements for new contracts affective November 2013. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have you as our guest once again in the future.

Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After spending our honeymoon last year in one of the 5-star ultra-pampering resorts in the Maldives, we definitely didn't have high expectations for this 3-night getaway to Filitheyo! But we were definitely pleasantly surprised! It was a great place for what it was...4-star, bohemian rather than luxurious with clean comfortable cottages conveniently located on the beach.

We stayed in Superior Villa #41 conveniently located to Sunset bar and the Al Fresco spa - based on others' reviews, we requested a room between 40 and 75, and that's exactly what they gave us! It was great, but after having walked down along the beach to the higher numbers, I'd suggest staying closer to 70-100, as they have a much wider beach. Ours was great, but at high tide, the water comes right to where the beach chairs sit. Also, when you snorkel, you want to start at exit 7 (we couldn't find 8!) and swim with the current down to the lagoon at exits 2/3. Staying closer to exit 7 saves you the walk for the snorkeling.

We brought our own masks, but rented snorkels ($1/day) and fins ($4/day) from the dive center. The house reef was good, not amazing, but the water was rough, murky at times, and not always sunny, so maybe it looks better with some light coming through on a clearer day. We did see 2 reef sharks between exit 4 and 2, as well as a turtle around 4.

The food was another pleasant surprise...again not 5-star but really good with lots of variety. We were lucky our first night with tons of Maldevian curries, as well as Indian, Indonesian and Sri Lankan dishes...we couldn't be happier! But we realized the next day this must've been a Thursday special or something because after that it was much simpler. We stuck with the curries and grills the next couple of nights and they were usually pretty good. There was a fresh fruit station, homemade ice cream, and a good selection of other desserts too. The main restaurant had a great ambience at night...soft lighting and completely open with 3 large seating areas that were made cozier by being separated from one another, all converging, via walkways at the buffet area. It never seemed too crowded because the dining rooms were separated. Breakfast was decent, nothing exciting or surprising. We were on a half board package and it was definitely enough. We usually stopped at Sunset bar for a snack/light lunch in the afternoon and only spent an average of $50 (for two, without alcohol), so I'm glad we didn't opt for full board.

We visited the Al Fresco spa twice - the treatments were ok, but the setting was really great....laying on the massage bed listening to the waves was worth every penny. Overall, Sunset bar, the snorkel excursions, the private dinners, the spa....all were quite reasonably priced compared to what we'd experienced before, and for the Maldives in general. It's nothing luxurious, but it definitely made for an amazingly relaxing long weekend!

Room Tip: For Superior villas, I'd suggest staying closer to 70-100, or exit 7, as they have a much wider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Flyingpitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinTheseira, General Manager at Filitheyo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We are indeed happy that you found the resort relaxing and that you were satisfied with the food, accommodation and services that were provided.

We thank you for highlighting the spa and the experience of an Al fresco massage treatment. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to be able to serve once again should you decide to visit us again.

Area General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from two weeks on Filitheyo.

Overall we had a lovely relaxing holiday, but I would exercise caution, and a few words of advice - some of which are probably applicable to other resorts.

The reef is excellent, and only a short swim from the beech, and and even shorter swim from the water bungalows.

We had booked a deluxe detached villa, but were given a water villa - nothing was said about this - we were just shown to it - which seemed odd. "we are pleased to tell you you have been upgraded" seemed to be a missed opportunity on their part.

For a few days the sea was quite choppy, and the water villas don't insulate the sound of the sea at all - so unless you are a very heavy sleeper, ear plugs may be required on choppier nights.

The rooms are showing a lack of investment and are dated; especially the bathrooms. The spa bath in our room could not be used as a spa since there was a horrific smell of stagnant water every time we used it - after mentioning this the room buy did put some bleach in the bath (and never came back) and this improved it but did not completely solve the issue. Since we got a spa bath as a free upgrade this didn't really bother us.

We didn't see in the other rooms, but the water villas were very sparse in their decoration. Not a single piece of artwork or colour to brighten them up. The sun lounger covers are all cracked and faded (the same across the entire resort). We didn't go to the Maldives to watch TV but the tv channels didnt work properly, sound didn't work on some, and the picture was broken up on most "they have been like that for years" we were told. Have TV and set it up properly, or don't have it at all!

The food was excellent. Great choice. My wife has a Gluten allergy and the head chef met with her each night and went through everything that she could and couldn't eat. They even made her a few special dishes; excellent - no complaints here at all.

Ali, the waiter who looked after us was also excellent, as was Gino, one of the supervisors. We understand it would make the tipping complex, but we found sitting at the same table for every meal every day rather monotonous.

The room boy was nice enough, although he called us a few days before we left to say he was leaving the resort for a few days and could he have his tip!!

We made one large mistake - we didn't realise it was Ramadan, This means that most staff are fasting during the day and "flipping" their eating to the night, meaning many are tired and hungry during the day. I would NEVER go to a resort again where staff where practising this activity. In addition, on the last 3 days some "VIP" government guests stayed and didn't eat till 2am, finishing at 4am, so the staff were even more tired the next day. Point of note Filitheyo - the VIP's are the ones paying, not the ones on a freebie!

We went half board, but be warned; you will still run up quite a bill. Drinks and outings are not cheap; we ran up £1k per week (2 of us), just having the odd lunch (not every day), drinks in the evening and a couple of spa treatments.

We hired a canoe, and also went out with the sail chap for a half day cruise to a couple of islands. We enjoyed this although it took 3 days to organise as the sail guy left the island and didn't come back for 3 days - and nobody else could cover for him.

Take your own snorkelling equipment - hiring it is very expensive.

You don't go on holiday to use the internet, but $5 (plus taxes) an hour or $100 a week is plainly ridiculous and I am sure more people would buy it if it were more reasonable.

Likewise being told the tap water was undrinkable and having to buy ALL water I think it too much on a holiday of this cost. You could eat in the sunset bar for variation, but this was a minimum of $50 a head (bearing in mind you have already paid for dinner in the main restaurant), which again I think was too much and the fact the place was always empty suggested the guests thought the same.

Room service seemed to be a strange concept - we were asked to go to reception to get a wifi code when we called up, and go to the bar to order and then they would deliver to your room!

The spa was excellent - lovely secluded rooms (6 of them) in the middle of the island would actually make very nice guest guest rooms; if they aren't using all 6 regularly I'd recommend they converted a couple of them.

My wife tried to organise diving but after 5 visits to the dive centre we failed to speak to anyone, every time people were busy selling "STAFF" (why?!?!) T shirts....

The snorkelling was however so good, that there seemed little point diving. We saw Rays, Sharks and all fish-life whilst snorkelling. Beware the angry Trigger fish!

Staff in the bars and restaurants were very friendly, but a few didn't know how to get a cork out of a wine bottle; I'm not joking, I had to take over from one chap as he was just bending the cork screw over.

To summarise, we had a wonderful relaxing holiday, but FIlitheyo needs investment - roofs of most buildings were in need of repair, the decor is dated and and (Spa aside) it doesn't feel like a true luxury resort.

The Pool area is nice (aforementioned tatty sun loungers aside) but nowhere near big enough for the size of resort and number of guests.

There is plenty of space on the island, but the main restaurant can feel pretty busy when the resort is at capacity (over 250 people).

The majority of guests appeared to be German (nearly all smokers!), Russians, French and Chinese.

Would we go again? No, but to be fair my wife and I like to go somewhere new when we go on holiday so this isn't a totally negative point.

Management do need to invest in the resort, and training in the staff. They also need to consider some of the pricing strategies which I actually think are harming income.

I'm truly surprised at the number of people who keep going back to FIlitheyo in it's current condition - my wife and I do a lot of travelling to all sorts of type, styles and levels of hotel and resort (please see my 40 or so reviews) and at the moment, FIlitheyo whilst lovely is missing the "wow" factor.

The frustrating thing is that it wouldn't take that much to make it a star or two better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank edwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinTheseira, General Manager at Filitheyo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you staying with us and taking the time to write a very extensive review of the resort and its facilities on TripAdvisor. Yes, it can be very different staying in a water villa as apposed to a Beach Villa due to the sound of the waves hitting the posts, unfortunately I do not know why you were upgraded but will ensure that all guest that are being upgraded are explained why they are being upgraded and given the opportunity to either accept the upgrade or refuse it.

We are indeed sorry to hear that a lot of your problems were not attended to effectively like the smell from your bathroom spa and the TV. Please note that we try to see to guests complaints effectively and all complaints made to the reception are followed up on until verified by the guest. We do apologize that the room boy did not make sure that the problem was actually solved.

Due to the fact that we use satellite TV, please note that very often the signal is affected by adverse whether conditions. This can even happen when it is not raining in Filitheyo. We have on several occasions brought in a satellite technician from the company concerned to see to this problem but have been informed that it is due to adverse whether conditions. We however continue to monitor this and ask that complaints with regards to your room be made to the front office as we have a TV technician on the island to deal with audio visual problems.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food, assistance given by the chef and your waiter excellent. Yes, I would agree with you that Ramadan is the fasting month and yes staff are more tired and slow to react during this period. This however does not mean that we provide a lesser service. I also hope that this did not affect you adversely.

The internet is expensive as the provider also charges quite a sum in order to provide the facility to us. We are looking into other options that may be possible in the future but for now we are continuing with the charges.

Perhaps I should explain with regards to the tap water. Desalinated water is safe for drinking, the water however after desalination is going through underground pipes where contamination can occur. It is for this reason that we don't encourage drinking tap water. The water is however safe for drinking if you bring it to a boil, this would refer to all desalinated water in most resorts in the Maldives.

I am quite confused on your comment regarding room service as Filitheyo does not have room service. It would therefore be something special should they have agreed to deliver drinks to your room.

Thank you for your comments regarding the dive center, I will pass this over to the Management. It is quite odd that this has happened as most guest find the dive center is very efficient. I am sure that if informed they will ensure that this does not happen again.

Yes, I do agree with your comment concerning the Kajan roofing on some of the structures. Although only cosmetic in nature when damaged, really makes the roofing look very ugly. As stated in several comments before this we are redoing the roofing and have completed the deluxe villas, water villas and part of the superior villas to date. We will be continuing with the rest as occupancy permits as we are often required to stop when guest complaint that the work is affecting their holidays.

We thank you for your constructive comments as they are beneficial to us in correcting and improving the resort. Thank you.

Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Been there twice, can't wait going there again in a few months.
Relaxing, calm athmosphere. Clean island, clean bungalows, friendly employees.
ABSOLUTELY GREAT FOOD! Fine beaches, great dive school, lively colourful housereef, nice sunsetbar... can't stop listing... filitheyo is my personal favourite!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Reto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinTheseira, General Manager at Filitheyo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for again choosing us as your holiday destination and for taking the time to comment on Filitheyo Island Resort on TripAdvisor. We are glad you like the setting, facilities and services we have to offer and are already arranging your future visit within a few months.

Thank you for your support and continued patronage.

Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filitheyo Island
14.6 mi away
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
#3 of 7 in Dhaalu Atoll
823 reviews
23.3 mi away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
657 reviews
23.5 mi away
Oliva Palm Cottages
Oliva Palm Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dhigurah Island
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Sun Island Resort and Spa
Sun Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Nalaguraidhoo Island
2,570 reviews
22.0 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,205 reviews
16.1 mi away
Angsana Velavaru
Angsana Velavaru
#1 of 1 in Haa Dhaalu Atoll
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filitheyo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filitheyo Island Resort

Address: Faafu Atoll, 20188
Location: Maldives > Faafu Atoll > Filitheyo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Filitheyo Island
Price Range: $240 - $1,254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Filitheyo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a breath-taking island paradise of leafy jungle foliage and sparkling white sand. Filitheyo resort is situated in Faafu Atoll, one of the most pristine atolls in the Maldives, abundant in colorful marine life and vibrant coral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Filitheyo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filitheyo Island Hotel Faafu Atoll
Hotel Filitheyo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing