We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Constance Halaveli(Halaveli Island)
$1,045
$564
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Safari Island Resort(Mushimasgali Island)
$600
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Kandolhu Maldives(North Ari Atoll)
$672
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
W Maldives(Fesdhoo Island)
$707
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,052/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ocean Beach Inn(Hangnaameedhoo Island)
$50
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Diamonds Athuruga(Athuruga Island)
$859
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Starry Night at Ukulhas(Ukulhas)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Velidhu Island Resort(Velidhoo Island)
$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,784)
Filter reviews
1,784 results
Traveler rating
1,058
493
147
52
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,058
493
147
52
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach bungalowsea walldive centrepool attendantmain barour waiterfishsea planeother islandspool barcurriesroom boysuperior roomgarden roommain beachdive schoolspeedboat transfer
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 1,784 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2018 via mobile

Me & my husband has the best time! We had 3 days in Dubai then spent 7 beautiful days in the Maldives. We had a water bungalow that was a bit tiered but it never bothered us. The view from the balcony was amazing it was such a beautiful view to wake up to daily. The food was really lovely. I'm a fussy eater but their was always good choice of food to eat. While we were at Ellaidhoo they did a Halloween themed night where all the stuff put on a show and entertained us. A BBQ was also put on which the food was lovely. This was at a extra cost but we didn't mind as it was something different then just sitting in the bar. We met some lovely people and all stuff make a really effort and work so hard to make your stay amazing. It's now 4 months on and I wish I could do the whole holiday again. It really was amazing. Thank you Ellaidhoo Hopefully one day we will return to paradise.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaidhoo_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2018

Dear Guest,

A fantastic day from the sunny side of life!

We do appreciate you for taking time & sharing your experiences here on trip advisor based on your recent visit.

Wow! We are utmost grateful to receive such a fantastically written 5* review of the hotel. We are pleased to know that you had an amazing Halloween night with all our cinnamon ambassadors. It is our pleasure to create such cinnamon moment for you.

Once again, we thank you for choosing Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon as your perfect place for a honeymoon getaway. We will definitely see you soon.

We wish you good luck and all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2018

This was the second time that we had visited Ellaidhoo, purely for the quality of the snorkelling here. I didn’t review after my first visit, it would have been quite scathing as a lot went wrong. However, I couldn’t fault the sea-life and the island was not so bad otherwise we wouldn’t have returned.

We opted for the speedboat transfer from the airport and we found this to be much quicker than waiting around the seaplane terminal for the flight to the island. What wasn’t so great was leaving at 6am for our late morning flight, especially as it was delayed anyway; the desks weren’t open for check-in and we had to hang around, maybe the seaplane back would have been a better option.

We requested a beach bungalow in a certain area and were very pleased to have been given one next door to where we stayed last year and this one had a better view. The bungalows have been refurbished, all that seems to remain of the old building is the four walls. They are now much better laid out and my only gripe would be that there was nowhere to dry wet swimming gear or to even rig up a travel washing line; all that would is needed to overcome this would be a drying rack in the redundant area of the bathroom or a permanent line across, it really wouldn’t interfere with the space.

The main restaurant, as previously, offered a variety of food and you could always find something to fill your plate. Many people from the water bungalows would eat in the main restaurant because the variety and quantity was so much better and I can vouch for that, having experienced their own restaurant last year. Special thanks to Tomas Chin who gave us a lovely leaving present of marshmallows because we hadn’t had them on the dessert menu all week ( a Cinnamon speciality, we know, from visiting other hotels in the group) and a surprise box of jujubes. It’s touches like this that make the difference.

A couple of requests to Reception were quite slow, our beach towels weren’t replaced one evening and we asked before breakfast for some to be sent to the room, after waiting a couple of hours the very helpful and happy beach attendant went and got them for us.

Sunbeds are at a premium, just because you are in a beach bungalow and have two ‘allocated’ to your room there is no guarantee that you will get the use of them. People from the other side of the island came to the beach area because ‘that side is too windy’, we saw plenty of empty beds there! We are early risers on holiday and had to get our towels on ours as soon as we were up. What we did see, however, were people from the beach bungalows putting towels on their beds and then disappearing the whole day and not using them. I’m not sure what the answer is.

We had a good stay on Ellaidhoo, we saw rays, an abundance of fish, a turtle and sharks aplenty. The current was strong this year which limited us on how far we went out but we did get some pretty good sightings from just past the outlet in the sea wall near the pump. Even in just a year the corals and anemones have got better. We will come back in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Mwingereza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaidhoo_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Dear Guest,

A fantastic day from the sunny side of life!

We do appreciate you for taking time & sharing your experiences here on trip advisor based on your recent visit.

From the bottom of our hearts we thank you for your continuous patronage to Cinnamon Hotels and Resorts as your trusted brand for your holiday destination.

We are thrilled to hear all your fantastic experiences during your stay. Our culinary team headed by our very own Executive Chef Thomas Chin is very pleased with your compliments. It is a great honor to serve you again and We always look forward for your return.

We wish you good luck and all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

Good food, very friendly staff and amazing diving. The house reef has great snorkeling (lots of fish and very shallow), and turns into a wall dive (to about 120 feet) around the entire island. Sharks, morays, Eagle Rays all common. Dive shop is great - entire staff was very professional and helpful and Sunil and team make the boat excursions fun. Check out the Manta dive if you can.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
1  Thank blkrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaidhoo_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

Dear Guest,

A fantastic day from the sunny side of life!

We do appreciate you for taking time & sharing your experiences here on trip advisor based on your recent visit.

We are overwhelmed to receive such a fantastically written 5* review of the hotel. It has been an amazing experience having you and we look forward on your next visit.

We wish you good luck and all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018

This review is mainly focused upon the snorkeling. We are both keen snorkelers and have been fortunate to visit the Maldives several times. We like to go out for about 3-4 hours a day so a good house reef is important to us, as is a variety of other snorkeling trips. We don’t tend to spend masses of time on the beach, so this review will not be that helpful if this is the focus of your holiday.

We may have been spoilt by our first Maldives trip in 2009, as we stayed at Angsana Ihuru and
Filitheyo, which both have great reefs with both good corals and fish (or at least did in 2009). What I have found is that a lot of resorts claim a great reef, only to disappoint. So I’ll try to grade the house reef based on a 1-10 scale, 1 being not worth bothering about to 10 which was Angsana Ihuru in 2009.

Ellaidhoo makes claims about its reef, and is often one of the resorts noted for having a good house reef. I would score the reef a 7/10. Lots of fish, a few sharks, eels, one turtle, but very little living coral on the main house reef. I’ve posted some photos on this review. Getting to the drop of is fairly easy. The lagoon can be a bit shallow but you can find a way out to the reef, via holes in the surrounding wall. The lagoon itself has little of interest, although I did see a stingray on one snorkel. The drop off is deep (30m plus) and it is reported that larger fish (whale sharks, manta, eagle rays) can occasionally be seen (we didn’t see them though).

The highlight of our stay was the manta snorkeling trip. I highly recommend it. I suspect other resorts in the atoll will go to the same spot, so this is not unique to Ellaidhoo. However, we saw lots of mantas, and the staff were well practiced at finding them and guiding us. A fantastic, memorable trip.

Onto the more mundane part of the review, the hotel in general.

We had a bit of wait for the transfer boat upon arrival. However, our flight was delayed, so this may not be the norm.

We stayed in the cheapest room, a standard “garden” villa. It was fine for us. The room itself was spacious, bed comfortable, clean and the AC worked. The outside space was a little limited, with a seating area just looking onto the main pathway (but we did opt for the cheap room!). We got bitten a few times, but we have got bitten at all Maldive resorts, so nothing unusual. Only a few critters in the open air bathroom. I had to evict a small lizard from my washbag, but he didn’t really mind too much.

Looking at the other rooms the beach villas look the best rooms. These have the benefit of a seaview and better outside space. However, note that all had a view of the protective seawall. The water villas looked a little tired, and I think all are semis. The main thing to note (and I would have really been disappointed if I’d paid for one of them just based on this) – no steps to the sea from each villa.

The restaurant was fine. It’s a buffet, but there was plenty of variety, and reasonably tasty. It’s not fine dining, or indeed the best buffet you’ll ever have but much as I expected. The desert dishes looked great, but usually disappointed as they tended to taste of not much (a lot of different coloured mouses etc). Breakfast was good, and service was quick. Our waitress was friendly and super efficient.

We were on the standard all inclusive. The beer and wine was fine, the cocktails were not worth the calories.

If you like the gym, this island has a great gym. No rowing machines  though, but a gym you’d likely pay to be a member of in the UK. And it’s empty!

Positives
OK house reef, lots of fish. Buffet varied, standard room AC worked well, lovely open air bathroom (we don’t mind the bugs or lizards!). Manta trip one of our Maldive highlights. Table football!!

Negatives
Mostly dead coral on the reef. Limited places to dry/hang wet clothing (a clothes rack would be very useful), mini bar not part of the all inclusive (a few house beers/wine would be nice), all inclusive cocktails not worth bothering with, limited outside space with the cheap rooms.

Would we return. Sorry, but no. The hotel itself is fine, but I would not return based on the reef.

Room Tip: water villas have no steps to ocean
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaidhoo_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

Dear Guest,

A fantastic day from the sunny side of life!

We do appreciate you for taking time & sharing your experiences here on trip advisor based on your recent visit.

It has been a pleasure to have you and we thank you for giving us an opportunity to do so.

Should you travel back to Maldives again, we hope that we get another chance to make your stay a delightful one.

We wish you good luck and all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018

Ellaidhoo is not the prettiest of Maldivian islands but groynes are a necessary evil.

Positives;
1. The house reef is pretty good. Never seen so many Moray Eels or Lionfish anywhere else. Don't be scared of the White Tip Reef Sharks (one looks quite big lol).
2. My wife asked for a particular room (305) and we got it. Right on the best part of the beach and close to the gym.Didn't hear any late night music.
3. The staff are very friendly and efficient. Special mentions to our waiter Mohammad who was very accommodating and friendly. To the bar staff Jo and Sandunika who are both excellent.
4.The restaurant, did seem like a cafe but the food was very edible with quite a choice..
5. The dive school, although my wife and I only snorkel, they were very friendly and helpful. We had camera and laptop problems which they helped with. We went on the Manta Ray trip and the night snorkel which were both amazing and good value for money.Special mention to Anjay, top, top bloke.
6. The ray feeding every evening is quite a spectacle.


Negatives;
1. As sad, not the prettiest of islands, only a small section of beach.
2 .Some parts look pretty tired, the water bungalows and the wooden patio by the bar especially.
3. Sometimes there wasn't enough bar staff. Getting my own drinks isn't a problem but empty glasses and plates were left for for quite awhile.
4.Being one of the cheaper islands, unfortunately some of the guests didn't have a clue how to behave in a civilised manner and treated the staff terribly.

We were there from the 4th January to the 18th.

All in all, we had a wonderful time and I'd recommend Ellaidhoo for it's reef and the weather. Would we go back? Most probably not as we prefer two other islands we have been to.

On another note, we flew BA and we were charged for oversized bags. Both were 27kg but we were allowed 4 bags of 23kg, how does that work?

Room Tip: Go for room 305 or the ones either side.
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank russellguard66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaidhoo_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

Dear Guest,

A fantastic day from the sunny side of life!

We do appreciate you for taking time & sharing your experiences here on trip advisor based on your recent visit.

Please note that we value your feedback. Feedback as such, helps us identify which areas we need to improve and focus on. As we continue to strive hard to provide the best facilities and better quality of service to all our valued guest, rest assured that we will take this matter as our highest priority.

Moreover, we are delighted to know that you did had an enjoyable stay. Here at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, we are always happy to assist guest with their request. Your words of appreciation to all our cinnamon ambassadors especially to our dear Amjey, Mohamed & Sandunika will certainly brightens up their day.

Till next time, we wish you good luck and all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews