We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat and stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stower Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stower Grange
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drayton
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We are lucky enough to go here at least once a year, if not more to dine and stay. It is a family run business, their hospitality is second to none and the food is amazing. The rooms are very comfortable and a couple have massive baths, im 6ft 5" tall so staying here is a real treat.

Then you go down for breakfast. The tea is served in proper tea pots that don't spill and so is the coffee. My cooked breakfast was made up of local produce and it was delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    31
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
79
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The theme seems to be as little food as possible for a large price. Recent experience and similar to a year ago. No green vegetables or carrot with venison….just parsnips and mash (boring), smallest coffee cups in Britain, smallest mince pies disguised as MINI petit fours, mean with butter and cream. Inexpensive touches could have made an average meal quite good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wddw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have eaten here twice before and have been very happy with the food and service. We stayed the night and it was so comfortable and peaceful, I would highly recomend it. We had Tarragon room at the front, huge bed no bath but big shower. The only moan is that there is nowhere to put anything in the bathroom, a shelf would make all the difference. Once again really lovely food for a large party it was very well done.Breakfast was good with plenty of fresh toast and refills of coffee. Very nice place in deed

Room Tip: ask for your desires they can probably match it!!A few four posters
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_kent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at Stower Grange recently when in Norfolk to visit our sick grandchild. The staff knew the reason for our visit and were both caring and professional. We had a beautiful, spacious room and fabulous food using obviously fresh ingredients. The grounds are peaceful and gave us a welcome space for a 'breath of fresh air'. We will be returning soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Chose this hotel based on the 5* reviews on trip advisor, so my expectations were high. When I walked into the hotel the first thing that struck me was no reception, this means someone/anyone from the bar shows you to your room, now I'm sorry and call me old school, but I expect a welcome and a "check in" at any hotel I stay in. The room was awful, horrible hall/ante room as you walked in and a dreadful 4 poster bed. The bathroom smelt damp and musty with only the basics and no toileteries and no toilet roll holder (it was on a table next to the loo). The room had the smallest TV I have ever seen, and the so called free wifi was none existent. Very tired decor.
The bar served "fake" guiness, a can agitated was offered and declined. The restaurant was okay and the scallops for starter were sublime. The main however was awful. The steak (ordered as medium) was raw and smothered in a hideous sauce. The cheese and biscuits were excellent.
The following morning I skipped breakfast and was pleased to discover on checkout that the steak had been removed from my bill, without asking I may add!
Not a great experience, needless to say I won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddie8105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

With comfortable, spacious rooms in a lovely old building set in attractive grounds this hotel outclasses the modern 4 and 5 star hotel chains. The delicious food is locally sourced; the menu is interesting and varied. Service with a smile and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights with our two dogs. Excellent facilities, staff 1st class and food top class.

Parking is ample, though on the day of a funeral wake which was well attended the grounds were full.
Obviously a popular venue locally as well as for travellers.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back but because of the position of the hotel it doesn't matter where the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djinbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drayton
6.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
4.5 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
7.9 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.6 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stower Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stower Grange

Property: Stower Grange
Address: 40 School Road, Drayton, Norwich NR8 6EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stower Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former 17th-century rectory 4 miles from Norwich city centre. Ideally placed for exploring Norwich and North Norfolk. With 11 individually decorated en-suite bedrooms you will have a comfortable stay with us. Our restaurant serves lunch and dinner and the menu reflects the seasons and the food is prepared using as many local ingredients as possible. Our professional, friendly staff will look after you from the moment you step through the front door until your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stower Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stower Grange Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing