We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!”
Review of Stower Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stower Grange
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drayton
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing !!”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I got married here on the 17th sept 2011. It really was the best weekend of our lives. We had a family get together on the friday night with the wedding on saturday. Everything was just perfect, rooms, food, service, grounds, attention to detail and organization. Right from our first meeting with Yound Richard, nothing was too much trouble. Master of Ceromonies Ian was fantastic, all guests commented on how great he was. Sally made the room look amazing, even with my ramblings about how I wanted things done. But the star of the weekend would have to be Paul, he was fantastic. Continuously supplying teas and coffees, helping dress topery trees with lights and ribbons, backing our table plan and calming me down along with Richard before I walked down the aisle. All our guests who stayed thought he was fab. Thank you so much for an absolutly fantastic wedding which we will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikki29uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    32
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
74
83
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The title of the review says it all. I married my wife here on the 3rd September 2011 and we couldn't have found a better venue. The rooms, the food, the service and overall feel of the place is just fantastic. As a previous reviewer said, nothing was too much trouble. Even our photographer said how brilliant and friendly the staff were. Every single one of our guests were saying pretty much the same thing as well. Value for money is also excellent, I put a tab of £500 behind the bar that lasted until nearly midnight, so guests only had to buy their own drinks for an hour or so. Two weeks previously at a wedding at different venue up in Leeds, the groom (I was his best man) also put a £500 tab behind the bar that lasted only an hour and we had a similar number of guests. So I think that says it all really. More importantly, even though I may be biased, it was the best wedding I had ever been to! What more can one say other than thank you Richard and everyone at Stower Grange. I hope we will be back soon, Mr & Mrs Booth.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I had our wedding at Stower Grange on the 10th September and we are absolutely blown away by the all at the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and management team, whatever the request the answer was always yes! We can not put into words how grateful we are to you all for making our day run perfectly, each and everyone of our guests raved about the food, service, rooms, gardens, literally everything! If you are considering a wedding or even a visit to this area we can not endorse Stower Grange enough! You will be made to feel welcome from the moment you set foot in the hotel, and this level stays at the highest standard until you say goodbye.
Cost wise- amazing value for money, could not fault any part of our package. The rooms are lovely, each one individual and stunning. All the staff are exceptional, the management team increbible and RIchard Snr the owner is superb (he even cooked breakfast for me and a few guest on the morning of the wedding!!).

We really can not thank you all enough! We will be back soon! Mr & Mrs Stevenson.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KillyStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
327 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This hotel is a real "find". From the minute we walked in, we felt as if we were staying in a private house being attentively nurtured by expert hosts. Staff were friendly, informative, anticipatory and deferential, without being obsequious. We experienced immediate feelings of relaxation and rather wished we could have stayed longer.
Our room was charming, the beds extremely comfortable, the shower very efficient. Welcome touches like home-made cookies added to the personal ambiance. We dined at the hotel twice and found the cooking imaginative and original, the dishes well-presented. Breakfast was a very pleasant experience. Much appreciated were the bowls of strawberries and the lack of a breakfast menu, (one simply ordered anything one fancied) My poached eggs were the best I have ever eaten!
Stower Grange is a beautiful house with an interesting history. It is set in charming grounds and is situated perfectly for exploring the city of Norwich and/or the county of Norfolk. It was pleasing to observe that several fellow guests were clearly on business and had opted to stay in this characterful and very well-run establishment, rather than a corporate chain. We shall certainly return here in the future and will encourage friends and family to follow our example. Hoteliers might also like to visit, in order to observe how a hotel should be managed . A lovely experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We had our wedding here on 22 July and it couldn't have been more perfect.
All the staff were excellent: our friends and family have all commented on this. Such a welcoming feel, nothing was too much trouble. Absolutely recommend as a venue. Thank you for everything, even the sunshine!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We booked this as a Tripadvisor recommendation & the listing is totally correct. Stower Grange is one of the nicest hotels that we have visited. We had booked dinner, bed and breakfast. Paul welcomed us and explained the history of the hotel & gave us a short tour. We then sat and rested in the quiet garden in the sunshine. Our room in the attic was full of beams, but was bright and comfortable. Our dinner that evening was fantastic and the service was superb, despite there being a rotary dinner going on at the same time in another room. We slept really well and had a freshly cooked hot breakfast in the morning. This was a real treat for our 39th wedding anniversary & was very convenient being a few miles out of Norwich. What a find! Thanks to all at Stower Grange.

Room Tip: I discussed the rooms via e-mail and was given all the options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Had a 3 course family birthday meal in a private room for 14 people. The choice of food was great and the food itself excellent. The staff were attentive without being intrusive and the overall service exceeded our expectations. Thank you to all those involved.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norwich12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drayton
4.5 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,129 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.9 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,104 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
203 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stower Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stower Grange

Property: Stower Grange
Address: 40 School Road, Drayton, Norwich NR8 6EF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stower Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former 17th-century rectory 4 miles from Norwich city centre. Ideally placed for exploring Norwich and North Norfolk. With 11 individually decorated en-suite bedrooms you will have a comfortable stay with us. Our restaurant serves lunch and dinner and the menu reflects the seasons and the food is prepared using as many local ingredients as possible. Our professional, friendly staff will look after you from the moment you step through the front door until your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stower Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stower Grange Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing