We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature Nature Nature. Did I mention Nature? ”

Phillip Island Nature Parks - Penguin Parade
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.65*
and up
Phillip Island Ultimate Penguin Eco Tour or...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Close up wonderful, heartwarming views of Australian Wildlife some in their natural surroundings. Educational boards and awe inspiring talks by rangers not forgetting the wonderful animals themselves being natural and relaxed.

Start your day when the first Park/Reserve opens so you can fit it all into one day or spend 3 nights like we did so we could cover every nook and cranny on the island.

Have fun.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank holidayalongtheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"penguin parade"
in 1,005 reviews
"no photography"
in 155 reviews
"penguins coming"
in 219 reviews
"phillip island"
in 511 reviews
"viewing area"
in 164 reviews
"general viewing"
in 112 reviews
"penguins walk"
in 76 reviews
"cute penguins"
in 86 reviews
"ultimate adventure"
in 46 reviews
"general admission"
in 98 reviews
"guided ranger tour"
in 45 reviews
"night vision"
in 40 reviews
"taking photos"
in 76 reviews
"every night"
in 49 reviews
"front row seats"
in 61 reviews
"arrive early"
in 50 reviews
"warm clothes"
in 64 reviews
Filter

37 - 41 of 4,276 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the general admissions, arrived early and were patiently waiting for the penguins.....then bus load after bus load of international tourists arrived. There were literally thousands of people. The parks guide did his best to manage their appalling behaviour. Despite this, person after person was filming and taking photos of the penguins despite bring told repeatedly that this was not allowed.
When the penguins emerged from the sea, literally dozens of tourists ran at full pace to the rope barriers. We were very worried for the welfare of these poor little creatures who have to endure this night after night.
We are more than happy to contribute financially by buying tickets, however there needs to be a restriction on the volume of people allowed to be there. Things are only going to get worse when the new mega building structure is finished next year. Please....for the sake of the penguins' welfare, limit ticket sales and increase security. Overall, a very stressful and distressing event.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank MelindaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

5 stars for the penguins, considerably fewer for the humans. This is nature shown to the masses, with a bigger facility being built. Steel yourself for many tour busses bringing many people, many of whom just don't care about the well being of the penguins. Busy on their phones and tablets, disregarding spoken and written rules to not take photos, shining their flashlights over the edges into the penguins' eyes.

The night we were there, a thunderstorm moved us all back from the seating area to the building, then when it had passed, we were allowed back along the boardwalks. So more chaotic than usual I am sure.

From a handicapped perspective, you can have someone drive you to where the busses unload, and pick you up there, avoiding the walk from the car park. There are restrooms inside. There is one small golf cart with friendly drivers who will bring you down to the seating area. But if a thunderstorm comes, you are on your own!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank vwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great nature visit with the Family. Need to be ready with the winter cold and must br properly dressed especially at the beach deck.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank ErangaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent the evening here at the end of October, and we had THE BEST TIME. We booked the Penguins Plus premium seating, and got there early enough to be right in the front. We saw hundreds of little blue penguins walking by about a metre in front of us, as well as some wallabies and rabbits hopping about.

Note that there is no photography allowed, and honestly I don’t think you could get any good photos anyway in the twilight, so leave your equipment at home and just enjoy the lovely experience.

Pro-tip: Make sure you dress for the weather, since this activity is outside. Bring a blanket or towel to sit on, and a windbreaker for sure!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank amflhu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillip Island Nature Parks - Penguin Parade also viewed

 

Been to Phillip Island Nature Parks - Penguin Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing