We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bloody Mary's

Bloody Mary's
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Vaitape
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Polynesian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Pedro, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Bloody Mary's is a pricey tourist restaurant with rather poor service. We were a large group of 12 people on a charter sail, so they stuck us in the back of the restaurant where few servers ventured all evening. I'll give four stars for the very fresh fish but I did need to return my seared tuna as it was over cooked but cold by the time I received it. Okay for one visit; I would not return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CoralDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    364
    207
    49
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good food, but felt like we were being herded through like cattle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our tuna steaks were huge and cooked perfectly. Cost about 3,500 francs each. Our only complaint was we felt like cattle. The restaurant sure knows how to turn tables fast. We were picked up at 7:45 from the Sofitel, dropped off and ushered to a table showcasing the meals for the night. We had to order our meal immediately then were shown our table. All the food ordered by that 7:45 bus arrives at once so that the bus can take us all back to our hotel by 9:00. The whole experience feels rushed but the food was good so our feelings are mixed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had a beautifully cooked teriyaki wahoo fillet here. The preparation is basic - very plain salad and rice accompaniments - but the fish is super fresh and the fillets are large. This is not a gourmet experience, but frankly not much in Bora Bora is, and this place does not pretend to be something it isn't. It has a very fun atmosphere and with the sand floors and decor, the only thing missing was a bit of Jimmy Buffet music.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 12TravelCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wahoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We ate here on our second to last night on the island. The food was amazingly fresh. We had an appetizer of steak and tiger shrimp. The steak was tender and the shrimp perfectly done. I had swordfish and my wife had a teriyaki wahoo. The swordfish was perfectly done and delicious, but the wahoo was fantastic!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LegLamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go and Have Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Remember when you go - You are there to have fun and enjoy the experience. It is a very good restaurant - great Bloody Mary's, and good food. It is not a five-star dining establishment, but GO, it's fun. The food is very good and it should be on your must-do list when visiting Bora Bora. Cool idea for a menu (no menu) just the food, point and pick. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloody Mary's also viewed

Bora Bora, Society Islands
 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to Bloody Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing