We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dinner/Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bloody Mary's

Bloody Mary's
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Vaitape
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Dinner/Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a great dinner here. They picked us up from the hotel for our reservation. When we arrived, the hostess explained the options for dinner that evening and took our order. We were then shown to our seats. The atmosphere was tropical - thatched roof, sand floor (they even have a shoe check!) and log stools. Dinner was tasty, but the local-made vanilla ice cream was the hit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 908AndreaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    407
    243
    55
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun, tourist attraction.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was well aware of the tourist attraction that Bloody Mary's is known for, so was somewhat prepared for our evening meal.

In a nutshell, Bloody Mary's is a bar and grill, with soft sandy floors.As you enter, you are directed to an area where the food is laid out on ice. You then select what you would like to eat. After selecting your dinner, you are led to your table and provided with the cocktail list (decent list too).

We were seated at the back of the restaurant which we really liked as it was much quieter, and more intimate.

The food was good and fresh however, would not be one of the best meals during our Bora Bora trip.

It's such a must do tourist thing to do when in Bora Bora, and doing it once too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlatinumFreqFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Got Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Love this place. American owned and operated. They picked us up from the Sofitel and it was a 10 minute drive to Bloody Mary's. walk in and you are immediately struck by the simple beauty of the restaurants design. Hard to explain how sand floors and no walls can be elegant but it is. Kick off your shoes and walk up to the menu, which is simply a refrigerated table displaying the fresh fish that was caught a few hours ago. You can get the traditional Ahi, Mahi Mahi and other fish that you now or you can try some local fish that you can only get here. We opted for moon fish and a couple others that were amazing. We are headed back to Bora Bora this July and plan on dining at Bloody Mary's two of our 7 nights. Smile elegance, great food, well run.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndreasWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great novelty visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I popped into Bloody Marys on our trip around the island, and we were glad we stopped. We both had cheeseburgers and pina coladas which were great. Not badly priced, and a fun place to stop.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilmisshaley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiria District, Portugal
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice cocktails, Food is too simple”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The restaurant has fantastic set, the design, etc, very popular with famous people.

I have eaten there many times.

You get in and choose your fresh fish.
However food is too simple and unappetizing and the local lagoon fish is poorly prepared, they need a menu revamp.

Service to my standards is poor.

I recommend going to dine in Raiatea, they have better restaurants.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloody Mary's also viewed

 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to Bloody Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing