We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Robert et Tina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vaitape
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Robert et Tina
Ranked #3 of 3 Vaitape B&B and Inns
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

With a tight budget my family and I did a 3 week 5 island stand in French Polynesia. I will admit going in and based on reviews etc I was a little worried but Robert and Tina proved to be exactly what I was hoping for - decent value for the money. A little rough around the edges and it could be better or worse depending on whom you share facilities with but for us it was more than adequate. Quite frankly I have spent as much money on a run down motor hotel in the Texas panhandle than I did for a place on the water in this most desirable of locations. Well situated, accessible snacks (small restaurants), convenience and grocery store, as well as booking tours - both in house and you can use the concierge at the resort next door. If you want to be waited on hand and foot, go to the $500 a night resorts. If you want to see Bora Bora (and despite the hype about being overly touristed, it is definitely worth visiting) but cant print your own money, Robert and Tina may work for you as well as it did for us. Try and get the second floor rooms - the ocean breeze makes for much more comfortable nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martaldent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    17
    10
    13
See reviews for
15
37
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

AS a budget traveller I had been put off visiting Bora Bora in the past because of the high cost of hotel accommodation..This very compact place is within a five minute walk of the best beach on Bora bora, has shared kitchen facilities ..It has shared bathrooms, but is clean ,friendly and affordable.
.It is located down an unsealed lane immediately behind the Hotel Intercontinental at Matira point.It has a number of smallish rooms .most withsea views. It seems popular with a variety of age groups ,backpa rers from France to older couples.
I stayed there for four nights and found it a handy location for exploring the island and great for just relaxing on the beach.A grocery store and a number of small resaurants are all handy.
The hostess (Tina the younger) spoke really good English and was really on to it as far being helpful and friendly.
Its a great place to stay, looking forward to going back next year









FRANCE TO OLDER COUPLES.
.I STAYED FOUR NIGHTS , FOUND THEIR WERE A NUMBER OF REASONABLE PLACES TO EAT AND GROCERY STORE FOR SUPPLIES,
iT WAS A GOOD BASE FOR EXPLORING THE ISLAND, AND THE HOSTESS (TINA THE YOUNGER ) SPOKE REALLY GOOD ENGLISH AND WAS REALLY ON TO IT AS FAR AS BEING HELPFULL AND FRIENDLY.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite small and you can get a bit of noise at nights from guests banging /closing doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qtowngeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in a shared bathroom room with seaview. We were lucky cause we were the only guests in our 3 room unit so we had actually an apartment. The room was basic but clean. The location is just perfect. The only public beach on the main island is just a 5 minute walk. A small store is about 10 min. There is a small souvenir shop at the road. If you purchase for 2000 XPF you get the wifi password so you can check your mails through out your entire stay. Bikes are available as well.
We didnt saw much of Robert and Tina but Tina greeted us always with a smile.
The english speaking receptionist was super friendly.
Sure its not cheap compared to other countries but you are in middle of the pacific on one of the most beautiful islands close to the only beach.
And compared to the overpriced over water bungalows just next door this place is great value.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GoedDruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Chez Robert & Tina and would have loved to spend more. For the budget traveller to Bora Bora, this is an excellent choice. Our room was on the upper floor at the back with the veranda facing a garden area with the sea in the background. As a result we were pleasantly sheltered from the winds which can gust on this point. Our room was spacious, clean and bright with windows on three walls. The private bathroom is cute and whilst the shower is cold, this is not really an issue. In comparison to other budget/mid range accommodation in the Society Islands we believe this is excellent value for money,particulary given this is Bora Bora. There is a pristine sheltered beach within 5 mins walk, internet is available at the shop at the end of the road and the grocery store is approx 15mins walk. We booked in for the lagoon tour, however the day we wanted was full, this was no issue, we were booked into a tour with the next door pension. The tour really highlights the aquatic beauty of the island. We met Tina who was very friendly as was the receptionist whose hospitality was astounding, she was extremely friendly and helpful with all our queries and spoke perfect english. The kitchens were good with a stunning view. While it can be windy, when the winds die down, this location has an absolutley stunning view, one that is private for the few guests, unlike the crowded bungalows of the expensive intercontinental just down the road. We loved it here and will hopefully return in the future. If you want value for money in Bora Bora, this is it!

Room Tip: The ensuite double at the back of the pension is quiet, spacious, modern and has a lovely garden/sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NollaigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
224 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

A great place to stay for a few days in Bora Bora.
It has a brilliant location and the rooms are fine, if basic. But, they are affordable! Views from the front top floor rooms....well you pay $800 for it at the Intercon next door! There is a very good public beach next door and you can swin from the pensions small beach.
Didn't see much of Robert or Tina and the place was very quiet when we were there.
There are a few restaurants at the end of the drive (2 minutes walk), a general food store about 10min walk away. The Pension has a nice shared kitchen for cooking own food, though the utensils are very basic and old. The small restaurant opposite the drive rents mopeds and if you are feeling super rich you can hire a jet ski next door.
The Pension will arrange transfers from the airport ferry if you ask - it's not free but cheaper than a taxi.
Maybe harsh rating a three...anywhere else it would be three stars as its a bit run down, but in Bora Bora it seemed a godsend to us and our budget!

Room Tip: Front top floor rooms....maybe the best views in the world??
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pennydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Bowa Bowa is the best place in the world-better than heaven. Rober et Tina is the best real estate in the world and has a well known, windy rap, because the trades blow right through the south tip of the island. It is far from the stores and transport, though all is accessible...loved her, hated him. Bring hard, wrapped candy for the kids.

Room Tip: Get upstairs room. Avoid Americans and French.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAUPITIMIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Kind hard working woman, goood price, very nice breakfest, beautiful cort in the place. But does not speak english.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alex30000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaitape
0.5 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
5.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Robert et Tina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Robert et Tina

Property: Chez Robert et Tina
Address: Pointe Matira, Vaitape 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora > Vaitape
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vaitape
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Chez Robert Et Tina Bora Bora/Vaitape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing