We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BORA BORA ROBERT&TINA”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vaitape
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Robert et Tina
Ranked #2 of 3 Vaitape B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 22, 2011

GOOD:
· Robert is a harsh host, no real welcome on arrival, but Tina and the receptionist were friendly. The room with private bathroom was clean and small. No hot water.
· There is a store (tiare market) in the “center”, a few minutes to walk. Next to the mainroad is a roulette and a souvenir shop to rent bikes. 1500,- per day.
· The lagoon-tour was nice. Halfday 7000,- pp (8:45-12:45). First you pick up all customers by boat, then you feed the sharks just lefthandside of the only pass. You can snorkel with them and dive to the lemonsharks on the ground. Might be 6-8 meters. Then you head to a manta feeding point, not deep. About 10 are coming when they smell food. Next is a coral-garden with moray eels, not deep also not that intact. At least after cruising around the island, you stop at a picknick motu. Halfday some water and fruits, fullday(8:45-16:00) BBQ and the rest of the time spending there.
NORMAL:
· there is a transport by minibus from the airport to matira, if you reserve in advance! (500,- per person). Otherwise you have to take a taxi.
· The beach is small, clean. Impossible to walk further on the beach. Most of the sand was taken away, remaining are rocks.
BAD:
· No good corals, a few fish.
· The scenery with so many closed resorts and rundown houses looks desolated. 2-3 days are enough.
· There is a lot of traffic on the water. Private boats, catamarans, jetskis… They like to speed here.
· Almost every house has a minimum of 1 dog! Sometimes they are roaming, a few aggressive, chasing bikes and cars. That’s not agreeable. Nice holiday...
CONCLUSIONS:
· The lagoon-tour was good, but the rest is overpriced and not worth the expense. The hype is over, a few days to visit enough. Coming back? BORA: NO; PENSION: YES.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank coralkong502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 85 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

Going to Bora Bora, not willing to spend a fortune? This is your place.

It is located on Pointe Matira, on the southern tip of the island, with a little beach of it's own. The rooms and facilities are clean, the kitchens are well equipped. I had a room with a balcony with lagoon view - I don't think the overwater bungalows in the luxury resorts do a better job. And the staff members are friendly and helpful - what do you want more?

Self catering (supermarket nearby) as well as good restaurants are just in the vicinity. And the place is clean and well maintained.

TGhe only problem: The business doesn't have a web site, you have to inquire by mail. But it's really worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skystone-vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

1. Confirm your reservation with them to make sure that is no confusion.

2. Arrange your transport or you would have to hire a taxi to reach Matira.

3. This pension is located at the Southern tip of the island, and is about 5 minutes walk to the main island road.

4. I rated the pension based on the price that I paid for the room. If you expect a proper hotel room you would have to pay at least twice the price. Room was generally clean, with one reading lamp and a ceiling with no speed control. No TV. Ocean view was superb. Toilets and kitchens are shared. We cooked quite a lot and did not have any problem.

5. Beach is private but the current was always strong (because of the location). But the closest public beach is only few minutes walk away.

6. Their snorkeling trip was great. The guide was a local and he will sing and play ukulele for you. But bring your own gears (they don't provide any).

7. Their staffs were friendly although not everyone speaks English. Tina was friendly and kind to us.

8. We were cautious with our belongings during the stay, and locked everything in our big luggage when we went out. But nothing bad happened to any guests during our stay.

9. There is a small magasin (mini market?) 15 minutes walk away, for larger one visit Chin Lee market at Vaitape.

10. Taxi fare to Vaitape is 1000 cpf for two.

11. No internet is provided. Closest place you could get public internet is a boutique store at main road 5 mins walk away, 500 cpf for 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nmdjackal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Don’t think you can get a much better (budget) deal on Bora Bora. For the 1st night we tried to save money by going camping. We arrived late at the port and were lucky to get a lift to the other side of the island (as there is no public transport and just a few taxis). Finally, we ended up on a really remote campsite (actually not even a campsite but just a strip of grass squeezed in between a shabby pension and a construction site) in the middle of nowhere, far away from any sort of beach. We were starving but to get to the nearest restaurant we had to walk all the way back to Matira in the dark which took us more than 1.5 hours. We found that this would be no option for the next 3 days…

The next morning we escaped to “Chez Robert et Tina” and had a good time at this hotel – room with a balcony, ocean view, and a private beach just in front of the house. Everything was more or less clean. Considering the money we saved by not having to pay for a taxi twice a day to go the beach and back to the campsite the hotel room was not much more expensive. Plus, everything we needed was within walking distance in Matira village. And we didn’t see the owner apart from the check-in so we didn’t have any bad experiences with them (like some other travelers reported). We tried our best to speak some French, and Tina was friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mimobloggt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

This place is really great located, we stayed here for 12 nights, this is our experience:

1) We had a burglary in our room when we were in the kitchen downstairs for 5 min. Our Ipod and mobile were stolen even though our room was locked.
Since the mobile was stolen we didn´t have an alarm so we asked the staff to wake us up the following morning at 8. They didn´t.

2) The staff don´t speak english

3) They don´t have any clue about their own neigbourhood-they told us that snorkeling-equipment and canoes could be rented at Novotel. This is not the case. Most of the activities are only possible to arrange if you live in a resort.

4) They had doublebooked our room that we had booked 5 months ago.

5) We wanted to go to Le Meridien to swim with turtles, they organised a taxi for us but the taxi showed up 30 minutes to early and they were superstressed and said that we had to leave right now not to miss the boat to Le Meridien. This was not true, we had to run to the taxi and instead we had to wait for the boat 30 min.

6) They didn´t tell us that a reservation must be made to Le Meridien before arrival. When we arrived the hotel staff at Le Meridien informed us that we weren´t allowed to be there without a reservation from our hotel/guesthouse.

7) Another couple had to bring new sheets for the guests that were coming after them.

Summary: If you don´t speak french you can´t communicate with the staff. If you´re just staying one night its OK but not longer.

The area is full of agressive dogs, not very nice to go outside after dark.

Bring your own snorkeling equipment to Bora Bora.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank marienilsson146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We haven been stolen while having dinner in the kichen!
Someone climbed in our room through the balcony and also went in the room of our neighbours (another couple). Two rooms were robbed.
The worst was that Tina (the owner) just said: it is between the guests. meaning we stole eachother!?!
This attitude is not acceplable.
Then when I asked to make some phone calls to block my credit cards. While phoning, she was counting the time.
She wanted me to make me pay, even just having been robbed and having no monney!
They are unfriendly and rude, even if you speak french.
If you look for a budget place go and try: chez Nono which also offers nice beach.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chager77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

May, 2008. Robert and Tina's Pension was fantastic! Tina is a doll always greeting us with a huge smile and Maruru greeting. We stayed in a ground floor room and balcony room and both were wonderful. The balcony room had magnificent views. We easily swam and sunned on a private beach in front of the Pension and could walk waist deep nearly a mile to the barrier reef. We did a day trip to a private beach owned by Tina's family and had a glorious tropical picnic along with swimming and snorkeling. We swam with white tip sharks, sting rays, myriads of tropical fish and enjoyed a ukulele musician/singer who traveled with us on the boat under the guidance of Tina's husband. Good shared kitchen, nice shared shower and beautiful gardens along with a fresh magnolia behind my ear each morning. Boche balls with Tina's dad Robert in the evenings. I would highly recommend this pension to anyone and I am sure there are not many with as great of views, congenial hosts and access to the water.
Mac McConnell

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macbigddaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaitape
0.5 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
277 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,668 reviews
5.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Robert et Tina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Robert et Tina

Address: Pointe Matira, Vaitape 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora > Vaitape
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vaitape
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Chez Robert Et Tina Bora Bora/Vaitape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing