We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Pure Snorkeling by Reef Discovery tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Pure Snorkeling by Reef Discovery
from $126.50
More Info
from $638.20
More Info
Reviews (2,532)
Filter reviews
1,782 results
Traveler rating
1,710
56
8
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,710
56
8
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eagle rays coral gardens fish speed boat snorkeling trip bora bora marine life my husband and i first stop great guide sea horses different locations small group amazing snorkeling bread snorkeling spots great trip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,782 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We had a awesome tour with Vehi, our guide! Vehi was very knowledgeable with underwater life and ensured we saw a ton of marine life. Vehi snorkeled along side us and pointed out the little creatures the average person would not see. We saw spotted eagle rays, manta rays and fish of all different sizes, shapes and colors!

1  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We lucked out and were able to see everything. Manta and eagle rays, great fish and coral. Arthur was a great guide...super knowledable about everything we were seeing and was able to answer any questions. Have done a bunch of these in various places and would rank it near the top.

Thank Relax48202763297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

We had booked a private Snorkeling Excursion with Pure Snorkeling and it was one of the best Snorkeling experiences we have ever had!! The boat we were picked up in was very nice. It had a canopy, very comfy chairs and was very clean. Fabien was our guide. He was very knowledgeable about Bora Bora above the water and below. We saw a Manta, Sting Rays, a huge school of Bat Rays and Spinner Dolphins. We went outside the lagoon to Snorkel in 30 feet of water which was amazing. So many fish and interesting sea floor with shallow canyons. Inside the Lagoon we went to a coral garden which show cased many different kinds of coral....again lots and lots of fish. After Snorkeling, we had a delicious lunch which was island fare, Fresh fish salad, beef, chicken, baked bananas, sweet potatoes, coconut bread and rice. The dessert was so good! Cooked banana in coconut milk. If you are looking for a top notch snorkeling experience, Pure Snorkeling is the only way to go! Ask for Fabien, he is awesome!!

Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilanie L, Responsable relations clients at Pure Snorkeling by Reef Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Ia Orana Kimberly,

We are so glad to read your review.. and that you were able to see all the different species!
Fabien is an amazing guide and he truly loves his job. I will make sure that we will pass the message to him!
It means everything to us to have happy guests as we do our best everyday to provide the best quality of service.

We will be waiting for you on your next trip to Bora Bora !
The Reef Discovery Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We had a great day with Vahi and saw some awesome coral, fish and rays. We started at the coral garden where we experienced a moray eel, reef shark and lots and lots of fish. We then swam over a manta ray before visiting the aquarium. Unfortunately it was rough on the day so Vahi couldn't take us to a different spot that he prefers. We finished off with a pod of eagle rays, great morning all round!

Thank 681georgiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilanie L, Responsable relations clients at Pure Snorkeling by Reef Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Ia orana,

Thank you so much for your feedback!! We are so glad to read that you spent such a great time with Vehi :) Vehi, is indeed, a wonderful guides who loves his lagoon and its habitants! Make sure that we will pass him the message.

See you next time hopefully,

The Reef discovery team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We saw a pod of dolphins by the channel out to the ocean that was amazing! We saw every type of ray we could. The coral garden was beautiful. The aquarium was amazing and there was a morey eel there as well! Vehi was fantastic!

Thank Sherpa288411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilanie L, Responsable relations clients at Pure Snorkeling by Reef Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Ia Orana,

We are glad to read your awesome feedbacks on your experience with us.
Vehi is an amazing guide and he truly loves what he does, be sure that we will pass the message to him!

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the next future :-)


Sunny regards from all of our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very fortunate to spend a gorgeous day with our guide Fabien who was both extremely knowledgeable after living in the area for more than two decades and because he was outright fun and wanted us to have a grand time. At one point we asked him if we might be able to head over to where we might see some whales (not really part of the planned trip) and he took us to a place where we did indeed see a pod of whales traveling along the reef and we got some great pictures. He put us right on top of a massive Manta Ray, and into the Coral Gardens where he actually could take us to particular Coral Heads where he knew particular fish that would come out and come right up to your mask. Lots of history of the area as we went along and lots of stops. Couldn't have been a better way to spend a 1/2 day. Ask for Fabien!

Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilanie L, Gérant at Pure Snorkeling by Reef Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Ia Orana Steve,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write something about your experience.

Fabien is a wonderful guide, passionate and very experienced. Make sure that he will get your message!

We are so glad that you spent such a great time with him :)

See you next time !

Reef Discovery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My best friend and I visited Bora Bora just 1 week ago. We were blown away by it's beauty. We booked a snorkling tour with reef discovery with the hope of seeing Mata Rays. Our first tour we had Arthur who was extremely professional, a wealth of knowledge and incredible to watch interact with the marine life...however due to the conditions we were unable to see Mantas. But Arthur made sure our experience was exceptional he went out of his way to add to the tour and spent a great deal of time looking for Mantas which we were very appreciative of. The only dissapointment on this trip were the very obnoxious and overbearing American guests that were also on our tour. They were very inappropriate with Arthur and his personal life and intruded on our personal space and took photos of us without our consent at the end of our tour. That said it was a wonderful experience but we were desperate to see Mantas so we contacted Reef Discovery and although they had limited spots they went out of their way to fit us in again just before left. This trip we had Hiro a different kind of guide but equally as professional and experienced. He had a more relaxed approach and also was very knowledgeable and involved in the tour. We loved that although we took the same tour each guide offered something different so the experience was just as AMAZING. Plus this trip we saw MANTAS!!!!! and the guests on the boat were so lovely and pleasent. I would highly reccomend this company and in a few short years i plan to return to Bora Bora with my husband and children and i will 100% be booking with reef discovery.

Thank Ange R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilanie L, Responsable relations clients at Pure Snorkeling by Reef Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Ia Orana Ange,

A big MAURUURU ROA for the feedback and all the details, it is so good to hear!

Arthur and Hiro are wonderful and very experienced guides who loves their job. Make sure that we will pass the message to them!

We are glad that you enjoyed the tour and that you saw the manta rays,

See you soon hopefully with all your family for more adventures!

Warm regards from the Reef Discovery Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited Bora Bora and wanted to do some snorkeling, but with a private guide who had some scientific knowledge. Boy, did we get that! We booked a 3hr private trip, and got into the water 4 times. The reefs are in great condition and are abundant with sea life. Being a private trip, it was casual and relaxed. The highlight, however, was just spending time with Arthur. This dude knows his stuff! A marine biologist who leads snorkeling trips on his "days off," he has a wealth of knowledge to share about the reefs and coral gardens, the water they're in, and the animals and vegetation that share them. All around, great stuff. Only one (tongue in cheek) criticism of Arthur - he's kind of a baby when it comes to water temperature. It was 82 degrees on our visit, and he wouldn't get in without full wet suit, gloves and cap. C'mon, Arthur!! That aside, I highly recommend this outfit and Arthur in particular.

Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilanie L, Responsable relations clients at Pure Snorkeling by Reef Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Ia Orana,

In the name of Arthur, thank you so so much for all the kind words.

It means everything to us! He is very passionate and loves to share all his knowledge with his guests.

So glad you loved it, see you next time!

Reef Discovery Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After much research, and in anticipation of our Windstar Cruise, we booked a snorkel trip with Pure Snorkeling. I had read that they could find Manta Rays, which was on my bucket list. They did not disappoint! We not only found them, but also went to several other fantastic spots where we saw eels, Spotted Eagle Rays millions of fish, and a very pristine coral site with no one else in sight. We are so grateful for Frederick, the conscientious guide who made this the trip of a lifetime for us.

Thank luvsnorklng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilanie L, Responsable relations clients at Pure Snorkeling by Reef Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Ia Orana,

Mauruuru roa for your feedback, we are very happy to read that you spent a wonderful time with Fred your guide :)

He is indeed a wonderful guide! Make sure that he will get the message.

We hope that you had a great time here in our little piece of Paradise, and we will be more than happy to welcome you again.

The Reef Discovery Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I shared a lagoon tour/snorkeling excursion with two other couples. We'd heard great things about the snorkeling in regards to manta rays, eagle rays, and sharks...and we were not disappointed.

We want to give a HUGE shoutout to our guide/captain, Vehi. He somehow knew all the exact spots to find a giant manta ray, huge gams of sharks, and a school of eagle rays...this is while other boats were circling around trying to find anything.

We highly recommend!

Thank mpickart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilanie L, Responsable relations clients at Pure Snorkeling by Reef Discovery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Ia Orana,

Thank you for you feedback and all the details. It is very helpful for us to improve everyday our service.

Vehi is indeed a wonderful guide who pay attention to his guests and offers the best service.
Make sure that we will pass the message to him.

Your happiness is our best reward, so thank you once again for all the kind words.

See you next time hopefully, Reef Discovery Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews