We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming country side resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de la Begude
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Opio
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A charming country side resort”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I honestly loved the stay, was the start of spring season and had taken the terrace room. The room is spacious with door leading out to the terrace with a view of greens and the mountains. Lovely countryside, very peaceful.

The one downside was the bathroom, the shower area in not enclosed and tight , difficult to take shower with water spilling out and creating a mess.

Breakfast can be improved with more offerings of fresh cheese and juices.

Room Tip: If you can take the rooms with the terrace, or rooms facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoeb Habib H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Begude, Assistante commerciale at Chateau de la Begude, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur,

Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de nous écrire votre ressenti quant à votre séjour.

Sachez que nous prenons en considération chacune de vos remarques que nous nous efforcerons d'améliorer à l'avenir dans la mesure du possible.
Nous sommes, d'autre part, ravis que le cadre de notre domaine vous ai apporté repos et satisfaction.

Nous espérons vous accueillir à nouveau dans un futur proche et restons à votre disposition pour toute demande d'information.

Cordialement,

Samantha Mény
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    97
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
145
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at Chateau de la Begude with my wife for three nights in August. We had a very nice time. Booked a Deluxe room (well, the only hotel room that was available. We booked on the same day we arrived.). Room was very clean, well functioning air conditioning which was great since it was extremely hot. We had dinner at the restaurant of the hotel the first night which we very much enjoyed. It wasn't cheap but the food was very good and well presented.

The second night we wanted to order from the room service menu since my wife did not feel well. After the restaurant had taken my order they called back and informed me that my choice was not available, ok, ordered something different. When the food arrived the chef had altered the composition of the dish, sides etc. Also, the salad that I ordered did not arrive. The lady who delivered the food was embarrassed as she knew that what she brought was not what I asked for. When asked why that happened she said the chef did not want to make French fries and salad as sides and made rice instead. I was puzzled. No room service for me anymore with this chef!

But despite the room service experience we very much enjoyed the stay. Very nice and large swimming pool and we also used the driving range. Cannes, Grasse, Vence are all not far away. Chateau de la Begude is a very nice and quiet place to relax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Begude, Responsable commercial at Chateau de la Begude, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,



We would like to thank you for your kind comment. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Le Château de la Bégude.

I shared with our Chef your comment concerning the room service and understand your disappointment. We therefore decided to change the offer so that your disagreements do not appear again.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon.



Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Chateau de la Begude is part of Opio Valbonne Golf Club and only 5 minutes from the beautiful old town of Valbonne.
Here we ate a fabulous dinner. The restaurant was fully booked due Jazz entertainment, but the arranger that extra table for us.
We ate a delicious fresh lightly fried duck liver, and finished with a lamb dish that was absolutely wonderful.
I heartily recommend this hotel.
Car is necessary to get there, but then you have the chance to visit Valbonne and Mougins.
At the reception they told us that they're going to start a Spa which is scheduled for completion in the spring.
Golf & Spa... can it get any better?

Room Tip: We were given room no. 6 A room without a view of the golf course, but a very nice and big room. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swde_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Begude, Responsable commercial at Chateau de la Begude, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,



We would like to thank you for taking time and share your experience with us. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your night at our restaurant

Each summer, we organize live jazz dinners on the terrace of our restaurant and we hope to have the pleasure to meet you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is so worth traveling too. It's not located along the coast like many of the other tourist cities, but more in the quite country side. The hotel its self is lovely, and the room I had with a private terrace was stunning. Get up early in the summer months and enjoy the sun by the pool :)
There is a restaurant at the hotel as well, tried it one of the nights we were there, have to say I'm not impressed with the food, but it was OK. The city Valbonne is just a short drive from the hotel and absolutely worth a visit. Good service, my only tip is that some of the receptionists need to learn some more basic english..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Begude, Responsable commercial at Chateau de la Begude, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

We would like to thank you for your positive and constructive comments regarding your stay at Le Château de la Begude.

Your satisfaction is our best reward.

I would like to assure you that all our permanent receptionists speak English fluently but I suppose that you probably met our front desk intern we welcomed this summer.

We really look forward to welcoming you in the near future.



Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The reception staff are friendly and helpful, the room was quiet and when the current construction work is complete, the mud/dust from the road will have disappeared. Décor is excellent and the cleaners are efficient. A car is essential as local taxis charge €15 or €20 per trip to Valbonne, which is five minutes away. The main attraction is the golf course and the driving range. Even for non golfers, it is a good place for a peaceful stay when visiting the area - the beds are really comfortable

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeannieMcInstry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had an unfortunate experience with a previous hotel owner that we should have been booked into. So had to search for wifi in the area of Grasse as we had nowhere to stay that evening!! Got online (thankful we had a copy of 'Chateaux & Hotel Collection') found this place, booked up and within seconds we had a reply - we were sorted thankfully. The location is great as its away from the busy life but be prepared to settle in for the evening. Approaching the vast grounds with this impressive Chateau set in amongst was great, especially as our room turned out to be 'rooms' ~ we had plenty plenty space with all we needed and much more. To top it of these rooms had large windows and little balcony which we took pleasure in swinging open and enjoying the scenic views beyond. We are not golfers so did not take advantage of the grounds etc but saying that - this is a prefect retreat for those just needing to get away from it all (it even has a open air swimming pool). So from an unpleasant start to our evening elsewhere, it ended here at 'Chateau de la Begude' where we enjoyed it all in comfort!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I loved the rustic building and flowers. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with nice views to the golf course. We also took some nice walks in the surroundings. The downside of the location is that to go anywhere else, you'll need to drive. The roads tend to be busy, so it'll take a while if you want to visit Cannes, Nice, Antibes etc.

The even bigger downside for me (being a vegetarian) was the restaurant. My husband very much enjoyed his dinner but the main course of my ad hoc vegetarian 3-course menu was an omelette with tomatoes and onions! We've travelled a lot in France and normally they'll come up with some creative and delicious options for vegetarians - but not here. The omelette felt almost like an insult and they still charged us nearly the same price for both menus. But that's the only real complaint - I'd go back any time but not to the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KatiCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opio
3.9 mi away
Le Mas Candille
Le Mas Candille
#1 of 13 in Mougins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Bastide de Valbonne
La Bastide de Valbonne
#2 of 9 in Valbonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Sophia Antipolis Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Clos
Hotel du Clos
#1 of 1 in Le Rouret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bastide Saint Mathieu
Bastide Saint Mathieu
#2 of 16 in Grasse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
5.4 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Begude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Begude

Property: Chateau de la Begude
Address: Route de Roquefort-les-Pins, 06650 Opio, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Opio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Opio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Begude 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château de la Bégude, an invitation to relax and unwind in a superb 17th century Bastide. In the heart of the Côte d'Azur, with its gentle way of life, a privileged site combining luxury and authenticity, right in the middle of Opio Valbonne golf course. The main theme throughout the 35 rooms is modern comfort combined with a classic Provence decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chateau de la Begude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Begude Hotel Opio
Chateau De La Begude Opio, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing