We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall thanks to some super GOs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Opio Provence
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Opio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was our second trip with my parents, having stayed in Sept 2011. All the good points remained - location, food etc but the staff were SO MUCH better. This (and the great weather) made up for the maintenance issues in the rooms and communal areas mentioned in other reviews. Staff in general great but a particular mention of a few in particular: Thiery (Chef de Village) could not have been more hospitable - always friendly, engaging and good humoured without being instrusive. Jac (tennis coach) was superb. Made every effort to make the daily coaching sessions instructive, inclusive and fun. Caesar (walks organiser) made the daily walks interesting and relaxed. Kamal (?) in the boutique and key member of the spectacle team always had memorable, light hearted conversation whenever we bumpt into him - whether at the restaurant or by the pool. He should have his own TV show! Bar staff were also very obliging - more than happy to accommodate our often unconventional requests - including pastise with sparkling water!

its just proves what a difference good service makes. We're due to return this June. Hopefully we'll have the same great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,063)
There are newer reviews for Club Med Opio Provence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Remote location within beautiful gardens. I had always heard people rave about club med and I was really looking forward to my business stay. The actual resort is an eye sore. The rooms are at a 3 star level, no way luxurious or 5 star, no minibar, no coffee or tea, no iron, just one very small towel and a medium sized towel, bathroom was nice, toilette awful, cold air came through the windows. My room was on the 4th floor with no lift.

It rained the whole time we were there and the water filtered through the walls of the stairwell, flooding the stairs, making it very dangerous and rather unpleasant. There were other parts of the hotel that leaked too.

Receptionists are not very helpful at all and ignore you half of the time. It is supposed to be all inclusive but they charge you for the wifi at 4.50 Eur per hour or 20 Eur per day. The indoor pool is also charged at 75 Eur per week per person.

The food is ok but quite repetitive and not of a very good standard, I have been to plenty of all inclusive hotels and the food has been of a much higher standard. Coffee is terrible, so if you want a decent cup of coffee get it from the bar on the ground level and take it up to the breakfast buffet.

There is a mixture of staff there, some are very rude and others are somewhat helpful but they should all go through a customer service training.

Last but not least, they will not help you with your luggage when you leave. You have to take it to reception. As I was on the fourth floor with no lift, you can imagine how happy I was.

Would I go again and would I take my family - NO WAY!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are near the reception (like Mimosa) or near the swimming pool. Ask for rooms on...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DCT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Opio Provence, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear DCT1,

We are very sorry to learn about your dissatisfaction with your accommodation arrangements during your stay in Opio en Provence. Please note that this resort is rated four Tridents in our brochure and that it would not therefore offer the same standards of comfort as our Luxury spaces or five Tridents. Minibar, coffee or tea are not provided in the room since all the drinks are included in the bar and the restaurant.

As far as the attitude of our staff is concerned, we were sorry to hear that you found some of our staff members to be rude and unhelpful. We can assure you that Club Med does certainly not condone such behaviour from members and staff and that this kind of attitude is just the antithesis of what Club Med staff should personify i.e. kindness, generosity and sense of service.

Concerning the indoor pool, you have to understand that Club Med does not offer exactly the same services for business trips and for holidays. The access to all the pools is included for the holiday-makers, as well as the Turkish bath or the Sauna and a lot of activities.

We hope despite the issues you have raised in your review, Club Med will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company by welcoming you and your family to another Club Med resort in the not too distant future.

Thank you very much,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Location is nice if you look for quite place and you do not want to be close to the sea. It is like 40 minutes drive from Nice. Nature in Opio is great, the gardens of the hotel as well but the rooms are quite poor for the money you pay. Everything inside of them is old and they urgently need renovation. I loved the food though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank betelguese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here a couple of days end of November, and the weather was not good at all. Probably it is much better when sun is shining, now it was rather isolated for the people staying after their business meeting. The welcome is as you see them in movies about Club Med, and globally I would say the machine is running well, even to take care of large groups. Room was OK in my opinion, with warm colours, but heated too much upon arrival. They have spa and fitness (only 2 threadmills), and there should be tennis and golf, but given the weather, did not check them out. Most pleasant surprise was quality of food, with quite a few places of showcooking, and buffet of high quality tasty food. Airport Nice is 30 minutes from Club Med.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelgianInIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Five fabulous days of good weather at the end of October enabled us to enjoy tennis lessons, walks, fabulous food, friendly GOs, views over the surrounding countryside, and all at really great value for a mum and two kids, 8 and 5. Highly recommended, .Club Med never disappoints if you want lots of activities, a sociable time and some fun playing bar games, choose your team, terasse or piscine!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

stayed here on business for a week , Nice place in the hills around Nice
Great food restuarant had everything you could think of across the range of different types of food , Great oysters king prawns and crab on sea food night.
BAr provides a good range of cocktails and beer.
FAcilities quite good, from a main pool to a quieter one in the grounds.
Only down side is the accomodation which is a bit tired and could do with a make over

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpfc1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I am here for business meetings and was expecting the accommodation to be 4 or 5-star. So I am truly shocked to see what a dump the room is: chipped paint, pencil markings all over the wall by the phone, luggage scuff marks everywhere, chipped furniture, etc. The room is tiny and had two twin (children's) beds. I was assured the beds could be pushed together and "zipped" to make a king-sized bed. Well, housekeeping just did that and I can assure you it's like having two twins pushed together with a gap between the mattresses. They couldn't even be bothered to provide a king-sized duvet. Also, no desk in the room (guess business travelers are to use the very small round table). There's also a real absence of any in-room amenities: no iron, no tea kettle, etc. And the balcony is a tiny triangle cage that appears to have the sole purpose of letting one check the weather. This is not a place I would ever come back to and would actively dissuade people from coming here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ruisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opio
1.4 mi away
Chateau de la Begude
6.5 mi away
Novotel Suites Cannes Centre
12.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Le Mas Candille
Le Mas Candille
#1 of 14 in Mougins
937 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
8.7 mi away
Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal Casino
Pullman Cannes Mandelieu Royal C...
#1 of 17 in Mandelieu-la-Napoule
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Opio Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Opio Provence

Address: Domaine de la Tour 21 Chemin de Tourreviste, 06650 Opio, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Opio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Opio
Price Range: $343 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Opio Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the hills above Cannes, the Valbonne plateau reveals a preserved Provence, whose landscape is covered with olive groves and pine forests. The recently renovated Village offers soft coloured rooms in Provencal-style accommodation dotted around small streets and shaded squares. Opio en Provence is both family and sports-minded, with its 9-hole golf course, 3 swimming pools and tennis courts. It also places emphasis on the quest for tranquillity which can be found in the relaxing Club Med Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Opio Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Opio Hotel Opio
Club France Med
Opio Club Med
Club Med Opio Provence France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing