We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"What a brilliant holiday at Club Med Opio"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Opio Provence
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Opio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
london
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“"What a brilliant holiday at Club Med Opio"”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is our 5th Club Med holiday and by far the best. We have enjoyed our previous stays at Club Med but the Customer experience here was outstanding. From the moment we arrived it began. We were escorted to our rooms by an Irish GO who offered to introduce us to other english speaking guest if we wished at the bar later. This was the start of the outstanding customer service.

Everywhere in the village we went we were greeted witrh Bonjour, Bonsoir or Hello by those who got to know us and knew we were English. This included the dining area where Bon Appetit replaced Bonjour.

This warm welcome was everywhere we went inlcuding more unusual places like the lifesaving staff at the pool.

We enjoyed the excellent free golf lessons everyday at the Golf academy. The star of the show at the golf was definately the guy in charge who entertained us royally one evenig during the 70's show. He was also great at giving us a lesson on putting . The other staff in particular the two guys who did most of our intermediate lessons, Tom and a French chap were excellent. Our grips and stance were adjusted during the lessons and we could see a direct improvement of around 6-8 shots across the golf course after these changes - We are VERY impressed! The lessons catered to different levels and nothing seemed to be a problem.

The main pool as others have said is busy and noisy with lots of activities going on. Two lots of water aerobics, the lunchtime pool Crazy dancing, Volleyball, water polo, and the lunchtime sports events/challenges. If you want a quiet pool experience then go to the Zen Pool. There are not events on all the time but it is busy and active.

The food was great, a wide selection as always with varied evenings. The outside dining area was busy and noisy and full of children so just be aware. We sat with a number of GO's during our dining. All good fun, interesting and with good spoken english.

The evening shows were the best we have seen - in particular the Michael Jackson and the Circus show. Both outstanding with real talent behind both of these. The 70's show was a good laugh and great if you enjoy the music. .

The Chef du Village - Gilles was everywhere. We would see him at Breakfast, the Golf, lunchtime, in the evening shows. His active involvement obviously has an impact on the customer experience as he appears at all times. One of the GO's told us he thinks Gilles has a double as he is everywhere!

The reception staff all spoke excellent English. This is quite an Internation Club Med with a number of English, Irish, Dutch, Belgiums, Germans and Scandanavians. I expected it to be very French as it was in Agadir however I was plesantly surprised by the mix.

The rooms are nice and in good condition. But as with most club meds you dont spend much time in your rooms as there is so much to do!

The Nespresso coffee machine got a real beating at the bar - available from 8.30 until 10.30 pm - brilliant if you love coffee. After 10.30 its coffee at the bar.

We had a brilliant holiday and could not recommend this Club Med enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymousfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Opio Provence, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Opio en Provence Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed practising sports with our well trained G.Os and our staff commitment.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    690
    318
    154
    82
See reviews for
970
338
75
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We choose this Club Med because of the extra baby facilities, and it was absolutely worth it! There was the high quality Club Med level, and we felt so comfortable with our 4 month old baby, because there were so many other toddlers and baby. We could warm up our bottle everywhere using microwaves, changing diapers, not feeling uncomfortable when baby was crying in the restaurant etc etc.
The G.O.'s were extremely polite, I have never said Bonjour! back so many times in my life. The food was more than excellent, people staying in the hotel were generally nice...you could find quiet places at the no children pool and the olive garden, and even at night there was a very quiet bar where you would not here 1 sound of the show and entertainment.
Actually I do not understand all the negative criticism that I read here.
Compliments Club Med Opio!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Upon arrival It took a good 30 minutes to have someone to look after our luggages, it was heavy rain on a Sunday and there was no GO in front of the building to attend us. Overall it is clear that the GO team are not there not to help or assist the GMs with a few exceptions (the boutique team & the GO handling the morning walks). The Chef de Village avoids communication with the GMs and his main interest is performing in the night shows. It is a fact in this village that the attention and priority goes to the seminar guests, there are each and very week various companies attending seminars in the Village, although they have a dedicated Conference building or meeting halls for those seminars, they would use the same restaurant, bars, pool, etc.. This crowd is often very noisy and would have dedicated entertainement during dinner (Brasilian music while I was there). This Club Med is open all year long and would simply not survive without organising seminars but it is not a reason for giving the main focus of attention to seminars participants who may never returned to a Club Med. The rooms are average, we were staying 5 days and the bed sheets were never changed. The food quality was above average but you need to be early in the restaurant if you want to have a good choice of dishes. The fresh orange juice in the morning is gone as well as the pool being heated during off school holiday season. During evenings at the bar, at peak times it is a struggle to be served as the GOs behind the counter would simply ignore who was first to be served, a GO requesting a drink was even assisted before me. On the day of departure, don't expect any kind of assistance with your luggages, I had to do everything on my own, was not allowed to drive my car to the pick-up / drop off area in front of the Club Med, so had to load / off load my stuff to the Club Med van. I would not return (it was my 2nd visit) to this Club Med and would not suggest anyone to go there or at least while this present GO team is around.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

On arrival we waited for two hours to check in and during that time the staff ignored multiple requests to have our bags transported to a secure storage room. During this time we were constantly assured of their safety which was ironic. The hotel take no responsibility for luggage left unattended, yet they continuously leave luggage unattended both on arrival, on vacating rooms and on departure. Our concern over theft was subsequently justified to our cost.
Thieves were at work at the swimming pool. We had a camera and watch stolen whilst at the pool. Not really what you would expect at an expensive isolated resort. Having advised the staff that the theft had taken place, and having involved the police obtaining a police report, the hotel staff advised that Club Med would cover the cost of replacement. On our return home they subsequently failed to honour this promise and it was suggested we may have assisted in the theft. Rooms were small and cramped, the food was varied and quality was above average. Overall a poor quality company who have a three star veneer and a one star attitude. Watch out for thieves.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fagin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Opio Provence, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Dear Fagin11,

We are deeply sorry for the theft of your personal belongings by the swimming pool during your stay at our resort of Opio en Provence in France. Our investigation indicates that this was a one-off incident and that there has been no similar report before or since your stay with us.

The safety of our guests and their belongings is extremely important to us and we have ensured that the resort takes appropriate steps to reinforce safety measures. We understand that our Customer Relations Department has addressed the issues you had raised and offered you a commercial gesture on this occasion.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company by welcoming your family to another Club Med resort in the not too distant future.

The Club Med UK team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We went to this village with our two children, 11 and 13. We were very disappointed. The swimming pool is very small and people arrive early to reserve chairs, the water is cold. We arrived before the french vacation time so there was no kids program, we had to entertain our kids. We are not golfers and this is definitely a golfer's village. The golf GO's start by having you swing badly first then teach you how to do it correctly. By then I already had blisters from the bad club hold! The Chef du Village was an old red faced (from drinking so much alcohol) smoker who was not open to our complaints of the GO's smoking around our children. As usual, we found some GO's who were friendly and who were helpful but for the most part they were unsocial, unhelpful and hard to find. We have been to other Club Med villages where there are GO's all around the village saying hello and making sure you are having a good time, not the case in Opio. The food was average. The bread and ice cream were fabulous. One night they were frying up lamb and I almost slipped on the floor from the grease accumulating. The restaurant was inside/outside seating so whoever was sitting outside would smoke and the smoke would spread throughout the restaurant. We did trapeze everyday and the GO team never really seemed to enjoy our participation. The morning walks are a fun way to see some countryside and to get some exercise. When the village is full you need to get to the restaurant early or some of the food will be gone. The night club music is decided by the Chef who requires that the first hour be disco music. They do not take requests until this time is up. The shows were disappointing. Lots of talent type singing by the GO's and Chef du Village, bad magic tricks and poor choreography. The golfers definitely stayed with other golfers and did not mingle with non golfers. Lots of small children, not many teens.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zohan_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We had a great time at Club Med in Opio. We have 2 small children, 6, 3 and used every child program available. Our 6 year old had the most fun in the Mini Club as she was able to swim and be independent of us. The little ones were in more daycare type prgrams but it gave us adults and I the ability to play golf, tennis and relax.
We got a familly room (two rooms with a door between), which gaves kids and parents good privacy. The room were new and very clean.
Food good excellent, as usual with Club Med.
It was our second time at Opio and we will definitely go again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frugby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We love Club Med. We love France. We liked Opio, but didn't love it - not sure why. I'll do bad points first:
The layout is not good. Its built on a hillside, its spread over a wide area with steps everywhere. The main restaurant is on the 3rd floor, the childrens one is on the ground. Most parents with young children just use the main restaurant. Dinner time is a chorus of screaming from toddlers too tired to eat and too hungry to sleep, so we tended not to linger. Breakfast was only available at the main restaurant, which was a long walk and 90 steps up from our room, it was then back down 90 steps and a walk to the older children's mini-club. Any one with younger children then faced a long walk and climb to the other side of the club. Forget cycling about, too many steps and it costs over 30 euros day to rent a bike! Tennis and archery are down a slope that would make Andy Schleck wince. No problem if you've booked a court, but you don't pop down on the off chance. Transit facilities are the worst of any club med I have ever stayed at. One tiny room with a shower, with spa users continuously in and out. The conference centre has 31 meeting rooms, 100 people suddenly arriving in the bar mid afternoon dressed in business suits creates a strange atmosphere as well as a long queue for drinks. As does people sitting round the pool with a diary yelling into their phones, obviously trying to make appointments.
The good points:
Very modern, bedroom are spacious, very well equiped and very comfortable. Its like a very good quality business hotel. It is worth paying extra for a balcony, as otherwise it doesn't feel like a holiday hotel.
Very clean, I have mild OCD and I felt very relaxed.
Excellent pools, and golf facilities.
Fantastic range of mini club activities including tennis,circus,golf and archery.
Food in the restaurant was outstanding even by Club Med's high standards.
The circus school facilities and staff are amazing. My shy,timid 7 year old learnt to swing onto a trapeze and dangle by her knees shouting "I love the circus". I didn't even think she would climb the ladder - I certainly wouldn't.
Les spectacles are much slicker and more professional then most camps, courtsey of the circus team- who showcase their skills.
Usual outstanding service from GO's (club med staff), you always feel looked after,which I think gets taken for granted.
Quite a few staff speak English, camp chief doesn't. Language no problems, it tended to be the Italians shouting "English please" as they seem to speak no french.
Its well-positioned for visits to coast and surrounding area.
We has a very good 10 days, but if I was returning in the summer to France Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique ticks all my boxes, except circus. I would return to Opio for a half term break though.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surreymum_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opio
1.4 mi away
Chateau de la Begude
13.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
2.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Sophia Antipolis Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Le Mas Candille
Le Mas Candille
#1 of 13 in Mougins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Armoiries
Les Armoiries
#6 of 9 in Valbonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel La Perouse
Hotel La Perouse
#4 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Opio Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Opio Provence

Property: Club Med Opio Provence
Address: Domaine de la Tour 21 Chemin de Tourreviste, 06650 Opio, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Opio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Opio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Opio Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the hills above Cannes, the Valbonne plateau reveals a preserved Provence, whose landscape is covered with olive groves and pine forests. The recently renovated Village offers soft coloured rooms in Provencal-style accommodation dotted around small streets and shaded squares. Opio en Provence is both family and sports-minded, with its 9-hole golf course, 3 swimming pools and tennis courts. It also places emphasis on the quest for tranquillity which can be found in the relaxing Club Med Spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Med Opio Hotel Opio
Club France Med
Opio Club Med
Club Med Opio Provence France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing