We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful scenery and tried hard but average food”

Le Mas des Geraniums
Ranked #7 of 10 Restaurants in Opio
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“beautiful scenery and tried hard but average food”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

a most beautiful setting sitting in the open air with a lovely house & floral displays (though oddly pelagonium figured more than geranium) - menu is rather limited- there are 3 set menus from Euro 24 to Euro 48 and oddly the E24 was the most appetising in writing. The options for vegetarians were salad or salad! I do eat fish so had a salmon curry which was rather dry and over-powered by the sauce, My friends had chicken in red wine & one found it totally inedible. Dessert was very different with masses of very sweet desert ( I recommend the nougat glace). Wine list was good enough and the petit four served with the bill were yummy. But all in all great service, good ideas, poor food

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacqui3744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    56
    34
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect family dinner”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very friendly service and our party of two families were made thoroughly welcome. We stuck to the basic menu (€24 for adults and €13 for children) starting with fish terrine and snails and moving on to salmon with a curry sauce and chicken in red wine and a wide range of puds. A brace of bottles of Bandol Rose and the biull was €120 or so for each family of four, which was pretty decent. Food is well executed and the more upscale menus certainly looked pretty attractive. Excellent location and such a joy to have a place like this open on a Sunday night when you have just hot footed it from Nice Airport.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaviddwrOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roquefort les Pins, France
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beautiful view and charming restaurant”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

To sit outside on the hill looking over Opio is very pleasant. The food is traditional but good,

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mas_Shabanou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“so pretty”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

It has, rather unfairly, a reputation of being an "older peoples" restaurant, but on the several times we have been there we have seen a mix of all ages. The setting is just beautiful.....outside, pink tablecloths on beautifully laid tables, under tall palm trees and other beauties.I took 2 "friends" who I didnt know too well, but wanted to impress, and I certainly did that! The cuisine is consistently good, fairly, I would say, expensive, but what isnt in the South of France, and I feel its good value, brilliant service too! There is undercover and inside restaurant if, unfortunately, you get rain. Booking recommended. Closed Tuesday and Wednesday out of season...always open Mondays..which is great..a lot are shut on Mondays.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing ambience”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We really liked the outside seating - we've never been inside. The foi gras is delicious. It is a beautiful setting, with views that are to die for!

Helpful?
1 Thank TexasKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mas des Geraniums also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Chateauneuf de Grasse, Grasse
 
Le Rouret, Alpes Maritimes
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Mas des Geraniums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing