We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lakeside Retreat”
Review of Hilton Beach Inn

Hilton Beach Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Beach Inn
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Lakeside Retreat”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stumbled upon this Inn for a one night get away. We called to find out about availability and thought the rate was too good to be true so decided to check it out in person before booking. When we pulled into Hilton Beach we were astounded by the beautiful scenery, the quant community and stunning marina. We booked a room right away and it was everything you need for a few nights...clean, comfortable and a gorgeous view. It is a small family- run operation and oozes with charm. The only down side was that none of the restaurants serve breakfast but we took a stroll to the general store and picked up some snacks to tide us over. We ate at both the restaurants and found them quite pricey but the food at the Island Bar & Grill is quite good. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahpickles81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent one night here. There are very few choices in this area.
The BAD:
This is a MOTEL. Actually it is a restaurant (bar with 5 tables) pretending to be a motel. Had to check-in at the bar. Very busy at the restaurant 40 mins to get our food in the very hot dining room. WiFi does not work in the room. Had to go to the bar again and put in a 10 letter password. Could only do this while it was open till 8pm. No ice machine. Tried to call front desk in morning several times, no answer because restaurant was closed. No breakfast available. No one around to check-out.
The GOOD:
Very cool in the room
Food was good pulled pork and poutine!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMcC004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

After deciding to check out the Maple syrup season on St. Joseph Island, Ontario, Canada(which is approx. 30 miles east of Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario or Mich.) the next decision was to find lodging. So I checked tripadvisor and viewed 2 previous reviews. I made my decision based totally on their reviews and I was not disappointed. Natalie was a very pleasant host and answered any questions I had. The room couldn't have been better!! It was extremely clean, spacious, a new fridge and microwave.......felt at home. One can’t forget the balcony either. From first thing in the morning until late evening, there was an entertaining view. The Inn overlooks the marina which along with the channel was still covered with ice which was a beautiful morning sight when the morning sun hit it and I can’t forget to mention how lucky I was to view Northern Lights one night.
St. Joseph Island is a great area to visit and I would highly recommend the Hilton Beach Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WileyOne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

On our first visit, with a fierce storm blowing in, my co-worker and I searched for a motel with an open restaurant. We were pleasantly surprised with what we found: clean, modern motel rooms with a beautiful view of the marina. Natalie, the owner, cooked us a hot meal and told the bartender to keep the taps flowing. We enjoyed a whitefish dinner with baked potato and salad.

The next night, we decided to try the place across the road. It was somewhat more lively but the food was lacking and the local euchre club was unwelcoming. So, back to the Hilton we went!

We have subsequently returned four times (once on Halloween) and the live music was a pleasant surprise. I will stay here whenever I'm in the area. Well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. catharines
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

After spending 2 weeks going from motel to motel finding this place by accident was a relief.
We made the reservation by phone and after hearing the price I had a mental image of what to expect. Was I ever WRONG!!!!!! The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and beautiful.
There is a private balcony with chairs overlooking the harbour with a view to die for.The bathroom had a sepparate toilet/shower and vanity that was well planned and layed out.
There was a fridge, coffee maker, microwave, tv and a very very comfortable bed.
The owner is an amazing woman who is personable and efficient. Very good at what she does and it reflects in the quality of her business. There is a restaurant attatched but being off season it was closed. No doubt in my mind it has the same quality and care the inn displays.
All people in the world are different but I would find it hard to image anyone not loving a stay here. We even changed our travel plans to add an extra day of R&R here from the nomadic style we had been to that point.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rodney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Joseph Island
15.1 mi away
Carolyn Beach Inn & Restaurant
5.5 mi away
The Bavarian Inn
The Bavarian Inn
#1 of 1 in Bruce Mines
41 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bruce Bay Cottages
Bruce Bay Cottages
#1 of 2 in Bruce Mines
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Drummond Island Resort and Conference Ct
Drummond Island Resort and Confe...
#1 of 2 in Drummond Island
72 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Beach Inn

Property: Hilton Beach Inn
Address: 3117 Marks St, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > St. Joseph Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Joseph Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Beach Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hilton Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Beach Inn St. Joseph Island, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing