We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, gorgeous setting, the most helpful owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Reydon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Cumbre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Reydon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in La Cumbre
falls church
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, gorgeous setting, the most helpful owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We visited Cordoba March 13-18, 2012. The Hotel Reydon, in Cruz Chica, had been highly recommended to us, so we expected it to be a very good hotel. It most certainly met our expectations, and exceeded them by a long shot. The owner is most helpful, friendly and professional. The staff is friendly and available when needed. The setting of the hotel, in Cruz Chica is spectacular. Manicured gardens, lovely views of the sierras, well placed benches, and a lovely veranda contribute to not wanting to leave. Breakfast was fresh, plentiful and perfect to start the day. We are very sorry that we did not plan more time in Hotel Reydon, and plan to return within a couple of years, at least for a full week.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilonayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonofHarryPotter, Manager at The Reydon Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We will be very pleased to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morriston, ON Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in December and couldn't have enjoyed our stay more! The setting was idyllic, the hotel and staff were lovely and the area of La Cumbre was fantastic to explore! Andrew and Laura (the owners) were wonderful hosts - incredibly helpful in suggesting where to go and what to see...and sharing the history of the area! Unbelievable good driving directions on how to arrive at the hotel!! The rooms were spacious and clean, beds were comfy, the breakfasts were really good, the pool and the grounds were lovely....no complaints at all! We really felt at home here :) Be sure to find your way to this wonderful hotel on your travels!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorelie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonofHarryPotter, Gerente at The Reydon Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Lorelie, Thank you.
I am so glad you appreciated our place, so special to us and so nice to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

We have just come back from Hotel Reydon in La Cumbre in Cordoba. Everytime we go back, another aspect is added to the total picture. We get a chance to get to know the manager and his family, we get all the information we need to discover the area, we get fantastic rooms and the atmosphere in and around the hotel is just absolutely perfect for us. We like a bit of peace and quiet at times, and with such a big garden you can always find a spot to relax. If we want a swim, there is the pool. At other times there are families with children. That can be extremely funny, endearing and at all times, it gives the possibility to meet other people. The helpfulness of everybody in the hotel, to ensure that you get what it is possible to get you, cannot at anytime be faulted. The climate adds to all this and as such it is a hotel where one can find peace and quiet and if one wants to. company for a chat. Each time is different so far, but just as pleasurable as the times before. We always come away with the feeling that our stay was too short!
We can recommend this hotel to anyone who seeks simple pleasures and very good company.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

This was our third stay at this charming quiet unpretentious old style hotel in a wonderful garden setting. with pool and tennis courts. It has retained delightful features of former Anglo-Argentine presence, yet offers modern comforts and personal service from the owners Andrew and Laura.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

This hotel gives good value for your money. It is a not too large family hotel with a lovely garden. This is big enough to give room, peace and quiet for everyone. The rooms are fairly large with en suite bathrooms and have very good beds. For me with a back problem, a very welcome exception. The service is very pleasant and in principle, most things can be arranged. One is given good information on what to do in the area and it is easy to fill your time accordingly. Spanish and English are spoken (French too, if need be).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

The Reydon has an "other wordly" feel to it, with friendly owners who made our stay very enjoyable. It's a relaxing place to rest up, enjoy the scenery and the enormous garden with its tennis court and swimming pool. Andreas, an Anglo Argentine, and his Argentinian wife Laura were particularly helpful in suggesting trips, arranging horse riding and recommending different restaurants. The town centre is approximately a 5 minute drive away and possibly too long a walk, but taxis are not expensive and easily arranged. We were sad to leave and would happily stay in the Reydon again if lucky enough to return to La Cumbre in future

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

This area wasn't on our original itinerary but a debate about posting rules relating to this hotel prompted us to investigate. La Cumbre is a beautiful area in the Sierra hills about 2 hours north of Cordoba. However, it seems to be pretty much ignored by overseas visitors and for our two nights the hotel we were the only guests.

This is a shame as La Cumbre is quite a smart, upmarket village/town with nice restaurants, a golf club and lots of opportunities for horse riding, trekking and mountain biking. After several days of meeting mainly Spanish speakers it was starnge to suddenly here a lot of English. The town has a history of English boarding schools and two still remain.

The hotel lies about 1km outside of town (5-6 peso cab ride) with good views of the hills. It's a former boarding school and the rooms have been well converted (although the breakfast room seemed a bit dull in comparison). The grounds are quite nice and include a tennis court and in the summer a swimming pool. Even though it was winter we were still able to sit out on the patio until the sun started to go down.

The manager is well connected with local community and was able to put us in touch with an Argentinian/English couple who guided us on a day trek into the hills where we had lunch and watched condors from their family owned cabin (those with more time can spend the night up here). They also put us in touch with a local stables for a half day of horseriding.

We'd definitely recommend the La Cumbre and the Reydon if you're looking for peace and relaxation.

Helpful?
3 Thank blackeberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cumbre
1.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Art
Hotel Boutique Villa Art
#2 of 6 in La Cumbre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruz Chica Hostal
Cruz Chica Hostal
#1 of 6 in La Cumbre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gran Hotel La Cumbre
Gran Hotel La Cumbre
#6 of 6 in La Cumbre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Posada San Andres
Posada San Andres
#3 of 6 in La Cumbre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castillo de Mandl
Castillo de Mandl
#4 of 6 in La Cumbre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
6.6 mi away
Tres Pircas Hotel & Spa
Tres Pircas Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huerta Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reydon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reydon Hotel

Property: The Reydon Hotel
Address: Cruz Chica | Sierras de Cordoba, La Cumbre 5178, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Cordoba > La Cumbre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in La Cumbre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Reydon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reydon is in a suburb of La Cumbre, one of the most beautiful settings in the Punilla valley, about two hours out of Cordoba city. It has an open garden with a view and is minutes from paths into the hills. Plenty of horse rides, wild streams, walks, para-gliding, mountain-biking, good restaurants, golf and the most wonderful temperate climate you can find. We speak English and try hard to help you feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Reydon Hotel La Cumbre, Argentina - Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing